Find companies:
PETCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
722 reviews

PETCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company expects too much out of their associates
Sales Associate (Current Employee), ConnecticutSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, easy to request time off, good college job.
Cons: low pay, company expects a lot out of their associates, stressful
If you're looking for a career, this company is not where you should look for work. There is very little opportunity for growth. Some stores are better to work for than others and the culture varies between stores. Pay is low, hours are long, and breaks are short. Cashiers are expected to multitask at the registers while at the same time provide excellent – more... customer service and please everyone. Cashiers are responsible for answering phone calls, rerouting calls, helping customers find products around the register areas, fronting and facing the isles around the register area (which can be a little far), greeting all customers as they walk through the door, while all at the the same time trying not to make a mistake while ringing out customers. It can be overwhelming at times and stressful. The company also expects their associates to be knowledgeable about all types of animals in the store and how to properly care for them with the products that are offered, be animal nutritionists and explain to customers benefits of one type of food over the other and between brands that are best for their type of animal or breed of dog, all for a whopping $9 an hour to start with no benefits. You might get a 25 cent raise each year if you perform above and beyond every day but the average raise is 10 or 15 cents a year. The training process is a joke, the only way to learn is to mess up, or ask someone who might know what to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero guidance
Merchandise Planner (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 17, 2014
Frequent wild goose chases only for the direction to change the night before. Managers don't push back to upper management in hopes to spare the worker bees extra work. More added on to plate, nothing ever taken off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy- going
Bather (Former Employee), Heber City, UTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: didn't feel rushed, fun work environment
There's no doubt that I enjoyed working for petco more than I do petsmart. Petco was more laid back and fun. The management and coworkers were nice and fun to be around! They always helped me when i needed it and it felt like a real team effort. I felt more comfortable and welcome there. The most enjoyable part was being able to laugh and joke with – more... the coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Van Nuys, CASeptember 12, 2014
I have no complaints with petco or my former coworker i think they were all respectful and nice and they treated me well. I had some days that were harder than others but i was nothing i couldn't handle. i had a very pleasant experience at petco and I'm very glad they gave me a opportunity to volunteer there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with some quirks.
Cashier (Former Employee), Tigard, ORSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers, easy going environment.
Cons: slightly disorganized
A typical day of work would consist of me coming into the store, punching in, and either stocking the store or taking the cash register. I learned a a lot of things about animal nutrition and cashiering. Although this wasn't the managements fault the companies computer program always seemed pretty disorganized and it seemed there was always a problem – more... stemming from the computer. My coworkers were very friendly along with management and helped me to learn every step of the way. The hardest, but most rewarding part of the job, was helping customers with their unique requests. When someone comes to you with a strange problem and you think outside of the box to help them, it feels good. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking with people at the cash register, as we were encouraged to do. Unfortunately I did not work out there. I was hired as a dog trainer though I applied as a cashier. I stuck with it long enough to check out their training program and was not impressed, nor did I have the time to commit too what they wanted. It's a shame because overall it was a pretty good company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service and knowledge of animals
Sales Associate and cashier (Former Employee), Mason City, IowaSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: working with animals, great staff
Cons: cashiering for long periods of time
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to converse with customers, and seeing what type of pets they were into, or what kind of pets they had. Every day was a different day, filled with various things to do, things such as cleaning habitats, interacting with the animals, adjusting shelves, and feeding the animals, along with helping each – more... customer with any needs they had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational environment
Cashier- Make (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: long lunches, good staff
Cons: short hours
The hours I received were minimal but the on job education was very resourceful. Management and co-workers were very easy to get along with and very helpful and clear with directions. The hardest part of the job was the lack of hours and the most enjoyable was getting to do all the animal care tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, Horrible, Horrible.
Inventory Manager (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: absolutely everything
I was there for three years, and in that three years we went through 8 general managers. The last general manager we had decided that instead of bringing a mouth to be euthanasia humanely, he just broke the mouse's neck. With my depression and anxiety there were always viscous comments to me about being "crazy" and on one occasion my GM told me that – more... the next time I tried to kill myself, he hoped that I would succeed. Personal issues aside, this is NOT a place to work if you love animals. The treatment of the animals is horrific. While I was there I always thought that at least when they were in my care they would be taken good care of, however, if I wasn't working the animals would not have been fed or given water. I'm not sure if all stores operate the same way, but the love of animals that I have, I just couldn't bring myself to continue to work in a place where the animals were always sick and dying. They say that they promote from in, however, this is completely false. I spoke to a few people from other stores and they confirmed that also. All in all, avoid this place like the plague. Pet smart is leaps and bounds better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed environment
Kelly Temp Serv (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 4, 2014
Provide quick and courteous service to all Petco customers by determining their needs and sharing product knowledge to suggest the appropriate merchandise to satisfy them, and by effectively employing suggestive selling techniques to increase individual sales. Complete cash register transactions as well as customer carry-out service consisting of merchandise. – more... Assist in the loading, unloading and stocking of merchandise according to established procedures in order to ensure that the store is well stocked and that inventory counts are accurate. Ensure that store animals, birds, reptiles and fish receive the highest quality care, are maintained in habitats that are clean, safe and secure and that all reasonable and required steps are taken to maintain their good health. Perform routine housekeeping tasks as required to maintain the professional image and appearance of the store like sweeping/mopping the floors, dusting, washing the windows, facing the merchandise on the shelves. Assist store management in the opening/closing of the store as needed, to include the accurate completion of required paperwork. Participate in the completion of quarterly and annual physical inventory counts. Adhere to and promote established safety and loss prevention procedures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Jr. Pet Stylist (Former Employee), Katy, TxSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: however long you want lunch break
Cons: evil people
There is a lot of gossip in this place. Everyone talks bad about everyone behind their back but are nice to their face. The pay is terrible and there is no room to advance. Vile and disgusting place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Midlothian TnpkSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: pto (paid time off)
Cons: cleaning up after other employees and doing their job.
