Find companies:
PETCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
700 reviews

PETCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second time I've worked for PetCo... never going back!
Grooming Salon Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaAugust 19, 2014
One of the most corrupt companies I've ever worked for. As a grooming salon manager, I was barely allowed to have any say in what my salon ordered, so most of the time the things that the company had us advertise were out of stock... and when it wasn't it was sub-par quality. Management was only focus on protecting the people who had been there for – more... a while, their friends, even when I found out one of my employees had been frauding the company and reported it, I was made to feel extremely unwelcome. I was harrassed several times by my bosses, including several times where one of the managers (who was supposed to be my equal) came in and screamed at me while I was working with a dog (with a noose on its neck and a very sharp pair of scissors in my hand). She came in and screamed at me in front of some customers too.
General manager seemed to really not care and would only communicate with me when we weren't getting enough add ons... nevermind the fact that I pulled the salon out from the negative. Eventually I was bullied into stepping down after I had panic attacks about going in every day. Work environment was unsafe, cords in water and dogs being put into dirty kennels. Do not work for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are awesome, enviroment is awesome, everything else not so much
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Yonkers, NYAugust 19, 2014
Pros: the management and people
Cons: work load to pay, slow advancement
great place to work and make friends and learn about animals but that is about it, pay is not that great, job requires much more then you are paid for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice equipment and all types of dogs to work on
Dog Bather (Former Employee), Asheville, NCAugust 17, 2014
Pros: handling so many dogs teaches a lot about dogs temperament and attitude
Cons: lifting heavy dogs into the tub.
Check shop to make sure that everything is very clean and in
place. Study computer to see which dogs are coming in. Greet
the owner and their dogs. Look over the dog, ask the owner what
he wants for the grooming. Make recommendations if seemly.
Our co-workers are all very nice, as is our boss.
The hardest part of the job for me has been trying to learn – more... certain
aspects of the computer. It is getting easier.
The enjoyable part of bathing is having a dog's coat or overall
appearance look really good after finished. Especially when the
dog is also happy and has a waggy tail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun For A While
Pet Stylist (Current Employee), Livonia, MIAugust 15, 2014
It was fun in the beginning but new people got hired in and changed everything around which made it harder for me to get my job done. It took the fun out of the entire job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff was like family
Dog Trainer (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 15, 2014
Pay was bad but I loved working there. They take care of there employees and everyone was so nice. We were like a family. was sad to leave. But the pay was terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hope you dont like animal cruelty
Cashier/Freight Technician (Former Employee), ColoradoAugust 14, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: everything
Thats all that really needs to be said, days suck, didnt learn much other than proper care for some animals, management sucked, coworkers had thier moments, hardest part of the job is all the neglect and abuse these animals get, the most enjoyable part was helping them and leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company Bad Management
small Animal Department Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver WAAugust 13, 2014
This is a good company.But the management needs help! Tried to transfur to another store but my transfers were blocked
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animal Lover's Dream
General Manager (Former Employee), WisconsinAugust 13, 2014
Pros: animals, associates, customers
Cons: work life balance, training, amount of payroll given to run the store
If you love animals, this is a great place to work! There many opportunities for store associates to be able to advance. Training needs to be addressed. Most is on the job and associates are expected to learn all positions when hired. The number of hours given in a week for lower volume stores is insufficient to ensure all animals are taken care of, – more... the correct way. Overall the job was a fun job, but there seemed to be no work life balance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive and a fun work eviroment
Customer Adviser (Former Employee), Peachtree City, GAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: working with all types of animals
Cons: cleaning up after the animals
Petco is a great place to work at if you like animals. It was a great experience for me. I enjoyed working with the animals and the animal companions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place!
Companion Animal and Aquatics Manager (Former Employee), madison, msAugust 11, 2014
I enjoyed it very much. Customers were the best. Employees were fun. Company was generous and allowed for a fun working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about the numbers
Grooming Salon Manager (Current Employee), Bloomington, INAugust 11, 2014
As a manager I was discriminated against, salon managers do not have the same computer access as store department managers. District managers made promises to up graded equipment, that was never received and would deny the up grade. This was after my team and I had upped sales by 25%. The GM would often under mind my authority with my salon staff, so – more... that I had no credibility with them or the decisions I made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience, poor management
Sales Expert (Former Employee), Kirkland, WAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: training, coworkers, positivity, company focus
Cons: management, customer service
I worked at Petco for one year. I started out as a cashier, but worked my way onto the sales floor. I learned a ton about pretty much everything having to do with pets, from cats and dogs, to reptiles, to small animals, to fish. I loved problem-solving and troubleshooting with customers. I really felt like I had helped them and their pets.

