Find companies:
PETCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
788 reviews

PETCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Petco Inventory Manager / Department Manager (Former Employee), CASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: odd hours
A typical day
.clock in
.take care of the registers, count the money.
.communicate to all associates on their daily duties
.feed all animals in the store.
.I would open the store.
.maintain great customer service
.make sure all shelves are properly stocked
.communicate to truck drive for delivery times.

The Management team was very helpful and very – more... pleasant to work with.

The associates all respected me.

The hardest part was keeping all the animals clean.

The most enjoyable part about my job was selling products to happy pet parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people, never not doing something. Time flies by when you're having fun.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cookeville, TNSeptember 24, 2014
Money transactions in a timely manner, setting up displays, stocking shelves, addressing customer questions and needs. I learned what certain pets needs were and what to do when they became sick, selling points on foods and learning on what to point out. I loved the people I worked with, there was never a dull moment. Dealing with the angry people when – more... they get angry with you for something that is out of your hands, calm manner, smile on your face, and make sure they leave with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
ASST. GROOMER (Former Employee), Carmel, INSeptember 23, 2014
Had a great team of co workers to work with. Enviroment was friendly and productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boss to boss management
Aquatic Specialist (Former Employee), Culver City, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: bad management, hours cut without notice, overtime work without compensation
The company was ok with their first boss that worked there when I arrived, she was a hard working, well organized manager. But when she quit to take on a better job, the new boss was terrible at managing the company, managing employees times, and understanding the duties of each employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, some good people, overall a bad job.
Dog Bather (Former Employee), Mesa, AZSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: decent discounts, worked around animals
Cons: terrible management.
Management played favorites all the time. I was told I would be a groomer and go to grooming school when I was hired, but they told me that I had to do 30 days as a bather to "learn the Petco Way."
During my training which should have only taken a week, the store manager was gone on vacation, she didn't set up any of the computer training I had to do – more... and the assistant managers didn't really know, so a process that should have taken a few days took nearly 2 weeks.

After finally making it into the grooming salon, there was no grooming manager at all, and a full time groomer did all the grooming salon manager jobs (filling out paperwork, more difficult grooms, educating newbies, making schedules for everyone) and she was NEVER promoted. She had been doing the manager job for 4 months from what she said, and she NEVER got promoted or paid for her work. She left the company shortly after because she was sick of being lied to.

My 30 days came and went, and I was still in the bathing position. I was told this time that I had to make better sales numbers than all of the other bathers in order to go to grooming school. My co-worker used this opportunity to create a toxic environment where she would lie to the manager to get me in trouble, tell me things were ok to do that weren't (the manager ALWAYS told us each salon does things differently, and to just do what everyone else did. Doesn't work well when someone lies and you get in trouble because you're "supposed to know") and only did this because she was more desperate for the position. I was told the manager would deal with it, and instead I continued getting in trouble. As if the bathers fighting wasn't enough, the groomers were put in the same position. Two were hired, both promised grooming salon manager position, then both were told to fight it out. The toxicity created by the store manager made the grooming salon a very hate-filled room where everyone wanted something they were promised, and took their anger out on the other people instead of the manager.

Inside the store itself was ok. There was always a lot of work to do, the workers in the store weren't bad and were mostly polite. The managers were a bit critical, and it was often that the priority wasn't customers, but getting the huge amounts of work done. They were understaffed because the revenue in the store wasn't enough for more workers. So, in order to get the extra help we desperately needed, the store manager told us we had to do 150% so they would give us more hours to dish out. They expected the impossible and blamed us when it didn't happen.

