Petco Employee Reviews

Found 2,200 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having A Job I Have Been Working Towards
Dog Trainer (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 25, 2017
I always wanted to be a Dog Trainer, alot of the information I have is self taught or read through the many dog training books I own. When this job was offered to me, I was thrilled!
The average day for me, is to be a hand as a cashier until my classes show up!
Management could be better, there is alot of inconsistencies that is frustrating, for instance when I can offer classes and my time away from classes.
The hardest part of my job will have to be making sure the pet parent can understand when I try to explain a solution, but even then, i usually do a hands on approach if a client needs it.
The most enjoyable part of my job is to train my dogs!
Pros
Training Dogs, 40% discount off my Dogs Food, Fun enviroment
Cons
Healthcare, Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJuly 24, 2017
The people I worked with were friendly, but schedules were inflexable , and there were many non-sensical decisions from corporate that made work hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Grooming Salon Manager (Former Employee) –  Halethorpe, MDJuly 24, 2017
Typical work day was enjoyable getting to work with the animals and making sure their needs were met. Work environment and managers varied Depending on location of the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Huntersville, NCJuly 24, 2017
If you love animals this is a great place to work.You get to work with a lot of adoption agencies.You must make sure you are able to lift heavy dog food. Put away all merchandise. Be very customer friendly. Be knowledgeable in all dog and cat food so you can help the customers with their animal needs. The only thing that did bother me was when customers would come in with a very sick animal wanting us to help them. What they really needed to do was go to the vet.
Pros
get to work with a lot of different animals
Cons
upper management was hard to talk to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 24, 2017
engaging customers
engaging they animals
providing excellent customer service
telling them what is on sale
asking them for the rewards membership card
how much they are saving
feeding all animals
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Livey place to work
DOG TRAINING APPRENTICE/GUEST RELATIONS (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 23, 2017
Petco is lively place to work and everyone is usually very nice, but some days are more demanding than others. Sundays, Mondays, Wednesday, and Thursday are not an easy day because of animal maintance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Small Animal Specialist (Former Employee) –  Humble, TXJuly 22, 2017
Not a good place to start for first time employees as all of the animal habits need to be clear and sanitized and the animals need to be fed and watered by a certain time every morning.
Pros
Working alongside animals, usually kind customers
Cons
Fear of bites, stressful, fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Grooming Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDJuly 21, 2017
Pets and their people, what's not to love? I was fortunate to have an excellent GM in my store. Fun was encouraged, and our staff was close. I've heard in recent times, that things have changed though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly lazy management
Dog Trainer (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXJuly 21, 2017
The majority of the managers sat around and did nothing all day long. While the Assistant manager and myself ran the floor. For the majority of the time it was him and i taking care of the store.
Pros
opens late closes early
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Pet Stylist (Former Employee) –  Walnut Park, CAJuly 20, 2017
Best managers ive had for a while. Deborah was always super nice and supportive of the employees. Grooming salon has its slow times but it does get extremely busy as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store manager unqualified
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILJuly 20, 2017
the man has had many complaints about him from both customers and employees but his childhood friend sits in the district manager spot and covers for him.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible experience.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAJuly 20, 2017
I was still young while I worked here and had just moved to Dalton Georgia, which was a mistake on its own, but in the short time I was there an assistant manager sexually harassed me quite a lot. I was too scared to go to HR but he was notorious for it and I did tell one of the managers. I quite shortly after and moved back down to Buford.
Pros
Seeing animals, nice costumers.
Cons
Toxic environment, bad management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Same Company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 19, 2017
The company has changed since it's sale in 2016. Morale is low, pay is horrible, benefits poor. Leaders, formerly called Managers, are leaving and are not being replaced easily. I do not recommend.
Pros
Employee Disounts
Cons
Pay, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ehh
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Auburn, MAJuly 19, 2017
i loved working here i loved working with all of the animals and seiing all of the new puppies. the managers didnt care at all about what you had to say
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for extra cash
Stand Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 19, 2017
You work hard, but its a fun enviornment, It is great for people watching and helping others enjoy a day out with their family.///////////////////////////
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Guest advisor specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 18, 2017
Working for petco is an ok job I wouldn't recommend it long term only if you need a job to have a little bit of spending money. Other than that it's not exactly a job you want permanently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Groomer/ stylist (Former Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MNJuly 18, 2017
The environment is amazing it's a great starter job and a fun way to make money. Working with animals can be like not working at all but instead bonding
Pros
Working with animals
Cons
Corporate quotas
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company!
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Rolling Hills Estates, CAJuly 18, 2017
Overall a great place to work where one learns a lot about the business. I felt I could grow as an employee and person to reach my goals and help clients and customers succeed!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHJuly 17, 2017
Amazing company to work for. This company prides themselves on the utmost care for all animals and their owners. Excellent animal care is their main priority and making sure customers are well informed of proper animal care of all varieties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major issues
Construction Coordinator (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 17, 2017
This company does not think twice about how their employees feel. Do not take a job here unless you only want short term. Management does not care about their employees
Pros
none
Cons
as many as you can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Petco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,250 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5