Upper management – more... was awful. The department managers were great, but don't have much power to get anything done. The AM and GM were really disorganized. They'd change the schedule without telling anyone and get mad when someone missed their shift. They made promises that they didn't intend to keep. For instance, I was hired on to be a dog trainer, but they kept putting off my training until I started school again, then got mad when I couldn't pick up extra time to be trained because of school. After school ended, they promised to make me head dog trainer, but ended up hiring someone else for the position. I left right after that. They also are incredibly neurotic about corporate visits. Customer service gets pushed back and dusting becomes priority whenever we're expecting a visit.
However, they are really flexible with getting certain days or times off and don't put up with any shifty business from their employees, which is a good thing. Finally, PETCO does a lot of fundraisers/donation drives, which is great. However, they put a ton of pressure on their employees to get donations. Like "get donations or your job is in danger" type pressure. Even people who don't work on the register (where donations are gathered) get in trouble if they don't get any donations, which makes no sense.

On a neutral note, I worked one day a week at a nearby Petco. There was a lot of inconsistency between the stores regarding management, rules, cleanliness, animal care, breaks, etc. I get the feeling that reviews are completely based on the individual stores.

I LOVED getting to know my customers and their pets. I learned a lot about nutrition and I helped countless customers solve their pets' nutrition problems. I also loved learning the intricacies of caring for reptiles and fish, which I hadn't had much experience with. The atmosphere is also really collaborative. If I had a question, any other employee would jump up and help, and we would collaboratively solve customers' problems if we needed to. Also, helping out with Puppy Playtime was so fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for an animal lover like myself
Pet Stylist (Current Employee), Glen Burnie, MDAugust 10, 2014
I work in the grooming salon; I'm a dog groomer. It can sometimes be a pretty physically draining job, especially when we're really busy and dealing with difficult behaviors. But I love it. I answer the phone, take in grooming appointments on the computer, check the dogs in, bathe them, give them a haircut, cut/grind their nails, clean their ears, etc... – more... We work together as a team so if one of us has a hard-to-mange dog on the table, we assist each other in holding and trying to calm the dog down. I work with all breeds; Great Danes, Boxers, Poodles, Bulldogs, Yorkies, Bernese Mountain, St. Bernard, Beagles, Rotties, Pits, Keeshonds.. to name a few. I've learned a lot about different dog breeds, cats, and their temperaments. And I continue to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging environment to work in
GROOMING ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Pearl City, HIAugust 10, 2014
Pros: personal connections with other animal lovers
Cons: some days are very, very busy, sometimes resulting in late lunches or breaks, but the day goes by fast!
As a grooming assistant, employees see all breeds of dog and their owners! Typical work days are very busy with hands on work with dogs, answering busy phones for appointments or grooming related questions. I learned how to de-mat dogs, properly cut nails, proper brushing and bathing techniques, as well as solutions for skin issues. Management was always – more... supportive and maintained an open door policy for any questions or issues any employee had. A career in grooming is exciting because dogs truly are man's best friend, and taking care of a pet parent's fur baby is very rewarding because when you do a good job, they come back for more! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the environment but not the management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gillette, WYAugust 8, 2014
Pros: love all the animals
Cons: management, 30 min lunch, only smokers got breaks.
I absolutely loved the duties that i did at Petco. I took care of the animals and cleaned then and fed them. I was mostly on the cash register, but when i was on the floor I made sure all the customers were helped and everything was clean and straightened out. I really thought i was a great employee, but the management was very unorganized and they – more... were power hungry and i became unhappy with the people i worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite jobs
Inventory Manager/Companion Animal Manager (Former Employee), Henderson, NVAugust 5, 2014
Pros: pay, increases, benefits, promotions, positive people, positive donation/community events
Cons: not enough work hours for pt, not enough associates working at once which can create a stressful customer/associate relation
Regular pay increases based on your A+ performance as well as easy promotions with a decent increase and future increases. Willing to pay overtime when needed and justified.

Positive people, great overall company goal to support the community and homeless pets. Fun donation drives and opportunities to educate the public. Overall good experience working – more... here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Datacenter Migration Lead (Current Employee), Richardson, TXAugust 4, 2014
Migration Plan and Execution and Day to Day Support activities.
Learned about Cisco UCS Implementation
Very Good Management
All my co-workers are always helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interactions with customers
STOCKROOM ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Commack, New YorkAugust 4, 2014
Pros: unique coworkers, fun customer interactions, great way to learn something new
Cons: very difficult for job advancement, store actions are structured from a corporate office
Great for animal lovers of all types. Although very demanding when it comes to late night deliveries and corporate visits, the job itself was very fulfilling. I have learned so much from other employees about exotic animal care that i was able to help customers with very detailed questions and issues with their pets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive Work place
Grooming Salon Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan, KansasAugust 3, 2014
Pros: free grooms for your pet
Cons: management is not a team
Loved working with my Pet Parents and their furry family members. A typical day at work would include grooming anywhere from 3 to 8 dogs a day, completing end of the day paperwork, and making sure scheduling is properly handled
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WorkLife Balance
Inventory Accountant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 1, 2014
Great worklife balance but little training. Had to learn everything on my own

1 2 3 4 5

About PETCO

Petco… where the healthy pets go Petco is a leading pet specialty retailer that provides the products, services and – Read more