Perkins Restaurants & Bakery Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally laid back co-workers but stressful at times
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Watertown, WISeptember 14, 2017
Management and co-workers tend to be relaxed. Very flexible when it comes to scheduling but that can be a double-edged sword at times i.e. working the closing shift one night then coming in on one of the earlier shifts the next day. The work can be enjoyable at times and stressful at others. An easy job to keep but a hard job to live off if it's your only one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not worth the effort
Cashier, Hostess, And Server (Former Employee) –  Dandridge, TNSeptember 13, 2017
The people were very negative and I was doing everyone else's job due to poor management. I had three separate jobs and was getting paid minimum wage to do a cashier and waitressing job as well as host.
Pros
flexible
Cons
bad pay and low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Waitress/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, MNSeptember 13, 2017
If you like waiting on guests and working in a very relaxed environment. I would very much recommend the Stillwater Mn. Perkins. It is ran by a husband and wife team that are phenomenal
Pros
scheduling, management is exceptional
Cons
Your working for tips
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, MNSeptember 12, 2017
Perkins is a nice, slow paced workplace. Saturday and Sunday mornings are the main two days where it gets super busy. Always be sure to remained focused on your required duties and create a nice family friendly environment.
Pros
Discount on food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  5180 Tiedeman Road Brooklyn, ohio 44144September 11, 2017
I enjoyed very much working at Perkins and for not having to relocate I would of maintained my procession there my co-workers and general managers were truly amazing.
Pros
got to meet alot of nice peoples
Cons
not enough hours/ no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job for high school
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Indiana, PASeptember 8, 2017
The staff is very difficult to get along with. Very cliquey. The hours weren't the best, usually two to three four hour shifts a week during morning hours. Usually aided waitresses but wasn't compensated for it.
Cons
Management, staff, low pay, lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Paced
Cook (Former Employee) –  Olean, NYSeptember 8, 2017
Job requires you to be on your feet the whole time, cooking meals to washing dishes then cleaning. Very repetitive if you don't know how restaurant work goes. Always moving, always receiving customers, just always doing something
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job.
Prep/Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Drexel Hill, PASeptember 8, 2017
I love working here. One of my first real jobs. Learned a lot from a lot of good people who just wanted to see each other succeed. Definitely recommend for any aspiring cooks to come and hone their skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry-leading mentorship and training
Training Administrator (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 7, 2017
If you're new to the industry, this is a great place to start. As long as you have the right personality (can-do attitude and ready to learn) they will teach you everything you need to know. If you're looking for something stable and less-chaotic, the 24-hour, 7 days per week restaurant is not for you.
Pros
Free food, lots of upward mobility
Cons
Limited time off and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Enviorment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MOSeptember 6, 2017
Working at Perkins can be a great experience. Teaches you about multitasking and working with people. Best part of the job is the ability to brighten someones day... the worst part is the hours and the lack off personal time.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Work-Home Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perkins review
Server (Former Employee) –  Arvada, COSeptember 5, 2017
I really enjoyed working here. I don't really have anything more to say than that. I enjoyed the regulars the drunks were always a hoot. I would actually work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Bus Boy (Current Employee) –  Forked River, NJSeptember 5, 2017
Fun place to work, friendly coworkers and customers. Quick paced job at times . Boss is relaxed and likes to have fun. Was given the opportunity to step up and become a server.
Pros
Free meals, close to home, relocation available
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The working environment was stressful
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Lewisburg, PASeptember 5, 2017
A typical day at work was filled with arguments between employees that was not addressed by management. Some employees would express really negative opinions about others. Again not addressed by management.

Job itself was not hard and training before starting work was good.

The most enjoyable was preparing all of the different dishes served by the restaurant.
Pros
None
Cons
stressful employee environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice breakrooms
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 3, 2017
good company to work for................................., this was a company with a lot of integrity and good employees.....I this company defiantly
had the best pancakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff, awesome management team.
Server (Former Employee) –  Moundsville, WVSeptember 2, 2017
Nice locaton, great food, staff is reliable and trustworthy, helpful team. Flexible scheduling, clean, safe, they have a cafe that's open until 3 a.m.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of a mess
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Indiana, PASeptember 1, 2017
The managers were all snotty and unapproachable as were the employees. It wasn't clean at all. Waiters would pick food off plates before giving them to customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping customer with excellent customer service
Host (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 1, 2017
At Perkins Restaurant and Bakery I did many things. I sat a lot customers that needed tables to sit down to eat. I cleaned tables when the customers finished eating. I also cleaned dishes when the restaurant was very busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place and easy going people are nice. Management is good and easy going
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Grove City, PAAugust 30, 2017
I learned about being able to prep cook. How to fix a toilet. One day we had to paint. One day we had spent all day trimming bushes. Then had to plant flowers.
Pros
Good starting work place
Cons
Not that good of money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Coworkers, Flexible Hours
Hostess, Server, Manager (Former Employee) –  River Falls, WIAugust 29, 2017
I enjoyed working at Perkins. I had fun working with people my own age and my managers were understanding of scheduling. It is very busy on sundays during the breakfast rush.
Pros
discounts
Cons
long shifts, busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and slow paste work enviornment
Hostess/Busser/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNAugust 28, 2017
I had 3 different positions while I was working there! But it was usually pretty busy every day!
I learned communication skills and fast paste.
I felt like the management at the time could have been better!
The hardest part was the rush hours!
The most enjoyable part was seeing the customers!
Pros
If you worked a double you get free food!
Cons
The boss and workers were rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Perkins Restaurants & Bakery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,032 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4