Find companies:
PETRA INDUSTRIES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

PETRA INDUSTRIES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities for Advancement & Care factor
Current Employee (Current Employee), Edmond, OklahomaMay 5, 2014
Pros: very casual enviroment.
I have seen multiple people over the last few years get promotions. Hard work and patience does pay off if you want a place to grow.

There has been a positive cultural shift in the last year and I believe the company is moving in very positive direction.

I have repeatedly seen people (from all levels) rise up and rally around employees that are going – more... through difficult times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!!
Current Employee (Current Employee), Edmond, OKApril 29, 2014
Pros: pay, hours, management, work life balance
The environment is pretty casual and easy going. Employees are very friendly and are always willing to help one another. I also enjoy our management team; they seem to really care about the employees and want them to succeed in every way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Current Employee (Current Employee), Edmond, OKApril 25, 2014
Pros: good hours, decent pay
It is a very casual work environment. I enjoy the easy-going atmosphere. The employees are all extremely friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sellig sunglasses
Distribution Center SKU Specialist (Former Employee), Edmond, OKApril 24, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, easy work, nice co-workers
Cons: work holidays and weekends
A day consist of cleaning sunglasses. arranging them in a visually appealing manner and helping customers find the right fit for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse
Order Processor-Quality Control (Former Employee), Edmond, OKApril 5, 2014
hands down the worst place to work. if I had my way I would never have worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, challenging, good vendor relations, but unfullfilling on compensation
Wireless Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Edmond OkMarch 11, 2014
Pros: free vendor lunches, free parking, free donuts on fridays, and customer relationships
Cons: management would find ways to pull compensation based off technicalities, or pull large accounts with large goals and still hold you accountable for those goals
I helped establish the new wireless department back in 2012 when vendors made new account requirement causing some shake ups in the industry. My daily routine included calling on scheduled customers that placed weekly orders, advising customers of items that were back in stock, and contacting existing customers to update them on new product lines that – more... showed success in the market place. I also was responsible for contacting vendor leads and prospecting new businesses and bring them on to purchase with Petra. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
A/P Inventory Clerk (Current Employee), Edmond, OKFebruary 25, 2014
Massive turn over, poor management and not very friendly employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales (Former Employee), EdmondAugust 13, 2013
Cons: everything
Horrible place to work! Bad Bad Management who don't have a clue. Sales people who have been there for years are lazy but get rewarded. They hate new employees and won't help out a new person. Terrible place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee
NON DISTRIBUTION EMPLOYEE (Former Employee), Edmond OKMay 6, 2013
Pros: good people & nice people
Cons: management - different than most
Turn over seems excessive, Yes there are very nice people there. The entrenched management run the business, if you not an agreeing person, your not kept long and ideas are not allowed to be shared unless its from management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No leadership
Sales (Former Employee), Edmond, OKApril 27, 2013
Pros: giving my 2 wees notice
Cons: management
They lied to me during the interview. They said I would have 200 establish accounts that had an average of $8,000 in sales, that I would have no problem booking $32,000 per day. The day I started my manager said we changed some things.... I had 2 accounts that we averaging $300 every 3 days in sales. I was given a cold call list with over 1,000 numbers – more... that had been recycled. They were disconnect, or tried of someone from Petra calling them. When you get a large account the management did everything they could to kill the deal, from making the new customer pay up front, to delaying delivery, giving the pre paid order to another customer that had been buying from them longer. They lied about
ow much commission you can earn, and about their sad health insurance, the longer you are there the less you any, its the new employees that pays 1/2 of your check for health care!!!
The most enjoyable day was the day I gave my 2 weeks notice. – less

