Find companies:
PETCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
583 reviews

PETCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to do Volunteer hours
Recreational Volunteer Community Service (Former Employee), 1009 E. Commercial BLVD, Oakland park, FL 33334March 22, 2014
Pros: taking care of the animals
Was able to get good experience in voluntarily donating puppy's and kittens to help them find a new home. I learned keeping my surroundings including work spaces clean as well as to clean after the animals in changing their bedding. i was able to greet customers and some of their pets too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caring pet store
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Greenfield, WIMarch 21, 2014
Pros: discount at the store
Cons: not a steady schedual
theres alot more to working at a pet store than you might think
friendly people work there
usually the coustomers are easy to deal with.
you learn about small animal care
the pay is low and hours are typical retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
AQUATICS SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Tucson, AZMarch 20, 2014
Great, lots of fun. really enjoyed working here.loved my managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Aquatic Specialist (Current Employee), Miami, FLMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great customer service
Cons: healthcare
my day did not go so well, customers are very rude and we still manage to give a great customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please contact for details
Manager, Dog & Cat (Current Employee), 07447March 19, 2014
Pros: making a difference in the lives of others
Petco® is a leader in pet supplies and pet care. As a manager of the dog and cat department, responsible for budgeted sales goals, gross margins, merchandise shrink targets & managing inventory levels. Responsible for driving sales, ensures that the store is opened or closed in accordance with established policies and procedures. Responsible for all – more... store functions to include daily financial reconciliations of registers, safe and bank drops

