Perkins Restaurants & Bakery Employee Reviews in United States

Found 548 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady pace workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEMay 1, 2016
I loved the management and staff members. The clients were pleasant as well. I really enjoyed the work environment as the place was usually consistently steady or busy. The workplace was well organized and clean.
Pros
Staff members
Cons
None that I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal work place, friendly people and great manager
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYApril 24, 2016
Management here not only went out of their way to hire and train me but also helped me out due to special circumstances. The staff all were helpful and friendly and teamwork was a big part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perkins is a decent place to work.
Server (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, IAApril 24, 2016
A typical day at Perkins usually moves along pretty quickly, shifts normally being about 4-6 hours. This is great when you are busy with customers and you are enjoying your time spent taking care of them. The fast pace is really fun for me! But one of the harder parts of the job is dealing with the slow time, when after doing cleaning duties, servers get cut, and paychecks aren't too great.
Pros
Discounted employee meals.
Cons
Scheduling for servers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place. hard working staff all around
Server/ Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Crystal, MNApril 22, 2016
The most enjoyable thing about this job is that our staff members work so well together with such a special bond. Great regular customers always love to sit and enjoy the coffee and pancakes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Restaurant Job
Server (Former Employee) –  Meadville, PAApril 20, 2016
This was a typical job. Not too much fun, but it payed well for a student looking to make extra money for school. There was a lot of people working, so I didn't get the hours I wanted.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perkins Host/Manager
Host/Manager (Former Employee) –  North Platte, NEApril 18, 2016
All in all an enjoyable work experience. Any restaurant business is going to be stressful and fast paced. I was lucky enough to have excellent managers that invested in me and allowed me to improve my business skills and grow as a person.
Pros
Ability to grow skills
Cons
Restaurant Business
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most customers were pleasant to serve.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Titusville, PAApril 13, 2016
I enjoyed taking meal orders and serving the people, and working with the co-workers. There were times I felt were not fare, such as working many weekends in a row, when told you only would work 1 a month. So the hardest part was trying not to care what position I held and why, and when I was to work, most was okay with me.
Pros
Received free meal on break, and had a good amount of time for breaks.
Cons
Promotions did not seem fare for when who received them
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOApril 11, 2016
Everyone loved me. I was a hard worker and fast learner. Model employee. Loved my job and the people. Easy to get along with. Did many dishes.
Pros
BEST MANAGERS
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and enjoyable atmosphere
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Worthington, MNApril 5, 2016
I enjoy working at perkins. Very nice and friendly workers and managers. Great atmosphere to be in. Hours are flexible and pay is great for a high school and college student.
Cons
No Breaks unless you smoke.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice Restaurant
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Noblesville, INMarch 28, 2016
Work days are always busy. You work at a fast pace and you also have to have patients. I worked with people everyday for an 8 hr shift, so you have to be abled to work with people. The hardest part of the job is remembering a big party order. The most enjoyable part is the people I work with and meeting new customers.
Pros
tips, overtime, and meeting new people
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They let you manage with your own style...as long as you got results.
General Manger (Former Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARMarch 28, 2016
A very fair company to work for. As long as you made sales and profit budgets you were not micro managed. They rewarded you when you preformed well.
I looked forward going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Food Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Liberty, MOMarch 22, 2016
Had to move, would have loved to stay, to take care of elderly mother.

Employees are treated with respect, teamwork was a must, every plate first rate.
Pros
It's a career
Cons
You must want a career to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Host/Busser (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEMarch 22, 2016
A typical first job for college/high school students, consistent schedule, gave great experience working with customers and co-workers.
Pros
Half price food, 401 K
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there wasn't the best.
Waitress/Host (Current Employee) –  Bradford, PAMarch 21, 2016
The management didn't seem to do their job, if there was an issue with a customer, they seem to take their sweet old time to find out and then the customer would get angry with us.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to begin working as a teenager
Host/Cashier/Server/Cook (Former Employee) –  Little Falls, MNMarch 15, 2016
Normal day would be prepping for the evening rush.
I learned what the workforce was like, how to cook at a restaurant.
Management was good, helped me learn things as fast or as slow as I needed to.
co workers where good people and around my same age for the most part.
Hardest part of the job was dealing with rude costumers in a professional manner.
Most enjoyable part of my day was meeting new people all the time.
Pros
great learning experience
Cons
very low pay and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Fun
Cook (Current Employee) –  Breezewood, PAMarch 13, 2016
The hardest part of the job is when we get super busy and we are not prepped for it....It's a little crazy but worth it in the end....I love to cook!!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job lots of benefits
Guest Service Manager/ Bookkeeper (Current Employee) –  Bristol, VAMarch 9, 2016
I really loved working for this company. The benefits were wonderful and the management was outstanding. The company paid well for the area I was in and made the job very enjoyable. My co workers were unbelievably friendly and I would highly recommend this job to anyone seeking one in the Ocala area.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide wonderful Team work
Server (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMarch 5, 2016
Taking orders, giving great customer service, I learned that everyone isn't as casual. Management wasn't really great, My co workers work together as a team, The hardest part off the job was trying to great customer service to a angry customer. I enjoy that me and co workers actually work together
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rf scanner
Assembly Line (Former Employee) –  Griffin, GAMarch 2, 2016
walked around looking for orders to box and ship out. kept floor clean as a part of daily duties. also made boxes if necessary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drama
Cook (Former Employee) –  Hastings, NEMarch 1, 2016
there is way to much drama in this place not only between employees but also between managers while I was there. shifts constantly having to be covered very high turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 572 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture

Perkins Restaurants & Bakery Reviews by Job Title