Find companies:
PETCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
720 reviews

PETCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy- going
Bather (Former Employee), Heber City, UTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: didn't feel rushed, fun work environment
There's no doubt that I enjoyed working for petco more than I do petsmart. Petco was more laid back and fun. The management and coworkers were nice and fun to be around! They always helped me when i needed it and it felt like a real team effort. I felt more comfortable and welcome there. The most enjoyable part was being able to laugh and joke with – more... the coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Van Nuys, CASeptember 12, 2014
I have no complaints with petco or my former coworker i think they were all respectful and nice and they treated me well. I had some days that were harder than others but i was nothing i couldn't handle. i had a very pleasant experience at petco and I'm very glad they gave me a opportunity to volunteer there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with some quirks.
Cashier (Former Employee), Tigard, ORSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers, easy going environment.
Cons: slightly disorganized
A typical day of work would consist of me coming into the store, punching in, and either stocking the store or taking the cash register. I learned a a lot of things about animal nutrition and cashiering. Although this wasn't the managements fault the companies computer program always seemed pretty disorganized and it seemed there was always a problem – more... stemming from the computer. My coworkers were very friendly along with management and helped me to learn every step of the way. The hardest, but most rewarding part of the job, was helping customers with their unique requests. When someone comes to you with a strange problem and you think outside of the box to help them, it feels good. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking with people at the cash register, as we were encouraged to do. Unfortunately I did not work out there. I was hired as a dog trainer though I applied as a cashier. I stuck with it long enough to check out their training program and was not impressed, nor did I have the time to commit too what they wanted. It's a shame because overall it was a pretty good company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service and knowledge of animals
Sales Associate and cashier (Former Employee), Mason City, IowaSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: working with animals, great staff
Cons: cashiering for long periods of time
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to converse with customers, and seeing what type of pets they were into, or what kind of pets they had. Every day was a different day, filled with various things to do, things such as cleaning habitats, interacting with the animals, adjusting shelves, and feeding the animals, along with helping each – more... customer with any needs they had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational environment
Cashier- Make (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: long lunches, good staff
Cons: short hours
The hours I received were minimal but the on job education was very resourceful. Management and co-workers were very easy to get along with and very helpful and clear with directions. The hardest part of the job was the lack of hours and the most enjoyable was getting to do all the animal care tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, Horrible, Horrible.
Inventory Manager (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: absolutely everything
I was there for three years, and in that three years we went through 8 general managers. The last general manager we had decided that instead of bringing a mouth to be euthanasia humanely, he just broke the mouse's neck. With my depression and anxiety there were always viscous comments to me about being "crazy" and on one occasion my GM told me that – more... the next time I tried to kill myself, he hoped that I would succeed. Personal issues aside, this is NOT a place to work if you love animals. The treatment of the animals is horrific. While I was there I always thought that at least when they were in my care they would be taken good care of, however, if I wasn't working the animals would not have been fed or given water. I'm not sure if all stores operate the same way, but the love of animals that I have, I just couldn't bring myself to continue to work in a place where the animals were always sick and dying. They say that they promote from in, however, this is completely false. I spoke to a few people from other stores and they confirmed that also. All in all, avoid this place like the plague. Pet smart is leaps and bounds better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed environment
Kelly Temp Serv (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 4, 2014
Provide quick and courteous service to all Petco customers by determining their needs and sharing product knowledge to suggest the appropriate merchandise to satisfy them, and by effectively employing suggestive selling techniques to increase individual sales. Complete cash register transactions as well as customer carry-out service consisting of merchandise. – more... Assist in the loading, unloading and stocking of merchandise according to established procedures in order to ensure that the store is well stocked and that inventory counts are accurate. Ensure that store animals, birds, reptiles and fish receive the highest quality care, are maintained in habitats that are clean, safe and secure and that all reasonable and required steps are taken to maintain their good health. Perform routine housekeeping tasks as required to maintain the professional image and appearance of the store like sweeping/mopping the floors, dusting, washing the windows, facing the merchandise on the shelves. Assist store management in the opening/closing of the store as needed, to include the accurate completion of required paperwork. Participate in the completion of quarterly and annual physical inventory counts. Adhere to and promote established safety and loss prevention procedures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Jr. Pet Stylist (Former Employee), Katy, TxSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: however long you want lunch break
Cons: evil people
There is a lot of gossip in this place. Everyone talks bad about everyone behind their back but are nice to their face. The pay is terrible and there is no room to advance. Vile and disgusting place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Midlothian TnpkSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: pto (paid time off)
Cons: cleaning up after other employees and doing their job.
It was a pleasant experience, I learned a lot about animals and animal products. I received much needed training to help inform customers and take care of the animals in the proper way. Most of my co-workers were wonderful and they were a pleasure to work with. I got to participate in grooming, dog training and adoptions all the time which I wouldn't – more... have had the chance otherwise in that short amount of time. The hardest part of the job was working with one other person on a busy day/night and keeping everything with the animals, customers and store running as smoothly as possible. I enjoyed meeting the customers and their pets, talking with them and finding the best possible purchase for their needs resulting in many returning customers even if my store was further from another, they valued my input, service and knowledge and I know I can achieve that elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with animals
groomer (Former Employee), Lansdowne, MDSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: working with people and animals
Cons: working weekends and holidays
I loved working at petco but needed a job with more opportunity for advancement and a more stable income.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More likely to hire outside,than promote within
Customer Advisor/Dog trainer/Management trainee (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: animals
