Find companies:
PETCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
673 reviews

PETCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animal lover
Cashier (Current Employee), Cedar Park, TXJuly 25, 2014
Learned to be caring for the animal. Met variety of different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Bruno, CAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: benefits
A typical day will be checking customers out in the registers. Talking with customers and answering their questions with best of my ability. Management was great, they all knew what they were doing and everyone was informed about the staff and store. The whole staff was like a family, they were great. The hardest part of the job was dealing with upset – more... customers and trying to come up with a solution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college job
Dog Trainer, Customer Advisor, Reptile Specialist (Current Employee), Pocatello, IDJuly 24, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: poor upper management
This has been a great job to get me through college. Everyone gets along, and it's a pretty relaxed environment. The only bad thing I really have to say is that sometimes the upper management has no real idea as to what is needed to run a store successfully, and hours are not always guaranteed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is only about upper management
assocate (Former Employee), new yorkJuly 24, 2014
Pros: play with animals
Cons: pay, management, work environment
You receive a review annually and if your lucky, get 15 cents per hour, yet upper management goes around talking about their big bonuses and such. One drives a Telza yet I cant hardly feed my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, cleanliness was a different question.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Harrisonburg, VAJuly 23, 2014
I had to compensate my own ethics for this job, I do not recommend for people who are animal rights activists or animal lovers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment that implemented hard work and having fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLJuly 22, 2014
Pros: job advancement, location, flexible schedules
Cons: short breaks and low pay
As a sales associate for Petco, a typical day for me would be animal care when opening the store. Prep work for the items to be sold. Covering all aspects of the floor whether it be as a cashier, giving knowledge to customers on animals and animal care, items and sales. I learned how to work as a cohesive unit with other coworkers to get through the – more... day, especially since we were under staffed. I learned about several breeds of animals and how to care for them. My coworkers were great. If I ever had a question or needed help, they never hesitated to help me. The hardest part of the job was learning how to take care of the reptiles. They required more maintenance than other animals. Another hard part of the job was going home. I enjoyed my time at work at the days just seem to fly by. Every aspect of the job was enjoyable. Never a dull moment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grooming Assistant and Store Associate
Grooming Assistant and Store Associate (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSJuly 20, 2014
Grooming Assistant:Bathing dogs, trimming nails, and cleaning ears. Assisted groomers as needed with dog grooms. Also assisted with cat grooms and bathes. Booked appointments and educated customers.
Store Associate: Cashiered, stocked shelves, and cared for the small animal/bird department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and good employees
Inventory Control Manager (Former Employee), Cranston, RIJuly 20, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of me planning out the day/night shift for tasks at hand. I had to plan accordingly to deadlines and sales. While helping customers and planning a shift, I was also learning the behind the scenes in order to become an assistant manager. Management and co-workers were easy to work with because we all got a long 98% of – more... the time. The most enjoyable part of my job is a tough one. Between establishing relationships with customers and getting along with co-workers, I would have to say everyday was pretty enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Groomer/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hartsdale, NYJuly 18, 2014
Pros: animals
amazing job
learned to love and respect all creatures
management was okay
my coworkers were amazing
there was never a hard part to this job
everything about this job was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun atomsphere
Inventory & Pricing Manager (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 16, 2014
Pros: dog trainer
Cons: not alot of advancement
Great place to learn about animals and get training. Being able to learn and educate animals and pet parents was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), buford, GAJuly 15, 2014
The managers made sure I had a clear understanding of what was expected of me. This made the work much easier. They treated the workers with respect and mad the work place fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pets and their parents
Manager (Former Employee), Avon, MAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: daily interactions with animals
Cons: lack of training
Very fufilling to be able to meet families and their new addition. I worked with some very knowledgeable people and interacting with pets on a daily basis is extremely rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Senior Site Specialist (Former Employee), san diego californiaJuly 14, 2014
it was challenging and fun and i learned alot here I wouold recommend it to anybody who wanted to work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment to assist people with pets
Front End Manager (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: discounts on pet products
Cons: no health care
I enjoyed being a cashier. I was rewarded for getting near $2000.00 in donations for a injured dog in 1 month from customers checking out. One thing I found to be challenging was to be comfortable caring for and giving advice on reptiles & spiders. I loved being able to give customers assistance on how to correct a issue with their pet issues, hence – more... being able to apply my knowledge about pets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and faced paced
General Manager (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits and great pay
Cons: trustworthyness
Monitoring animals health
Customer service and interacting with customers
Enjoyable part of my day is helping others get their new pet for their home
Great benefits and great pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus on Animals and customer care
General Manager (Former Employee), Los Gatos, CA Sunnyvale CA Houston TXJuly 11, 2014
Good Company. Regional Management, DM,and Regional Animal Management needs a lot of improvement..Negative attitudes, and do not reward good performance. Discouraging with no positive feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with animals
Pet Stylist Apprentice/Animal Handler (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYJuly 9, 2014
If you don't love working with animals then this job is not for you. A typical work day is grooming, bathing, cutting nails, and cleaning ears. Also making sure the customer is happy with the overall haircut. Management does help out especially the grooming salon manager because if a customer is unsatisfied the grooming salon manager will take over – more... to accommodate the customer. Hardest part of the job is explaining to customers we cannot groom their dog because it is too aggressive. Most enjoyable part is being surrounded with animals and love your job everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Lead Associate (Former Employee), Plaistow, NHJuly 8, 2014
was a great first job all those years ago, was animal care specialist and lead associate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for animal lovers
Department Manager (Current Employee), Minot, NDJuly 8, 2014
Working with the public and those who love being good pet parents is a definite plus. Gratification from customers is common when you help them resolve problems with their pets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of PETCO
Animal Specialist and Canine Education Instructor (Former Employee), Allen Park, MIJuly 6, 2014
I loved this job. Every day was different. I worked as and animal specialist and was a a Canine Education instructor. As an animal specialist I was in charge of taking care of pets on the sales floor until they found there forever home as well as taking care of sick pets that were off the sales floor and taking animals to vet visits. I would pair up – more... the future pet parent with the right pet for them and insure they knew the proper care of the pet they were buying. As well as daily and weekly cleaning of the animal cages, along with daily feedings and socialization. As a Canine Education Instructor. I taught weekly classes to help pet parents learn obedience for their dogs that they could take home with them. The classes were 6 to 8 weeks long and had a variety of dog breeds and pet parents and was great for socializing of the dogs as well as the pet parents. The main method of training I used was the "lure and reward" method. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About PETCO

PETCO Animal Supplies is a holding company for PETCO Animal Supplies Stores, the second-largest US retailer of specialty pet supplies – Read more