Performance Food Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 292 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty trucks, terrible equipment, rain leaks in on you while driving nothing works.
Deliver Driver (Former Employee) –  Batesville , MSJanuary 28, 2017
Run don't walk, Run ! Batesville, MS terminal management nothing but liars in the mix.. Job will last as long as they like you. Money you receive not worth the bad mouth they do to future job aspects.
Pros
There are none
Cons
Working for liars, theives and deceivers
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult office dynamics - negative
Senior Accountant II/Special Projects Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Centennial, COJanuary 26, 2017
Communication between staff and/or departments is poor - lead to a lot of duplicate efforts. Unclear management objectives - not good review process for employees - terrible pay scale. Do not appreciate hard work, dedication or loyalty.
Pros
Liked direct management
Cons
Life work balance non-existent, poor pay & no internal upward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, however the amount of travel required was onerous.
Northeast Region Vice-President of Operations (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 25, 2017
A typical day would involve travel, meetings with branch personnel to review metrics and review progress on current initiatives. In addition, personnel reviews were an important part of the job. I would review personnel performance and make recommendations regarding hiring and firing as well as reviewing candidates for open positions.
The hardest part of the job was the constant travel and the best part of the job was filling key positions with the right individual for a job. Seeing them succeed.
Pros
Ample salary and benefits.
Cons
Tremendous amount of travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Kendallville, INJanuary 20, 2017
I enjoyed working for PFG which is why I worked for them on 2 separate times. Great pay, great hours and I would recommend this job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big but small family culture
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 18, 2017
The saying is true, sometimes "you just don't know what you got till it's gone".

I started as a project coordinator who was self-led and bottom-line driven. With a few whiteboards and smart people, we got large efforts in stale status off the ground and going strong.

My co-workers were eager for new positions and provided subject matter expert advice that allowed me to keep moving.
Pros
Growing
Cons
Always recall the roots that lead to growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smaller Branch of Many
Area Manager Bid/Institutional Accounts (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 14, 2017
Performance Food Service Portland is one of the smaller distribution centers that is one of many in the company. Co-workers are a great group of people which makes for a good environment. I enjoy working for this company, but I am looking for growth opportunity.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Compensation below industry standard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, Loved the home time.
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Dover, FLJanuary 10, 2017
This is a fantastic company to work for, they are kind. They treat drivers with respect. Most importantly, they understand about family time and having a family. They allow you to work and make great money as if you were over the road, without having to sacrifice the ones you love and want to spend time with. fantastic place to work at and proud to say i worked here.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I worked there was a great group of guys!
Lead Driver/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Rockford IlJanuary 4, 2017
I enjoyed my time with Performance. It is a very physical job and you will work hard! There are some great perks with job too. You work outside a lot and in some unsafe places. The environment can be very challenging sometimes also. You will deal a lot with customers face to face and hear a lot of issues. Some of those issues can get intense.
Pros
Great benefits.
Cons
Very Labor intensive. Out in the elements a lot!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 grand a year
Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MADecember 27, 2016
When i took the job i was told i can make up too 80 grand a year.well lets just say expect to work your full14 hours and one 16 hour day weekly.they might even hire u as a driver and keep u as a helper becouse they dont have enough trucks for everyone,also turn over is high so u can fill a slot when someone quits.expect to break down full pallets touching everything 4-5 times becouse pallets are mixed or missing product .so when u have 1000 cases,thats a normal day multiply that.they work u so hard its hard to get rest,thats probly why a driver out of the springfield office killed a tow truck driver in ny!got damaged product? Be Prepared to get heat for it even if its the warehouse crushing it with hi-los etc.the time slots for each delivery isent realistic for two people never mind doing it alone.if someone in management dosent like you,be prepared for backlash.they will figure out a way to get rid of you.After training be prepared to work with drivers with the average of two months experience.Also be prepared management to ask u to go beyond like snaping pics of other delivery companys invoices and sending it to sales.pfg is a joke!
Pros
Free meals at accounts, pay is ok
Cons
Many many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold and unpleasant
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Kendallville, INDecember 18, 2016
The typical day at PFG was always so cold due to being in the freezer, the upper management was not mature nor professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very physical
delivery driver (Current Employee) –  Elkton, MDDecember 15, 2016
great start job if your a motivated hard worker, job is very physical so if you a slacker dont even apply, some disorganisation but i guess thats at all the jobs, all i could say do your job and dont listen to everybodys bull sh!%&*
Pros
get experience
Cons
physical beating
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery Driver
DELIVERY DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXDecember 15, 2016
Worked as a delivery driver, you work lots of hours and drive and deliver a lot of food for many different companies, has great benefits and you meet and go to a lot of different places
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productice fun place that had a weight room
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Oakwood, GADecember 13, 2016
How to pick orders in a very frequent & fast way . learned leadership skills that well make me a better leader & trainer. The hardest part of the job were the long hours & numbers you had to reach in order to hit your goals for the week & end of month .
Pros
weekends off
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past good hours an OK benefits
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 10, 2016
This Is A Great Company To Work For It Is A Safe Work Place That Practice Safety HABBITS The Hours OK But You Have Very Little Home Time But You Will Be Able To Afford Your Needs
Pros
Good raise opportunity
Cons
Not enough time off
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of product training before let on own.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  New Windsor, MDDecember 8, 2016
Great Co. to work for.Wonderful Product line. Can have trouble competing with in the market Pricing.Lack of Training before turned on own.Very difficult to compete in the market place with current Pricing.
Pros
Great Co. to work for.
Cons
Lack of training before put on own in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decient place to work for
Shuttle Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ILDecember 5, 2016
This company is a decent place to work for if you are a daytime delivery driver. If you are a shuttle driver you basically do not matter it is shut up and do your job.
Pros
great pay and bennifits
Cons
Extreme policies and day time driver perfered treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work
Forklift Mechanic/ truck mechanic (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXNovember 21, 2016
Not a bad place to work, big warehouse, good people to work for and decent pay. Big clean work area and truck shop good benefits and great work schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, But no room to grow within the company
Loader/Selector Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Batesville, MSNovember 20, 2016
A good company, ok benefits, good pay, but have too many flaws of operating by management. This company was very productive with a good team of co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever!!!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MANovember 16, 2016
The work Associates are great but the management team is the worst thing that I've ever have to deal with in my life. the work itself is very hard but the management team makes it even worst. They will give helpers to their friends and someone that their close with but not to the new employees. Then will have you drive over your time and not care. It's not until recently when a driver killed someone in ny that they up their game about violations. All they care about is getting the work done...
My advice is to get the experience and run!! I did 4 months and went to jb hunt...
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run and don't look back
Sales (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MAOctober 24, 2016
Entry level positions with low wages, favoritism, poor department leadership and bunches of back stabbing....If you're willing to participate in daily gossip, office dating and butt kissing this is the place for you.
Pros
Ocassional free food
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Performance Food Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 292 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0