Overall, the store manager was a horrible person, engaged to a corporate person and her cushy job was stable, she refused to do paperwork (like moving a groomer up to salon manager, or send a bather to grooming school) and spent more of her time making jokes and promising promotions to everyone then telling them to fight for them.
Never, ever, ever again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company expects too much out of their associates
Sales Associate (Current Employee), ConnecticutSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, easy to request time off, good college job.
Cons: low pay, company expects a lot out of their associates, stressful
If you're looking for a career, this company is not where you should look for work. There is very little opportunity for growth. Some stores are better to work for than others and the culture varies between stores. Pay is low, hours are long, and breaks are short. Cashiers are expected to multitask at the registers while at the same time provide excellent – more... customer service and please everyone. Cashiers are responsible for answering phone calls, rerouting calls, helping customers find products around the register areas, fronting and facing the isles around the register area (which can be a little far), greeting all customers as they walk through the door, while all at the the same time trying not to make a mistake while ringing out customers. It can be overwhelming at times and stressful. The company also expects their associates to be knowledgeable about all types of animals in the store and how to properly care for them with the products that are offered, be animal nutritionists and explain to customers benefits of one type of food over the other and between brands that are best for their type of animal or breed of dog, all for a whopping $9 an hour to start with no benefits. You might get a 25 cent raise each year if you perform above and beyond every day but the average raise is 10 or 15 cents a year. The training process is a joke, the only way to learn is to mess up, or ask someone who might know what to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss it!
Grooming Assistant (Former Employee), Henry AveSeptember 19, 2014
Loved working here and I wish I didn't have to leave. Great atmosphere. Everyone is willing to help and teach. Great Co-workers and managers. The best part was working with the animals and seeing the customers reaction to them when I was done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero guidance
Merchandise Planner (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 17, 2014
Frequent wild goose chases only for the direction to change the night before. Managers don't push back to upper management in hopes to spare the worker bees extra work. More added on to plate, nothing ever taken off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy- going
Bather (Former Employee), Heber City, UTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: didn't feel rushed, fun work environment
There's no doubt that I enjoyed working for petco more than I do petsmart. Petco was more laid back and fun. The management and coworkers were nice and fun to be around! They always helped me when i needed it and it felt like a real team effort. I felt more comfortable and welcome there. The most enjoyable part was being able to laugh and joke with – more... the coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Van Nuys, CASeptember 12, 2014
I have no complaints with petco or my former coworker i think they were all respectful and nice and they treated me well. I had some days that were harder than others but i was nothing i couldn't handle. i had a very pleasant experience at petco and I'm very glad they gave me a opportunity to volunteer there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with some quirks.
Cashier (Former Employee), Tigard, ORSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers, easy going environment.
Cons: slightly disorganized
A typical day of work would consist of me coming into the store, punching in, and either stocking the store or taking the cash register. I learned a a lot of things about animal nutrition and cashiering. Although this wasn't the managements fault the companies computer program always seemed pretty disorganized and it seemed there was always a problem – more... stemming from the computer. My coworkers were very friendly along with management and helped me to learn every step of the way. The hardest, but most rewarding part of the job, was helping customers with their unique requests. When someone comes to you with a strange problem and you think outside of the box to help them, it feels good. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking with people at the cash register, as we were encouraged to do. Unfortunately I did not work out there. I was hired as a dog trainer though I applied as a cashier. I stuck with it long enough to check out their training program and was not impressed, nor did I have the time to commit too what they wanted. It's a shame because overall it was a pretty good company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service and knowledge of animals
Sales Associate and cashier (Former Employee), Mason City, IowaSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: working with animals, great staff
Cons: cashiering for long periods of time
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to converse with customers, and seeing what type of pets they were into, or what kind of pets they had. Every day was a different day, filled with various things to do, things such as cleaning habitats, interacting with the animals, adjusting shelves, and feeding the animals, along with helping each – more... customer with any needs they had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational environment
Cashier- Make (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: long lunches, good staff
Cons: short hours
