Find companies:
Perfumania
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
81 reviews

Perfumania Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace but makes time for a warm smile
4th Keyholder (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 18, 2014
It's fast and overwhelming when traffic is high during busy seasons. But the workers are very pleasant and work hard to help customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is different but exciting
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Williamsburg, VAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: i would say it is a great first step.
Cons: the smells are a little intense
The work is fulfilling but sometimes slow I love the fragrances. The people I work with are good at what they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a great company culture
General Store Manger (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 2, 2014
I loved working for perfumania. I learned a lot from this experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality King/Perfumania Fragrances with a varied arrray of quality perfumes and sundries
Production Planning and Product Manager (Former Employee), Deer Park, New YorkMay 24, 2014
Planning Manager for operations for all off-site compounding of cosmetics and fragrances. Mrp planning of all materials needed to make sure materals were avaialable to meet the customer orders and stock levels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY FUN
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 24, 2014
I HAD A REAL BLAST THE PEOPLE ARE FUN, AND A VERY COMFORTABLE ENVIRONMENT TO BE IN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee), orlando flMay 19, 2014
Really good place to work, great people, good environment,
managers are really good, pay is good, only thing is commissions are starting to be less each time, but other than that go for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST MANAGEMENT AND CUSTOMER SERVICE
Management (Former Employee), LivermoreApril 19, 2014
Cons: bad management
I've worked for Perfumania for a short period of time. During that time, the management wasn't good and customer service was really bad. I would not recommend working there or shopping there. The management team needs to be changed, the corporate needs to put people that's professional with both the customers and workers. The DM doesn't know how to – more... handle a situation. Again, I strongly would not recommend Perfumania. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maximize sales
District Manager (Current Employee), East CoastApril 15, 2014
Pros: travel and everyday challenges
Cons: limited training for advancement
A typical day starts with reviewing sales from the night before. This enables me to identify stores that require my attention and I follow up with a phone call or a Store Visit.
Review emails and respond and follow up
Store Visits are done during the week and are unannounced I schedule while the manager is on duty, I review our notes and discussions – more... from a previous visit, then go over the store's sales and operating reports (P&L) to help identify areas of Opportunity. We discuss ways to maximize sales. We often walk the store, check things like signage ,promo set-up and merchandising. This allows me to see the store from a customer's point of view. We discuss the store's staffing and any issues. At the end of the visit, we come up with a revised plan of action and set a date for a follow-up meeting.

Throughout my visit, I talk to associates and do any role playing if necessary to help identify poor selling behaviors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Sales (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 15, 2014
Selling perfumes to walk-in customers while learning to get into the flow of selling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place of employment
Brandi Matlock Store Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 28, 2014
I learned a lot from my manager as far as sales skills are concerned she taught me everything trick and sales tactic I still put to use to this day. I love working with fragrances and learned that there is so much more behind perfumes then most people realized. the schedule was great and aloud me free time in my personal life to do things I enjoy outside – more... of work. my co workers were great especially since I was from another state they welcomed me with open arms and I must say it was my favorite job I have ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume store during holidays.
Fragrance Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 10, 2014
Pros: in the mall. employee discounts.
Cons: short or no breaks during high volume days.
On a typical day at Perfumainia I would make sure our shelves were stocked with the latest fragrances carried by our company. (First in first out would be enforced)
What I learned here is that, there's ALWAYS a way to go above and beyond to give your customers the best experience in your store.
My management here was AMAZING very willing to work with – more... my personal schedule, as long as I gave an advance notice.
There really was't anything part of the job at all. Come in do your job and go home.
What I enjoyed most about the job was that it was Commission based pay on top of hourly pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for commision and spiff money and prizes
Store Manager (Current Employee), Waterloo, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: best commision and spiff money in retail
Cons: long hours
Friendly place with good people and best products
Training is good and opportunities to make a lot of money
are available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World wide perfume chainary
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Commerce, GAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: working with such a great team
Cons: working every weekend
My typical day at Perfumania is checking ad responding to all email, answering phone calls, selling perfume, manger specials, travalos, and spa lotion to customers. I have learned a quite bit about different types of perfume, what each bottle color means, and how to give them the best deal. I love being a Assistant Store Manger at Perfumania and at – more... Perfumania we have a great team and work well with everyone. My most enjoyable part about my job is helping others find their scent and for the customer leave happy and for them to tell me I have done a great job and that they defiantly will be back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved selling Perfume and helping people find what they were looking for
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Springfield, MOFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: working at the mall right across from the food court!
Cons: hours
Come in get the deposit from the night before. Go to bank to make deposit. Helped with the displays, changing monthly. Always on the sales floor helping people. The hardest part of the job was staying open till midnight around the holidays and special occasions. The most enjoyable part was selling and making our quotas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Retail Environment
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Livermore, CAFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere, great product education program
Cons: constant work schedule changes-a lot of expectation with little compensation
Perfumania is a fun place to work and has both advantages and disadvantages.
The hourly compensation and commission is not the best, but the seasonal fast paced atmosphere and the product training program is excellent providing great opportunity to build customer relationships
and exceed sales goals.
Overall a great learning experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Productive
Customer Service Supervisor/Key Holder (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: lots of experience
Cons: hours were cut
I enjoyed working here but unfortunatly my hours were cut and had no choice but to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brandon, FLJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: easy work if you know your products, fun atmosphere, flexible schedule
Cons: low pay, no benefits, sometimes boring.
A typical day at work consist of coming in, clocking in and start helping customers if any. Up stocking and cleaning when slow. On delivery day, go through boxes and put product on shelf through out the day when you're not busy with customers. Cleaning, organizing and wipe down of store Staff has always been great and a fun relaxed work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILDecember 17, 2013
Pros: oportunity to make extra cash
Cons: mainly weekend work
Days would vary but regularly busy. Customer foot traffic would flow in like waves. There would be surges of people and the store would be over flowing into the mall hall way then it would seem they all had a party to be at and would leave. This position taught me to multi- task. Management handled the pressure well and gave good instructions. Co-works – more... were lively and positive. Best part of the position was the opportunity – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exellent enviromet
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Aventura, FLNovember 30, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
When I get into the store is the time to meet sales goal enjoying sales wild and providing a great costumer service experience we are responsible for store appearance and merchandise re-stocking at perfumania I have earn knowledge on sales strategies and management and also get confidence and develop trust in many skills that I have learn at other work – more... places
we have a very nice team work and job environment where respect,proffesionalism,work ethic is always present
sometimes hardtimes comes when the mall is empty and we need to meet big goals but there is when we truly know if we are good sales representatives always keeping and positive attitude and applying the right sales techniques I enjoy every aspect of my job and im really thankfull for all I have learn at perfumania and my costumers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Working Environment
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), La Marque, TXNovember 27, 2013
A typical day would consist of helping multiple customers.

I learned how to multitask.

Management was excellent.

Hardest part of the job was the rush hour.

The most enjoyable was helping a customer find exactly what they were looking for.

1 2 3 4

About Perfumania

Perfumania Holdings makes dollars with scents. The holding company owns scent-seller Perfumania, which¬†numbers¬†about 345 stores – Read more

Perfumania Photos