 Manages a staff of 8; coaches sales associates in providing great customer service and in performing their assigned task with the objective of achieving budgeted sales. Daily huddling, Provides talk track, qualifying questions and clearly defines goals of the day. Average weekly store sales in excess of $40,000
 Builds lasting long term relationships by putting the customer first. Excel’s at consultative and cross selling techniques, raised customer average spend from $29.50 to $31.50 with an average of 300 clients a day
 Functions as the voice of the customer. Ensures highest level of customer satisfaction and expectation. Responsible for reporting store incidents, immediate remedy of customer complains and tracking of customer surveys. Within last 6 months, measured results by third party show a 30% increase in customer satisfaction in our store. Company expectation was a 10% lift.
 Performs weekly inventory audits and store ordering. Current inventory grading of 100% Achieved by ensuring all 220 key items within the store are in stock and no outages occur.
 Maintains certification in all pet nutrition. Consults clients on best options based on individual needs, to include pet age, activity levels and food allergies – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take your dog to work
Contract Retail Recruiter (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 17, 2014
Great people, great place...I would go back if they were hiring full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started from the bottom and made it to the top.
GENERAL MANAGER (Current Employee), Collierville, TNMarch 17, 2014
I love Petco as a company because of the people. I couldn't have asked for a better boss each time I progressed in my career. I started as a part time cashier and am now a General Manager. This was also my first job ever in life and I have been there for ten years. All you have to do is WANT to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to play with pets
front end manager, petco (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 16, 2014
open or close the store, paperwork, count registers, manage employees, assisting with exchanges and returns, cleaning around the store, setup, answering the phone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love the animals
Pet Expert and Sales Representative (Former Employee), montgomery, alMarch 12, 2014
coworkers are great and the management is even better. i love all the animals and enjoy taking care of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 12, 2014
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: short lunch
We work as a team.We meet new people everyday.That's not a bad company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in. Loved working with animals .
Petcare specialist/ Cashier (Former Employee), Corpus ChristiMarch 12, 2014
I started at a new store with all new employees that had never worked for the company. Everyone was very easy to work with, we setup planograms and stocked every item together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hardworking cleaning and directing ext..
Cleaning assisting (Former Employee), Altamonte springsMarch 11, 2014
Pros: good breaks and lunch
A typical day would be to go on the catwalk and clean all the poles, lights, and walls. I had to make sure everything was clean and no dust was found. A inspection was to come in a week so time was crucial! My experience taught me a-lot! I learned many work skills such as communication, Directing, and advising. The management was well kept everyone – more... had to be on task at a certain pace or we would never finish the job in time. My co-workers were hardworking, they enjoyed each others company and learning day by day. The hardest part was stocking in furniture! There were so many and just cleaning the V.I.P rooms too! Though the most enjoyable part was meeting new friendly workers and asking about there experience on their job and how long they have been working in it too! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Sales Associate/Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), Feasterville, PAMarch 7, 2014
I loved working with the animals and taking care of them. The people were friendly and a good enviornment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work especially if you love pets
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee), Chula Vista, CAMarch 6, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, see pets often, reasonable hours, training provided
Cons: short-staffed, physically demanding, open most holidays
A typical day at work includes being on time for your shift, then checking with the manager on duty for the daily focus. Your co-workers will usually be easy to get along with and easy going. Scheduling has been flexible when I need it for schooling, and often times other stores need help so you can pick up extra shifts as well. Management is generally – more... as you would expect them to be, the goals and expectations corporate wants will be passed down to you, such as with donation drives and pushing certain products. The hardest part of the job comes with what you would expect in retail in general, when difficult customers want more from you than you can give, and being short-staffed during busy days. For the most part, it is a great company to work for whether you are just looking for a job to make money while you are in school, or you are looking for a company with advancement opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Intern (Former Employee), Irvine,CaMarch 5, 2014
Gather carts, assist costumers, stock shelves, maintain clean work area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
petco
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLMarch 3, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: i felt unmotivated
I worked for PETCO for about two years. I would come in mostly in the evenings and be cashiering. I would also recover the store. I Provide customer service as well as greeting the customers who came in. I enjoyed working with my co- workers . There really wasn't anything that was hard about my job. I love seeing the cats get adopted and seeing the – more... different animals that came into the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place!
Student Worker (Former Employee), Menifee, CAMarch 2, 2014
Pros: seeing animals, fun coworkers, loved the duties i had
Cons: stocking the bigger items
A typical day at work involved going around the store and cleaning up (ex. cleaning the fish tanks) and organizing the isles (front of facing). stocking different items. Helping customers with questions or showing them where things are. I learned a lot about stocking and cleaning and how to help customers in that particular store. My co workers we great, – more... very nice and fun and helped me a lot while I worked there. The hardest part was stocking some bigger items, but I managed. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the animals everyday and helping the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'ts been a good first job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Castro Valley, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: it's a positive work invironment
Cons: i've been there a long time, college is over and would like to progress in my career.
Pet co has been a good place to work while I get through college. The hours have been flexiable, the other associates and customers have been good to work with. The animals always keep us on our toes too. Although we typically do the same tasks on a weekly basis there is typically some small factor which gives the task some variety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable to come to work
Manager (Former Employee), West Jordan, UTFebruary 27, 2014
overseeing pricing and stock control,maximising profitability and meeting sales targets,preparing promotional materials and displays.
recruiting, training, supervising and appraising staff,dealing with customer queries and complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment involving animal care and handling.
Dog Trainer, Customer Advisor and Sales Expert (Current Employee), Shoreline, WAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: animal interaction, lots of learning oppurtuninities
Cons: short breaks, lots of micro managers.
A typical day at work involves scheduling dog classes, selling dog classes. costumer service. I answer many questions that my customers have on any of the pets that they have. I need to be well informed on any animal that may come into the store not just dogs. I also teach dog training classes. When doing this I must stay on schedule to make sure each – more... dog is learning what is on the curriculum. I must also make sure each pet parent is also getting any addition help with personal pet problem that my not be on the curriculum.

I also have to communicate my schedule with all of my managers, and make sure my classes that I do schedule don't interfere with any other store schedules. I communicate with all of my co-workers to make sure they are on point with helping me sell dog classes, making sure that they have all the information they need to sell to any customer that may come in.

The hardest part of the job is scheduling. I not only have to schedule the best times for the customers but also for my managers and the staffing available at the time. I have to deal with many personalities and many schedules to get my job done.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to see my students learn and grow! I get to see the joy on pet parents faces as they see their puppy become the dog they want to be. each day I see a pet parent be proud of the accomplishments of their dog, and I helped that happen. Nothing beats that! – less

About PETCO

PETCO Animal Supplies is a holding company for PETCO Animal Supplies Stores, the second-largest US retailer of specialty pet supplies – Read more