Perkins Restaurants & Bakery Employee Reviews

Found 859 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Server (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, PAJuly 21, 2017
I loved working at Perkins. Management was always super friendly and helpful. Coworkers were great and as a server you make good money in tips. However, in the winter time things slow down and it's a very unsteady pay you're getting from tips.
Pros
Good tips
Cons
slows down in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full Service Restaurant
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAJuly 20, 2017
I loved the food we served at Perkins. It was all about quality. The people I met over the years were overall outstanding. I made life-long friends working at Perkins.
Pros
Salary and benefits!
Cons
Being open 24 hours a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time there is was productive and something new
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Glendale, WIJuly 18, 2017
It was a good experience I just found something better at the time but I wouldn't mind going back and living the experience once more it a good place to work if in need of a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funn work environment
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILJuly 17, 2017
Meeting new people and working in a fun happy positive environment brings wonderful energy to employees and guest free food very helpful to new employees
Pros
Wonderful work environment
Cons
Slow time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This resturant was shut down weeks after i quit.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Hudson, FLJuly 15, 2017
Enjoyed the job position of hostess, but the location I worked at was very poorly ran and I had a lot of personal issues that I never had with any other employer. But I did enjoy my job position overall when I was employed with them.
Pros
My customers
Cons
The lack of managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good restaurant and place to work.
Baker & Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Sidney, NEJuly 14, 2017
Perkins has some of the best baked goods of any family type restaurant. The staff is hardworking, the management is fair and the restaurant and kitchen are kept clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaJuly 14, 2017
Although not a place for long term work or room to grow beyond the current needs. This was still a good place to work nice staff. You got to meet all kinds of people that was nice.
Pros
Nice and supportive staff
Cons
Not enough hours or benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Linglestown, PAJuly 13, 2017
I really enjoyed working here because I like to be a waitress and being around people. I've always been good at being a people person and I have fun too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was terrible
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  West Bend, WIJuly 13, 2017
I did not like working here. The General manager of this store has no respect for his employees and treats everyone like trash. I would like to work for Perkins in another area but not this store
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need more breaks
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Fergus Falls, MNJuly 12, 2017
Wonderful job good enviroment good hrs good location clean store just need more help clean kitchen other than that good nice and friendly place jaime johnson has surly done an amazing job
Pros
50 % off meals
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work face paced.
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAJuly 11, 2017
Good place to work very busy at times makes time fly by, great people that work there, always got 40 hours. Different jobs to do all the time. Great food with enployee discount.
Pros
Employee discount 40 hours
Cons
Drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees. Awful management
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Great Falls, MTJuly 11, 2017
Fun place because of workers but management makes it a stressful place to be. Many employees dread the thought of even coming to work and having to face management.
Pros
Free meal once a day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work.
Service Leader (Former Employee) –  Bartlett, TNJuly 11, 2017
Sometimes management wasn't too encouraging when it came to advancement but under the right manager, you could easily work your way up in the company. I learned a lot about cash reconcilliation and how to handle stressful guests.
Pros
discount on meals
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Server (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIJuly 11, 2017
Everyday is about the same at Perkins. I use to stock cups, ice, coffee, and tea. I learned how to be a better people person and not be scared to start up a conversation with anyone.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always plenty of hours
Cook/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAJuly 10, 2017
time goes by pretty quickly due to continuously staying busy. Managers willing to work with you on your scheduling hours. Hardest part of the job was working with all men.
Pros
1/2 price meals
Cons
no guaranteed break times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and staff
Server/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Avondale, PAJuly 8, 2017
I worked at this restaurant two different time periods and I would go back again if I had to. Fun low key restaurant. I was a server and I trained incoming new staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for and advance with
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Anytown, MNJuly 8, 2017
Very much a "woman power" company. Lots of females in high up roles. Lots of positive rolemodels.
Workdays can be long. Sometimes hard to balance work and life. Lots of weight on your shoulders when the restaurant doesn't do well.

Lots of great things come with the responsibility though, and if you can handle the service industry life this is a rewarding career. Great insurance plan for fulltime, 401k and flex spending account.
Paid vacation starts accumulating on day 1. 2 weeks per year for fulltime management. Ability to carry over a year. Short term disability paid for maternity leave.
Pros
Free meals when working, great insurance plan
Cons
Long hours, nights and weekends. open holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale
Food Production Manager (Current Employee) –  FloridaJuly 8, 2017
The culture is chaotic and follows a work ethic that provides no breaks or rest during your scheduled time. If I was to say anything good about the operation is that they can be flexible with hours, however, the morale in all the stores are down with no resolve in sight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced fun
Server (Former Employee) –  Warminster, PAJuly 8, 2017
it was fast paced environment but a little stressful at times if things weren't going as smooth as they could of. if I worked more hours there I could of made more money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and productive place to work.
Server (Current Employee) –  Burley, IDJuly 6, 2017
I've learned some of the most essential skills to being a successful server and manager. Perkins taught me how to be a skilled team player, and to use time management and problem solving skills.
Pros
freindly enviorment, learning potential, growth
Cons
infrequent money low customer based
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Perkins Restaurants & Bakery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 911 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

73%
278 ratings
Add your rating