Find companies:
Pepsi Bottling Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
987 reviews

Pepsi Bottling Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
careless management
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Youngstown, OHAugust 30, 2014
Pros: lots of free stuff
Cons: poor work atmosphere, terrible coworkers, noncompetitive wages, poor advancement opportunities
Coworkers (which are also union brothers) hold no sense of loyalty or privacy with one another. Every little thing that is wrong is reported to management which is not how a union is supposed to operate. The management will make you feel like everything is good and there are no problem then they will pull you into a stores parking lot and fire you. – more... I do not recommend this job to anyone. If one person doesnt like you, they will find ways to get you terminated.
insurance and benefits are WAY to expensive for the light wages. Other companies doing the same job get paid more money while doing less work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Bay driver/Bulk Acct Rep (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 27, 2014
Great work environment for self paced self motivated individual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours, hard work, but pays well and benefits are great
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 20, 2014
A typical day of work usually consists of a 12 hour day in which you are delivering beverages from anywhere to 8-25 stops a day. No matter what the weather conditions are. It is hard work and long hours, but what makes up for that is weekends off, great pay and benefits, and solid management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment
Supply Chain Operations Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 19, 2014
Fast paced work environment, constant change management

Learned all areas of the supply chain

Department driven goals and initiatives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Zone Operations Administrator (Former Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great training
- Good leadership opportunities especially for those who take initiatives
- Great compensation and healthy bonuses
- Great work life balance
- Clear career path
- Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with and for. Just pays low.
District Sales Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 15, 2014
Pros: the people.
Cons: pay
Long days but everyday there is something new. Great people to work with. The pay is low but it is a great place to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained good experience
Route Builder (Current Employee), Dubuque, IAAugust 13, 2014
Good place to work, would have to get used to the hours but pay is good and get plenty of overtime. Always kept busy. Management and co-workers easy to get along with. Very busy during holidays and the summer months. Job that's easy to get the hang of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for frontline jobs
GM Sr. Lead (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 11, 2014
Pros: pepsi perks
Cons: long hours, less pay.
Monday's are always payroll and reporting days. The rest of the week is monitoring processes and using compliance reports. I over see 3 direct employees but oversee processes in 6 other locations. The hardest part of the job is the compliance research. The most enjoyable is working with great people and the perks of Pepsi.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stack em up!
Salesperson/Merchandiser (Former Employee), Warrenton, VAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: salary + 8 hours a day
Cons: salary + 8 hours or more
the most enjoyable part of the job was building the display for sale promotions..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Repair Technician & Machine Operator (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 8, 2014
there pay is really good, but you will work very hard for it. over all it's a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a decent paying blue collar job but also very stressful. You have been warned.
Merchandiser (Current Employee), New YorkAugust 6, 2014
Pros: pays well for retail., full-time opportunities for those who want it., benefits for full-timers., a job that pays well for people with no schooling.
Cons: lack of communication., young, out of touch management., physically demanding schedule., poor treatment by in store managers.
You go into a grocery store and often see people filling shelves that don't work for the supermarkets, they are vendors. On the outside surface, it might sound like a chill, laid back job where you get to work by yourself, not have to have a manager constantly over your shoulder, and you can work at your own pace. If you think that is the job description – more... of a merchandiser, you couldn't possibly be more wrong.

Merchandising is a job that is very difficult and stressful, especially for the soda companies. You usually have to start at 3 to 4 in the morning and have to service an average of 4-6 stores a day (if it's 4 stores, chances are one of them are huge). The difficult part is managing your time because one store could take you 4-6 hours if the salesmen orders 8 pallets that you have to work by yourself with no help. By the time you get to the later stores, you'll be screamed at that you took too long but little did they know you just serviced many stores already and only have two hands.

For Pepsi, management is also a problem and there's a pretty simple answer on why there's such a problem. Most of your managers are young, 20 somethings, who may have a college degree but basically no idea on what your job entails because they never had to do the job themselves and they have almost no managing experience. This company thinks they can give someone an internship and then instantly give them a management title such as Territory Sales Manager. You got these TSMs managing the Salesmen and Merchandisers who have worked for the company for decades. You think that's right? I sure don't.

I believe most companies need managers with many years of experience or those who have worked for the company from the bottom up and have risen through the ranks. It may sound like I am a bit bitter because of their young age but the truth is they virtually have no idea on how your job is done and how hard you have to work. They just walk into a store and expect it to look perfect without any regard of how much time you had through out the day, how little or too much the Salesmen ordered, or what the in-store managers wanted. If you have a problem in the store, go to the grocery managers there. It's not how the TSM want you to do the job, it's about how the in-store managers want you to service the store. The TSM's need to get that through their heads because their way may not be the way the in-store managers want it done.

Of course it's not Pepsi management that's all bad. Some grocery managers can be absolutely unpleasant people to deal with. That's the nature of retail workers/management. Some are miserable people who hate their job so they take it out on you. They constantly ride you and call your bosses if you aren't perfect or make one small mistake. Having to worry about being called by them on a daily basis makes this job stressful to no end.