May 6, 2013

I was also told that there was an ton of established accounts and when i started contacting them from this list that was given to me, many were disconnected or hadn't heard from us in years. Plus many of the larger accounts were taken away from me right away. They could have left some meat on the bone for me!!! I know exactly who you are referring to as the manager. He's worthless. I can't believe that they would allow someone like that to work there. I feel bad for the CEO because he's such a nice guy and has no idea what these people are doing to his business.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy vibrant growing company
Accounting (Current Employee), Edmond, OKMarch 30, 2013
Pros: great work atmosphere, honest and caring management
Cons: expensive benefits, wages at the lower end of the market.
This company has honest and caring management. The work place is fairly relaxed and easy going. Expect to have plenty to do and always be busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, great employees
Sales (Former Employee), OkMarch 26, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance
Cons: very poor management.
I loved my job at Petra. I couldn't stand the poor management or should I say lack of management. The sales director is a joke. He thinks that he is a drill sergeant. He's more like a hand puppet and the VP/ President of the company has his hand in him telling him what to do. On multiple occasions I've seen him come out of his office and start yelling – more... at his whole sales staff (while they are on the phone with customers) telling them that they need to sell more. This person needs some serious management training. It's like he's trying to compensate for something missing in his life. I would also love to see the president of the company make a decision or talk to his employees about things rather than hide behind his desk and send crypted emails. If you have something on your mind, talk to me about it. Don't send some idiot to talk to me. The founder of the company is great. I hope these people don't destroy what he has built because he is a very nice person.

Benefits are a joke as well. They pay next to nothing towards them so the employee has half their paycheck go towards medical coverage.

Don't get too attached to working here because they will find a way to get rid of you. Even if you do everything they ask and perform well.

If I had to do it all over again, I would stay far away from this employer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it!!!!
Truck loader (Former Employee), Edmond OklahomaFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: you get doughnuts every friday lol
Cons: don't be even a minute late they are quick to write you up
If your thinking about this job please don't do it! The employees are great but the supervisors are horribleee! Worst thing about working there by far, plus there's other warehouses that's so much better than Petra where you will get wayy better pay and treated way bettrr
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work...
Receiving (Former Employee), Edmond, OKJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: they would occasionally buy us pizza when we had to work late
Cons: awful human resources, irradic and unreliable hours, gossip, poor wages
I was hired full time (not temporary) for receiving at the Blastrac building. I worked there during the week. We came in early and worked til the work for the day was done. On the weekends, we were sent to the main Petra building during the weekends to work for the other manager to do HIS employees work (they had the weekends off). He had us work til – more... late in the evening. They worked us to the bone, it was ridiculous. No wonder they have such a high turnaround. I needed the job, so I kept my mouth shut. Eventually, they told me that they didn't need me at the Blastrac building anymore, and they were working hard to find another place for me. This went on for weeks. I kept calling and emailing and I was told the same thing, they were working on finding a spot for me. Obviously they were not, and were waiting for me to "quit" so they didn't have to fire me. I was unable to get unemployment because of this. Completely unprofessional and sleazy. Not to mention all of the gossip and inappropriate behavior that went on. The Human Resource department was a joke. Don't mess with this horrible company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Purchasing Assistant/Buyer (Former Employee), Edmond, OKNovember 23, 2012
A great place to work. You need to have good communication skills because you will have to communicate with vendors and different levels of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quality assurance
Manifest operator (Current Employee), Edmond, OKSeptember 2, 2012
assuring the quality of products before distributing to customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Team Lead (Former Employee), Edmond, OKAugust 7, 2012
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: big turn over in employees
A typical day would be if everything ran smooth and u got out of work on time. It doesnt matter where u work there is gonna be changes. I love changes. My supervisors was great, coworkers knew i mean business , as in dont be trying to cheat the system. Hardest part of the job was climbing ladders and carrrying down, 40 pound boxes. The most enjoyable – more... is when something had to get done,like a huge order, mangement, Office Personal and Owner would come help out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fear and intimidation is the culture of this company
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Edmond, OKApril 30, 2012
Pros: 9 to 5 hours
Cons: everything else
The only thing this company cares about is numbers, period. If you are in inside sales, don't get too comfortable. They fire people monthly if their sales are not satisfactory. And it's not hard to have a bad week when the hot items everyone wants are always on backorder because the purchasing department only orders a small amount at a time and they – more... keep increasing their prices, so people are of course going elsewhere. There is no training, no coaching, no support at all. The supervisors sit behind their desks all day sending out threatening emails to everyone who is below their goal. This is the most negative "corporate culture" I have ever witnessed. If you absolutely must take a job here, watch your back! – less

About PETRA INDUSTRIES

Petra Industries is one of the nation’s leading wholesale distributors of electronics and electronic accessories. With over – Read more

PETRA INDUSTRIES Photos