Find companies:
Pet Supplies Plus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

Pet Supplies Plus Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Stocking/Customer Service (Former Employee), Comstock Park, MIDecember 10, 2014
Pros: fun workplace, fun people
Cons: pay was poor, no benefits
Definitely a great beginning job, the work environment was fun and enjoyable. Very laid back. The pay was poor but it was worth it because it didn't feel like work. Very flexible on hours, which was nice. Management was also fantastic. Very easy retail environment. Made a lot of friends. The training program was great, wasn't necessarily fun but it – more... was very helpful and informative. Overall it was a good work experience but the pay was definitely something more to be desired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cashier (Current Employee), Jackson, MIDecember 9, 2014
Pros: customers with their pets
Cons: no benefits
Productive and fun workplace with many customer and animal experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Cashier (Current Employee), Naperville, ILDecember 9, 2014
love the atmosphere, very friendly, slow, lots of coupons, no dogs or cats, good prices, can get boring at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy working with others and like animal products, this is the job for you.
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Bristol, CTDecember 4, 2014
Cons: short breaks
My typical day at work, starts with making sure all the products on the shelves are very neet. When the store opens, you do your best to help any customer with any questions they might have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with great co workers
Animal Care Specialist (Current Employee), Portage, INDecember 3, 2014
Cons: healthcare if you can get full time employment
Great employees, great management, slow on training, low pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and educational workplace
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Cranston, RIDecember 2, 2014
Pros: playing with dogs, and helping people with their problems
Cons: lack of opportunity to advance in my career
A typical day at work for me is enjoyable. I get to help people find the right products to fulfill all there needs as well as getting to play with any dogs that come into the store. In the 3 years of working here I have learned a lot of information on cats, dogs, fish, reptiles, and small animals. As well as many different things in management. Some – more... things that I have learned in management include returns, managing money and employees, how to handle unhappy cliental, calculating sales and much much more. The hardest part of my job is the inability to move forward in my career do to lack of opportunities within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
animal care/sales (Former Employee), Levittown, PADecember 1, 2014
Pros: managers were good
Cons: low income
I enjoyed taking care of the animals and interacting with people and their pets and seeing if I could find a solution to their problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
CASHIER (Former Employee), Niles, OHNovember 24, 2014
Pros: take care of animals
Cons: management, drama, schedule conflicts, hours not being met.
Anyone with any work experience should not work here. It's good for a first job though. Corp. needs to make sure everyone is trained with handling, feeding, and overall health of animals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Oceanside, NYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: got to work with pets
Cons: short breaks, low pay, changing schedule
This job was readily available and great for anyone who just "needed something".... Beyond that there was very little in the way of advancement or incentive. Just a very basic bottom level job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a productive work place but poor Management
Stock Crew (Former Employee), Livonia, MINovember 11, 2014
Pros: we would get big discounts and alot of hours
Cons: we would really ever get any raises
On a typical day I would Walk around and help customers with what their looking for or if I know what their looking for but we don't have it id suggest them to something that similar to the products, We had little co-workers that actually did what there told, due to poor management, the hardest part of the job is on holidays because we would get double – more... or sometimes triple the amount of customers in a day. – less

December 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your Pet Supplies Plus story. We appreciate your service, and hope that you'll stop in to see us if you're ever nearby. We are sorry to hear that management fell short of your expectations. We will be checking in with the store to ensure that quality conduct and neighbor service is taking place.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
psp
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), new hartford, nyNovember 4, 2014
There is not much job security and has horrible management. They don't know how to treat their people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasing work environment with animals and owners
Manager (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCOctober 29, 2014
A fast paced environment filled with ordering and stocking inventory.

December 1, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience as a manager at our Goldsboro Pet Supplies Plus. Thank you for being a part of the team!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Pet Store
Animal Care/Register (Former Employee), Solon, OHOctober 25, 2014
I previously worked for Pet Supplies "Plus" in solon and can say this is my favorite pet store. I would rather drive a longer distance to go to PSP rather than any other pet store. The staff is knowledgeable about animals and products and can answer just about any questions you have, if they are unsure of an answer they ask a manager. They have a wide – more... variety of products with more reasonable prices than most pet stores and will price match a competitor’s price. On scheduled Saturdays PSP has a vet clinic comes to their facility and I have to say they do a great job and reasonably priced as well. Kelly's kritters makes the most amazing catnip toys and I only have found them at the solon location, they also bring animals to PSP to find them homes. Pet Supplies "Plus" is very community based and actually care about their customers and will remember you name and get to know you on a personal level and I love that because I always feel like family walking in the store rather than a walking bank. – less

November 10, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your story as both a team member and neighbor at our Solon Pet Supplies Plus. We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience! Getting to know our neighbors and our adoption partners is one of the things that makes our culture so special. We appreciate your service, and wish you well on your future endeavors. Thank you again!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They Suck
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Maspeth, NYOctober 15, 2014
Cons: dont expect to be promoted if you are not a man
They do not promote from within unless you are a male. They Suck

November 10, 2014

Hello, thank you for leaving feedback regarding your time at Pet Supplies Plus. We want to assure you this is 100% not true. We will be checking in with the Maspeth store to ensure that absolutely no discriminatory conduct is occurring. We invite you to provide specific feedback on your concerns by contacting us at onlineservices@petsuppliesplus.com. Thank you.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was typical job
Stocker, Customer Service (Current Employee), Toledo, OHOctober 10, 2014
Pros: close by, nice co workers
Cons: not enough pay, kind of disorganized
same thing one a day to day basis, very friendly co workers and amazing managers

October 22, 2014

Thank you for your comments on our store in Toledo. We value your feedback and service to Pet Supplies Plus. PSP HR Team

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Stocker (Former Employee), west seneca NYOctober 6, 2014
fun place to work part time. GOod people simple job. GOod for extra income

October 22, 2014

Thanks for reviewing our West Seneca store. We appreciate your feedback and your service to Pet Supplies Plus, and wish you luck in your future endeavors. PSP HR Team

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Associate and Stock (Former Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 4, 2014
It was a good experience and I enjoyed the people and the customers.

October 22, 2014

Thank you for your review of our Pet Supplies Plus store in Livonia. We're glad you had a good experience and your time there was enjoyable. Thank you for your service and best of luck to you in the future. PSP HR Team

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers are like family
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 3, 2014
This was my first job and even on the days I hated it I loved it. I will never forget this place of the people I met there. They became like a family to me and we've been through a lot together. I will always love that place.

October 22, 2014

Thanks so much for leaving a note about your time at our San Antonio store. We're so glad to hear that working with Pet Supplies Plus was an enriching experience. We hope it's one that you'll take with you as you begin new adventures. Thank you for your service, and good luck! PSP HR Team

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely awful
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Saint Clair Shores, MIOctober 1, 2014
Disrespectful management, judgemental staff and unfriendly to customers.

October 22, 2014

Thank you for alerting us to the conduct occurring in our St. Clair Shores store. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We will be looking into this matter and we appreciate your service to Pet Supplies Plus. PSP HR Team

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must love pets!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Oak Lawn, ILSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: paid lunch
Knowledge of pets and their care is essential to your workday.

1 2 3 4 5

About Pet Supplies Plus

Pet Supplies Plus is the largest franchised pet supply retailer in the nation. We are a trusted and respected company with over – Read more

Pet Supplies Plus Photos