My final advise is for people to carefully understand what they are getting into because this job is no picnic. I would say it's not a bad part-time gig because there's much less things you have to deal with if you are part-time. The pay for part-time work is not bad. But be aware that if you go full-time, be prepared with the burden of having to answer to 5-10 people a day and being on the phone with management all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dailey Routine
Lead Tech (Current Employee), Nashville sales Nashville TN.August 6, 2014
In a typical day I am the parts person, receiving and posting parts, checking invoices against work orders.Correcting inventory in parts room.Keeping shop supplies for other Techs at work stations for daily useage. Going after units from outside vendors.Placeing units in shop trailers for detail touch up.Repairing ,OTR trucks, forklifts ,pallet jacks,changing – more... tires ,making road calls,admidstrative fileing, intercepting and working through break downs,changing tires,watering batteries for pallet riders,p/m on what ever is due by hours ,or milage,answering phone and refree hot tempers on some ocasions. But mostly Lead Man snd running the dailey routine of a fleet shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just was good place to work pepsi was like a second family atmosphere everyone came together when needed
swingman (Former Employee), Lake City, FLAugust 3, 2014
Pros: pepsi events christmas parties going to nascar
Cons: didnt really have any
I never knew what I was going to be doing for that day learn how to run a route rotate stock ect. management was very supportive co workers good to work with the hardest part of the job was most of the time you never knew where you were going or doing for that day most people don't like being a swingman because of that but that position fit me best – more... the enjoyable about the job was just being there being needed for help when needed working special events on weekends and representing pepsi cola – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're just a door mat
Driver Merchandiser (Former Employee), Pleasant Prairie, WIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: other drivers are cool.
Cons: you're just a door mat
Way, way, way, way, way, way, way......way too much merchandising! Store managers expect you to do all the work in the messy/trashed coolers. Pepsi management will treat you like dirt. Sales reps are lazy, don't do what they are supposed to and will try to get you in trouble/written up every chance. Insurance is decent, BCBS, you will need it to get – more... those back problems fixed.

BTW, DID I MENTION WAY TOO MUCH MERCHANDISING? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job.
General Operations (Current Employee), MissouriAugust 2, 2014
Pros: driving a forklift, nice pay checks, good benefits, the people
Cons: working in the heat and cold and constant lifting
A typical work day is lifting case after case after case of soda and a bunch of other stuff pepsi distributes, loading that stuff onto a massive pallet and then loading the pallet onto a truck.
I got a forklift certification on my 2nd day there so that's always a good thing to have if you ever decide to look for another job.
Management is fine. I don't – more... have any complaints.
The people that work there are all pretty laid back.
The hardest part of the job is the constant lifting, but after a couple of months, you get used to it and it isn't so bad.
The most enjoyable part of the job is, of course, getting that nice pay check at the end of the week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked under paid
sales account manager (Former Employee), twinsburgh ohioAugust 1, 2014
Pros: meet great people in my accts
Cons: no help more workload.no raise and lost money every year
Worked like a slave with no help on running my roure.was t here for 13 yrs ane jus walked away it was so bad.do more work for less pay every year.if you were not in the click you never got promoted or any help.management was corrupt and played f avorites to their friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), Buena Park, CAJuly 31, 2014
Assemble product in a timely manner, load and unload trailer's, inventory control, operate forklifts and pallet jacks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time work.
Driver/Labor (Former Employee), Latham, NYJuly 31, 2014
Pros: big pay checks
Cons: no life
Alot of money to be made, however at the cost of no life.............................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Administrative Supervisor (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 30, 2014
Pros: planning admin week food and cook-out. running errands for my boss.
Cons: i didnt take any breaks.
A typical day at Pepsi. Jumping in full force when arriving there in the morning and going full force all day. It was very interesting and the day went by fast. I learned alot about the beverage industry from when I first started and as I worked my way up. Its a fast paced industry with lots of important number's of how much of each flavor product that – more... sold each day. The sales department management style was very hands on. My co-works were great to get along with as well as team players and most of them had been with pepsi for 10 years+ so they knew there jobs very well and were very good at muti tasking. There was no hard part to my job as I had been there 10 years so I knew what needed done and got my boss everything he needed to get answers to his boss. The most enjoyable part of my job were the people and also to be able to say that I work for Pepsi Bottling Group. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Lima, OHJuly 28, 2014
Pros: flexible hours.
Cons: working holidays and weekends.
Pepsi is a place that is flexible with hours for students. Pays well for the work you do.

1 2 3 4 5

About Pepsi Bottling Group

The Pepsi Bottling Group, Inc. (PBG) is a wholly owned subsidiary of PepsiCo, Inc. PBG operates carbonated soft drinks and other – Read more

Pepsi Bottling Group Photos