The hours I received were minimal but the on job education was very resourceful. Management and co-workers were very easy to get along with and very helpful and clear with directions. The hardest part of the job was the lack of hours and the most enjoyable was getting to do all the animal care tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, Horrible, Horrible.
Inventory Manager (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: absolutely everything
I was there for three years, and in that three years we went through 8 general managers. The last general manager we had decided that instead of bringing a mouth to be euthanasia humanely, he just broke the mouse's neck. With my depression and anxiety there were always viscous comments to me about being "crazy" and on one occasion my GM told me that – more... the next time I tried to kill myself, he hoped that I would succeed. Personal issues aside, this is NOT a place to work if you love animals. The treatment of the animals is horrific. While I was there I always thought that at least when they were in my care they would be taken good care of, however, if I wasn't working the animals would not have been fed or given water. I'm not sure if all stores operate the same way, but the love of animals that I have, I just couldn't bring myself to continue to work in a place where the animals were always sick and dying. They say that they promote from in, however, this is completely false. I spoke to a few people from other stores and they confirmed that also. All in all, avoid this place like the plague. Pet smart is leaps and bounds better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed environment
Kelly Temp Serv (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 4, 2014
Provide quick and courteous service to all Petco customers by determining their needs and sharing product knowledge to suggest the appropriate merchandise to satisfy them, and by effectively employing suggestive selling techniques to increase individual sales. Complete cash register transactions as well as customer carry-out service consisting of merchandise. – more... Assist in the loading, unloading and stocking of merchandise according to established procedures in order to ensure that the store is well stocked and that inventory counts are accurate. Ensure that store animals, birds, reptiles and fish receive the highest quality care, are maintained in habitats that are clean, safe and secure and that all reasonable and required steps are taken to maintain their good health. Perform routine housekeeping tasks as required to maintain the professional image and appearance of the store like sweeping/mopping the floors, dusting, washing the windows, facing the merchandise on the shelves. Assist store management in the opening/closing of the store as needed, to include the accurate completion of required paperwork. Participate in the completion of quarterly and annual physical inventory counts. Adhere to and promote established safety and loss prevention procedures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Jr. Pet Stylist (Former Employee), Katy, TxSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: however long you want lunch break
Cons: evil people
There is a lot of gossip in this place. Everyone talks bad about everyone behind their back but are nice to their face. The pay is terrible and there is no room to advance. Vile and disgusting place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Midlothian TnpkSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: pto (paid time off)
Cons: cleaning up after other employees and doing their job.
It was a pleasant experience, I learned a lot about animals and animal products. I received much needed training to help inform customers and take care of the animals in the proper way. Most of my co-workers were wonderful and they were a pleasure to work with. I got to participate in grooming, dog training and adoptions all the time which I wouldn't – more... have had the chance otherwise in that short amount of time. The hardest part of the job was working with one other person on a busy day/night and keeping everything with the animals, customers and store running as smoothly as possible. I enjoyed meeting the customers and their pets, talking with them and finding the best possible purchase for their needs resulting in many returning customers even if my store was further from another, they valued my input, service and knowledge and I know I can achieve that elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with animals
groomer (Former Employee), Lansdowne, MDSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: working with people and animals
Cons: working weekends and holidays
I loved working at petco but needed a job with more opportunity for advancement and a more stable income.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Cashier (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: discount on things
Cons: not enough work hours
the job showed me how to use a cash register and customer service and learned about animals they also used me to move heavy things for them.i got to met cool people and see new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More likely to hire outside,than promote within
Customer Advisor/Dog trainer/Management trainee (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: animals
Cons: advancement opportunity is nil
I am an independent worker, as such when I am on duty, I don't require a great deal of supervision. If I see something needs to be done, then I do it, no one needs to tell me to do so. Also because I have been with the company for a decade, they trust me to handle management functions for other employee's. The management staff spends a great deal of – more... their time in the office, with the exception of the merchandising manager. I float between backup cashier, to customer service to basic store functions to keep things stocked and running smoothly. The best part of the job, are the animals the customers bring in, they tend to be very happy to see anyone, especially if you have treat. – less

About PETCO

Petco… where the healthy pets go Petco is a leading pet specialty retailer that provides the products, services and – Read more