Find companies:
PETCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
656 reviews

PETCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and faced paced
General Manager (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits and great pay
Cons: trustworthyness
Monitoring animals health
Customer service and interacting with customers
Enjoyable part of my day is helping others get their new pet for their home
Great benefits and great pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with animals
Pet Stylist Apprentice/Animal Handler (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYJuly 9, 2014
If you don't love working with animals then this job is not for you. A typical work day is grooming, bathing, cutting nails, and cleaning ears. Also making sure the customer is happy with the overall haircut. Management does help out especially the grooming salon manager because if a customer is unsatisfied the grooming salon manager will take over – more... to accommodate the customer. Hardest part of the job is explaining to customers we cannot groom their dog because it is too aggressive. Most enjoyable part is being surrounded with animals and love your job everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Lead Associate (Former Employee), Plaistow, NHJuly 8, 2014
was a great first job all those years ago, was animal care specialist and lead associate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for animal lovers
Department Manager (Current Employee), Minot, NDJuly 8, 2014
Working with the public and those who love being good pet parents is a definite plus. Gratification from customers is common when you help them resolve problems with their pets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of PETCO
Animal Specialist and Canine Education Instructor (Former Employee), Allen Park, MIJuly 6, 2014
I loved this job. Every day was different. I worked as and animal specialist and was a a Canine Education instructor. As an animal specialist I was in charge of taking care of pets on the sales floor until they found there forever home as well as taking care of sick pets that were off the sales floor and taking animals to vet visits. I would pair up – more... the future pet parent with the right pet for them and insure they knew the proper care of the pet they were buying. As well as daily and weekly cleaning of the animal cages, along with daily feedings and socialization. As a Canine Education Instructor. I taught weekly classes to help pet parents learn obedience for their dogs that they could take home with them. The classes were 6 to 8 weeks long and had a variety of dog breeds and pet parents and was great for socializing of the dogs as well as the pet parents. The main method of training I used was the "lure and reward" method. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
companion animal specialist (Former Employee), Saint Peters, MOJuly 5, 2014
Pros: rewarding feeling from work
Cons: certain managers were lazy. refusing sales to certain customers could be stressful.
Typically this is a low stress job, low customer volume and good staffing aloud more than enough time to complete all assigned tasks and allowed plenty of one on one time to help customer with any questions. The job also came with a rewarding feeling of helping people and animals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for what it is
Cashier (Former Employee), Kirkwood, MOJuly 3, 2014
Pros: pets and pet stuff!
Cons: boring, often harder work than is compensated for
I loved my job there, the environment and work to be done was very comfortable. My coworkers were great to work with. The job was a bit monotonous and didn't leave room for personal enhancement. Good place to work compared to similar positions in similar companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer service/sales associate (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 3, 2014
Pros: room for advancement
Cons: benefits
We were a team. I enjoyed working with animals. I love reptiles most. I was able to train in other areas which made work more interesting. I cashiered, but i was also a sales associate in aquatics, reptiles, small animals and birds. It was great. on weekends we cut loose and cleaned the habitats.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the work and dedication to pets
Groomer Assisstant (Former Employee), San Juan, PRJuly 2, 2014
love the way they think and love pets and like top help them, with the events and founds and natural foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open and closing the store,store mangemant, daily payroll, stock and ordering of good
Inventory Manager/Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Buford, GAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: overall easy place to work
Cons: travel time to work
Over all a fun and easy place to work. working with pets and all types of animals. learning new things every day. talking and getting to know my customers on a personal level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for animals
Cashier (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: animals
Cons: store manager
The most enjoyable park of my work experience at Petco was the customers. I enjoy talking, meeting and helping new people. A typical work day was beginning shift, usually stocking the front as far as I could see the register, assisting customers as much as possible, answering the phone and checking out customers. The hardest part of my job was seeing – more... all the animals that were waiting to be adopted. My co-workers were friendly and always happy to help customers and co-workers. The store manager was the most difficult but the Assistant Manager as well as the key holders were awesome! I learned a lot about different species of animals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun first job
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Current Employee), Bensalem, PAJuly 2, 2014
Working at petco you learn what its like to work in retail. it has its ups and downs but it was a fun company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed paced days customer service
Companion Animal Manager (Former Employee), Missouri City, TXJune 30, 2014
Pros: working with animals and the public
Cons: wages and the public
Assisting customers and making sure any changes to the store are properly executed according to company policy while making sure the animals received the appropriate care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Westerville, OHJune 30, 2014
People stick around in this job even though there is no hope for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funplace to work with no career advancement opritunities
Pet Department Manager (Former Employee), Boca raton, flJune 30, 2014
Pros: great discounts on animal supplys, gaining knowledge through vendors
Cons: lack of management training, lack of focus, lack of career goals and wants.
Typical day at work would be putting stock away.

I advanced my knowledge about salt water fish through customers and staff.

Management was difficult to work with having 4 managers, issues with hierarchy.

Co-workers were very unprofessional and there was no work disciplinary actions.

most enjoyable part was assisting customers with their animal needs – more... and helping educate on animal care and nutrition as well as developing my skills through self taught methods of merchandising and product knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
animal friendly work place
inventory and pricing manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 30, 2014
great learning experience. loved working with the animals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place get to interact with all kinds of animals
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJune 29, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: low pay
You get to interact closely with all kinds of animals and their owners. Its a great feeling to care for them and see them find happy homes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful starting job
Merchandising Product Team (Current Employee), StillwaterJune 28, 2014
Pros: wonderful experience and people
Cons: low pay, inconsistent schedule/hours
The job was rather average to a retail style job. The management with the store was wonderful and very helpful while attending college. Working around your schedule and making modifications if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Dog trainer (Former Employee), Saugus, CAJune 28, 2014
trained dogs and sold dog classes, cashier, stocked shelves, helped customers, helped out in other departments when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my Co workers
DOG TRAINER (Former Employee), Oceanside, CaJune 26, 2014
I loved certain parts of my petco experience but at the time working there my kids where at a younger age, and my work hours weren't able to match my ones needed at home.

1 2 3 4 5

About PETCO

PETCO Animal Supplies is a holding company for PETCO Animal Supplies Stores, the second-largest US retailer of specialty pet supplies – Read more