Cons: advancement opportunity is nil
I am an independent worker, as such when I am on duty, I don't require a great deal of supervision. If I see something needs to be done, then I do it, no one needs to tell me to do so. Also because I have been with the company for a decade, they trust me to handle management functions for other employee's. The management staff spends a great deal of – more... their time in the office, with the exception of the merchandising manager. I float between backup cashier, to customer service to basic store functions to keep things stocked and running smoothly. The best part of the job, are the animals the customers bring in, they tend to be very happy to see anyone, especially if you have treat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petco
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Walnut Park, CAAugust 28, 2014
I loved working at Petco. Everybody was really nice and helpful. I was able to learn a lot about Animals. The hardest part of my job was having to clean the small animal habitats in small amount of time. I enjoyed helping the customers and working with all my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petco was a very fun job. I really enjoyed working there.
Assistant Buyer (Former Employee), San Diego CAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: we got to bring our animals into the office
Cons: alot of meetings
Responsibilities included: Processing and managing orders nationwide. Created all specials for stores; negotiating with Vendor on sales pricing on special . New Store set ups – managed all plan o grams (POGs) for the Departments of Companion Animal, Reptile, Fish and Birds. Vendor contracts – creation and kept updated. Working with A/P on open PO’s, – more... cost variances. Work with Vendor compliance on deleted PO’s and open PO’s. Weekly, monthly, and yearly Sales Reports. Handled customer service for the field, vendors and stores. When supervisor is out, handled all contacts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, bad management
Assist "pet parents (Current Employee), Culver City, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: discounts.
Cons: short breaks. low staff.
Petco is such a fun place to work at. There are always animals that visit on the daily, the environment is nice and the coworkers are friends. Management at Petco is really bad though. Hours are terrible and the managers "favorite" certain people. I always do the closing shift and they never praise our work but rather complain and expect more. They – more... are violating many things that could lead into problems with corporate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, fun atmosphere with enthusiasm and teamwork.
Pet Stylist (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: once a month the grooming salon employees were allowed to bring their dogs in for a free bath.
Cons: understaffed grooming salon.
A typical day at work would include, checking in customer's pets to be bathed or groomed, going through the daily cleaning checklist, working together with coworkers to maintain a clean and efficient salon and making sure every customer left satisfied. I learned a lot about teamwork and team leadership, the grooming salon manager was very nice to work – more... with, she was very professional and structured. Most of my salon coworkers were very fun to work with, I made friends with everyone on the team. I enjoyed every part of that job, I love working with animals and I thoroughly enjoyed working in the grooming salon at Petco. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Scheduling For School
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Palm Desert, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: worked with my schedule
Cons: meal violations, lack in coverage
Learned the core of my management and leadership skills with Petco. Work days could become rather routine. Co-workers seemed like family. Manager was very helpful until I was in need of a transfer for school; I was dropped off the schedule after being told to train my replacement. Hardest part of the job was not having them support me more in my desire – more... for furthering my education and relocating, even given more than 6 months notice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company with bad managers
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee), anonymousAugust 23, 2014
Pros: you work with great people and the pets
Cons: no appreciation for the work done, company is on a million different tangents and directives- impossible to do one or two great
This could be a really great company. Who doesn't love pets?
But, everything about this company is "knee-jerk". No consistency with execution of company directives or programs. The rule is when new training or productivity programs roll-out, expect to have issues with it for the first few weeks... usually they are not vetted before roll-out and problems – more... abound in the implementation. This makes the manager's jobs incredibly difficult.
They may have a great company motto, theme, brand image statement, but saying it is not the same as DOING IT.
Staffing/payroll is horrible. Honestly too many managers, and not enough employees to ensure customer engagement and tasks can be completed in a reasonable time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and fun working with the animals
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sewell, NJAugust 20, 2014
Pros: helping customers all day and seeing them smile!
Cons: the sick animals in the wellness room.
A typical day at work for me was cleaning the bird cages and fish tanks or cleaning the small animal cages and cleaning the wellness room (which is where all the sick animals were). I learned a lot while working at Petco I learned so much about aquatics, small animal care, bird care, and some reptile care. Management really knew what they were doing – more... especially the assistant managers they were the best anytime you had a problem they were right there to help. The hardest part of the job was seeing the sick animals in the wellness room for me that was horrible. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the animals going to a good home and helping men, women and children find there perfect pet. That always made me smile at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second time I've worked for PetCo... never going back!
Grooming Salon Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaAugust 19, 2014
One of the most corrupt companies I've ever worked for. As a grooming salon manager, I was barely allowed to have any say in what my salon ordered, so most of the time the things that the company had us advertise were out of stock... and when it wasn't it was sub-par quality. Management was only focus on protecting the people who had been there for – more... a while, their friends, even when I found out one of my employees had been frauding the company and reported it, I was made to feel extremely unwelcome. I was harrassed several times by my bosses, including several times where one of the managers (who was supposed to be my equal) came in and screamed at me while I was working with a dog (with a noose on its neck and a very sharp pair of scissors in my hand). She came in and screamed at me in front of some customers too.
General manager seemed to really not care and would only communicate with me when we weren't getting enough add ons... nevermind the fact that I pulled the salon out from the negative. Eventually I was bullied into stepping down after I had panic attacks about going in every day. Work environment was unsafe, cords in water and dogs being put into dirty kennels. Do not work for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are awesome, enviroment is awesome, everything else not so much
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Yonkers, NYAugust 19, 2014
Pros: the management and people
Cons: work load to pay, slow advancement
great place to work and make friends and learn about animals but that is about it, pay is not that great, job requires much more then you are paid for

1 2 3 4 5

About PETCO

Petco… where the healthy pets go Petco is a leading pet specialty retailer that provides the products, services and – Read more