Find companies:
PETCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
808 reviews

PETCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), USANovember 9, 2014
Pros: great team work, care about animals, great atmosphere, good pay for retail, didn't feel like work
Cons: retail, corporate, customers not putting things back, customers that listen to your advice
I loved working here, and I would gladly return if need be. Great atmosphere, great coworkers, and great care of animals!! All around a great place to be in general!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best part- time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lake Forest, CANovember 8, 2014
Pros: learned a lot and management and pay was good
Cons: resolution to problems= not so great
I loved working here. It was the best!! great groups of animals to work with and learn about
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work.
Grooming Assistant (Current Employee), Greeley, CONovember 7, 2014
Pros: awesome environment, great people, nice animals, always learning.
Cons: closing by yourself 75% of the time.
I love working at petco, I have learned so much about team work and animals. And I continue to learn on a daily basis. The management system is pretty good, and the co-workers are awesome. The hardest part would have to be the stubborn dogs that are hard to handle by yourself, but thats why its awesome that you're not the only one there! Building relationships – more... with the dogs is probably the best part in my opinion! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Groomer's Assistant (Former Employee), Glen Cove, NYNovember 7, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: poor training, not enough pay
This company is a fun place to work but the training (especially involving the handling and care of the animals) is not what it should be. I worked in the grooming salon having had no prior experience and basically had to learn on my own through trial and error. The groomer that I worked with was abusive towards some of the animals. Our store manager – more... was was very knowledgeable and helpful and people were quite friendly. I enjoyed dealing with different dogs, it made my short time there fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Andover, MANovember 6, 2014
A typical day at work would be meeting and greeting customers, facing products forward, making the workplace look presentable. I have learned how to be in a very busy work place. Management was fine, the managers were friendly. My co-workers were nice and they like they're job. The hardest part of the job was being the only cashier in the front and – more... having over five customers waiting in line. I enjoyed meeting new people and seeing the same faces come in, happy to see me as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petco
Cashier/Sales Associate/Dog Trainer (Current Employee), Wytheville, VANovember 6, 2014
I love working at Petco, it is such a fun enriching job where you learn and teach so much to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animal Friendly place
Pet Stylist (Former Employee), Lake Geneva, WINovember 5, 2014
Pros: enjoyed working with pets
Cons: lousy lunch room, dishonest coworkers
Answering phons, helping customers, working with new pets every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love pets, this is your place.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Aguadilla, PRNovember 4, 2014
Fun place to work where you can interact with different kinds of pets. Help pet parents to find the right solutions for their pets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing special
Cashier (Former Employee), Vacaville, CANovember 2, 2014
Nothing too hard or out of the ordinary. Customers were mostly pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with room for growth.
dog trainer (Former Employee), Pearland, TXOctober 30, 2014
Pros: support for my positon as trainer.
Cons: working on holidays.
Most of my time spent working with clients and training dogs. Learned how to use cash register and front and face store. They had expanded dog training curriculum and management style was easy to work with. Of course the easiest part of the job was working with the clients and the hardest was working on holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Saint Paul, mnOctober 29, 2014
not a good company, district managers have no idea what they are doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Customer Advisor (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: great customer service
Fun workplace, very customer friendly. Middle management is effective.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place For Your Pet
Product Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee), West Babylon, NYOctober 28, 2014
Pros: lots of friends, great pay, lots of hours, animal interaction
Cons: short breaks, heavy product
What can i say, once you enter the store you're greeted by an employee and already feel at home, the best part however is when you work there, you have the pleasure of being open and saying hi to everyone. A day at petco is like a day at the park, everyones always having fun and very polite, the customers are always shopping for there pets and you learn – more... lots by assisting them. Your co workers and managers are there to help you, assist you and teach you all the more, making your job alot easier and a wonderful place to work in. The hardest part of the job is finding enough time to learn all the things you need to about all the animals in the store, but the most enjoyable part is watching the customer leave with a smile everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal cashier experiences
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 28, 2014
recognized, prices and store merchandise.
handled all the complaints from customers with sensitivity.
assisted other colleagues in all cash register responsibilities including balancing, handling customer purchases, and organizing cash register.
handled ordering checked deliveries and restocked shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee), Appleton, WIOctober 24, 2014
Pros: animals, great people, learning experience, oppertunity to grow
Cons: not enough hours
At PetCo the most enjoyable part of the job was the great customers and their pets, they were friendly and always asked for advice on animal care and other things they needed to know about their pets. If I ever needed help with anything o, or a second opinion on anything, my coworkers were glad to help. the management was also great they did everything – more... in their power to make sure that PetCo was a fun and enjoyable place to be and work. I learned a lot about animal care and many other things about animals while working here. This is defiantly a job I would like to work at again if the opportunity came up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement, overworked
Grooming Assistant (Former Employee), National City, CAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: 20% employee discount
Cons: hostile work environment
was made to work through breaks frequently, forced to sneak extra services into salon prices even if dog didn't need them. If we refused, we were threatened with losing our job or getting a write up. Opportunities were denied for promotions. Most coworkers were really nice. Hundreds of pounds of dog and cat food are purposely thrown in the garbage because – more... manager refuses to donate the food to any rescues, ripped bags, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High traffic, never stop learning
Dog and Cat Department Manager (Former Employee), Orange, CAOctober 22, 2014
Able to delegate tasks to teams in order to provide great customer service. Learned to multi-task and still abel to achieve end goal of high sales. Provide educational service to all customers in order to ensure that customers are providing all basic needs to their pets.
Hardest part of the job is trying to fit in all you need to do and wish to in one – more... day, had to learn to be able to assign priorities. The most enjoyable part of my job was able to interact not only with customers but also the pets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An "Okay" Pet Store
Cashier (Former Employee), Hartsdale, NYOctober 22, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of working at a cash register and maintaining the sales floor. I learned how to process materials and how to care for a few domesticated animals. Management wasn't very organized and almost always difficulties formulating the work schedules for the employees. The hardest part of the job was fulfilling customer requests – more... when the work team didn't work together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not informative about hours and job description
Sales Associate/Dog Trainer (Current Employee), SeattleOctober 20, 2014
Not what I expected. I was also expecting to be hired fulltime as per my request in interview, but they put me at parttime and never told me until I complained about my hrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoy place to work with animals
Customer Service (Former Employee), Hickory, NCOctober 19, 2014
Pros: working with animals
Cons: cleaning up after people's pets that are brought in.
The customers are great to work with. Each day is its own adventure
working with the animals. Management is very easy going and friendly.

About PETCO

Petco… where the healthy pets go Petco is a leading pet specialty retailer that provides the products, services and – Read more