It was a pleasant experience, I learned a lot about animals and animal products. I received much needed training to help inform customers and take care of the animals in the proper way. Most of my co-workers were wonderful and they were a pleasure to work with. I got to participate in grooming, dog training and adoptions all the time which I wouldn't – more... have had the chance otherwise in that short amount of time. The hardest part of the job was working with one other person on a busy day/night and keeping everything with the animals, customers and store running as smoothly as possible. I enjoyed meeting the customers and their pets, talking with them and finding the best possible purchase for their needs resulting in many returning customers even if my store was further from another, they valued my input, service and knowledge and I know I can achieve that elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with animals
groomer (Former Employee), Lansdowne, MDSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: working with people and animals
Cons: working weekends and holidays
I loved working at petco but needed a job with more opportunity for advancement and a more stable income.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Cashier (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: discount on things
Cons: not enough work hours
the job showed me how to use a cash register and customer service and learned about animals they also used me to move heavy things for them.i got to met cool people and see new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More likely to hire outside,than promote within
Customer Advisor/Dog trainer/Management trainee (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: animals
Cons: advancement opportunity is nil
I am an independent worker, as such when I am on duty, I don't require a great deal of supervision. If I see something needs to be done, then I do it, no one needs to tell me to do so. Also because I have been with the company for a decade, they trust me to handle management functions for other employee's. The management staff spends a great deal of – more... their time in the office, with the exception of the merchandising manager. I float between backup cashier, to customer service to basic store functions to keep things stocked and running smoothly. The best part of the job, are the animals the customers bring in, they tend to be very happy to see anyone, especially if you have treat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petco
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Walnut Park, CAAugust 28, 2014
I loved working at Petco. Everybody was really nice and helpful. I was able to learn a lot about Animals. The hardest part of my job was having to clean the small animal habitats in small amount of time. I enjoyed helping the customers and working with all my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petco was a very fun job. I really enjoyed working there.
Assistant Buyer (Former Employee), San Diego CAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: we got to bring our animals into the office
Cons: alot of meetings
Responsibilities included: Processing and managing orders nationwide. Created all specials for stores; negotiating with Vendor on sales pricing on special . New Store set ups – managed all plan o grams (POGs) for the Departments of Companion Animal, Reptile, Fish and Birds. Vendor contracts – creation and kept updated. Working with A/P on open PO’s, – more... cost variances. Work with Vendor compliance on deleted PO’s and open PO’s. Weekly, monthly, and yearly Sales Reports. Handled customer service for the field, vendors and stores. When supervisor is out, handled all contacts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, bad management
Assist "pet parents (Current Employee), Culver City, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: discounts.
Cons: short breaks. low staff.
Petco is such a fun place to work at. There are always animals that visit on the daily, the environment is nice and the coworkers are friends. Management at Petco is really bad though. Hours are terrible and the managers "favorite" certain people. I always do the closing shift and they never praise our work but rather complain and expect more. They – more... are violating many things that could lead into problems with corporate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, fun atmosphere with enthusiasm and teamwork.
Pet Stylist (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: once a month the grooming salon employees were allowed to bring their dogs in for a free bath.
Cons: understaffed grooming salon.
A typical day at work would include, checking in customer's pets to be bathed or groomed, going through the daily cleaning checklist, working together with coworkers to maintain a clean and efficient salon and making sure every customer left satisfied. I learned a lot about teamwork and team leadership, the grooming salon manager was very nice to work – more... with, she was very professional and structured. Most of my salon coworkers were very fun to work with, I made friends with everyone on the team. I enjoyed every part of that job, I love working with animals and I thoroughly enjoyed working in the grooming salon at Petco. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Scheduling For School
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Palm Desert, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: worked with my schedule
Cons: meal violations, lack in coverage
Learned the core of my management and leadership skills with Petco. Work days could become rather routine. Co-workers seemed like family. Manager was very helpful until I was in need of a transfer for school; I was dropped off the schedule after being told to train my replacement. Hardest part of the job was not having them support me more in my desire – more... for furthering my education and relocating, even given more than 6 months notice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company with bad managers
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee), anonymousAugust 23, 2014
Pros: you work with great people and the pets
Cons: no appreciation for the work done, company is on a million different tangents and directives- impossible to do one or two great
This could be a really great company. Who doesn't love pets?
But, everything about this company is "knee-jerk". No consistency with execution of company directives or programs. The rule is when new training or productivity programs roll-out, expect to have issues with it for the first few weeks... usually they are not vetted before roll-out and problems – more... abound in the implementation. This makes the manager's jobs incredibly difficult.
They may have a great company motto, theme, brand image statement, but saying it is not the same as DOING IT.
Staffing/payroll is horrible. Honestly too many managers, and not enough employees to ensure customer engagement and tasks can be completed in a reasonable time. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About PETCO

Petco… where the healthy pets go Petco is a leading pet specialty retailer that provides the products, services and – Read more