Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,289 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy
Pet Care Associate (Former Employee), Cedar Park, TXAugust 18, 2014
There was a big work load for the little amount of time given. I enjoyed working with the animals and helping the store gain credibility by higher ups. Management seemed all over the place and depended a lot on the associates. I had the opportunity to gain new skills and knowledge which is much appreciated. It was a fun environment and everyone was, – more... at times, very relaxed and easy going. You are never not doing anything. Every minute of the day is busy and if you think you're done, think again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dog Trainer (Former Employee), Willow Grove, PAAugust 18, 2014
Received a lot of hands on training as well as accredited training through the corporation. The compensation could've been better, but I did get a lot of clients in the door because it was publicly advertised. Worked at 3 different stores. Longest I worked for the company was one year straight (Oct '09 -Oct '10) at the Jacksonville, NC store. I left – more... the stores because of my husband's job relocating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
took care of lots of diffrent animals
Pet Care Attendant (Former Employee), East Hanover, NJAugust 18, 2014
i wold go in and check on the cats and dogs, then record the dogs intake and out put, feed them fresh food and water every 3 hours, then buff the hotel floors and clean the hotel windows, and in the morning i would clean the cats cage and give fresh food and water.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Inclusive Workplace
PetsHotel Pet Care Specialist (Current Employee), Yorba Linda, CAAugust 17, 2014
I have been working at Petsmart for 3 years and have enjoyed my time there. My coworkers are very nice and inclusive of others. The managers and assistant managers are very nice and are always there to help the lower-ranked associates. Everyone tries their best to be considerate and understanding with our customers and make their pet's stay a good one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Company, but lacks critical information
Petcare Specialist (Former Employee), Warminster, PAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: customers were very receptive of the information given
Cons: management outside of the department did not know how to properly take care of specialty animals.
A typical day at work would have me feeding, cleaning, and maintaining the specialty animals and providing customers with the proper information if they wanted to purchase them. I learned about some unique pieces of information in regards to certain animals and even taught others due to my background as a biology major at the time. Unfortunately management – more... outside of my department did not understand how much effort it took to maintain proper habitats for the animals and would often rush myself and other coworkers to leave a job half done, which would influence the animal's health negatively. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
pet product specialist (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 15, 2014
i enjoyed working around the animals and assiting customers with questions, mt day consisted of stocking shelves and assisting customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment with lots of fun animals
Pet Care Specialist (Former Employee), Grand Junction, COAugust 12, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers, fun animals, employee discount
Cons: short breaks, no organized scheduling
Typical day is getting there at 6 am before open at 9 am to prepare pet cages for cleaning and assuring that everything is stocked. Helping out customers if needed whether that be on cash register, or helping take things to their vehicles. Typical retail job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work & bring your pet
Creative Designer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 12, 2014
Pros: structure, gym, cafateria and daycare onsite
Cons: top heavy management
I loved working for PetSmart. Great people, great work and it was awesome looking forward to coming to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animal Lover
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Manchester, MOAugust 12, 2014
You got to love Animals
typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall quality of job is great!
Petcare Manager (Former Employee), macon gaAugust 12, 2014
Long hours for managers, work can start to take over life balance. Decent pay for associates and managers and great benefits package
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's everything I assumed.
Pet Products Manager (Current Employee), Dover, DEAugust 11, 2014
Pros: early bird time.
Cons: sometimes we are not given enough time to finish what is needed.
Easy job, great co-workers, with good pay.
I love the flow of my job, I handle all the trucks that come in each week. A lovely 2am shift, giving us great time to get products out and ready for customers usually by opening time. My crew is very positive and motivating. They move products fast with no complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 Years at Petsmart
Pet Care Specialist (Former Employee), Katy, TXAugust 11, 2014
Pros: animals, fun
Its not a bad job. Very enjoyable and you can learn a lot just by working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture for caring for the associates
Store Manager (Current Employee), Newport News, VAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: merchandise discounts
Cons: long hours
Upper Management are sneaky and find ways to get rid of store management teams
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place
Cashier/Floor Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAAugust 10, 2014
I would work back here in a heart beat.
I loved working directly with animals and I learned a lot working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for teenagers to get a start
Pet Care (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLAugust 9, 2014
Pros: fun seeing all the pets and helping pet parents
Cons: pay, management, profit at all costs environment
It's all about the bottom line. Everything is about pushing extra sales on customers who don't want it and making the shareholders as much money as possible while you get minimum wage even with years of experience. They have gotten so greedy they even cut out the music in the stores just to save a buck.
If you are young and starting out you could probably – more... go there for the experience but no bill paying adult can live on their wages even in the specialty areas. Employee moral is nonexistent and management is totally disconnected from reality so good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Stocker (Current Employee), Machesney Park, ILAugust 8, 2014
Its a really good job. the people are great. i'm usually out before the store opens. the only bad thing is waking up at 4am to go to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun and Entertaining Work Environment!
Pet Care Specialist (Current Employee), Slidell, LAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great energy and message generated in store to share with the community.
Cons: habitat designs hamper work efficiency
I was fortunate enough to be part of the opening crew of a brand new store in my town. The Crew we have is amazing, our management is fantastic, and we've got a brand new store to call our own. Primary responsibilities are taking care all of the animals in store and selling as many Puppy Kits and Moss Balls as you can. I work in the PetCare Department – more... which can be stressful at times but rewarding when you have down time with some of the critters in store. The Chameleons like to rest on my shoulder and we take a few trips around the store to finish opening duties which is pretty cool. (Playing with the Cats is awesome too!) While our in store management is fantastic, I just feel like whoever designs the stores has no idea what it's like to be a PetCare associate. Everything looks nice... until we go to use it. The designs of the Tank system, Cat Adoptions, and Small Animal Habitats are all aesthetically pleasing... functionality wise... very poor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet Stylist
Pet Stylist (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: healthcare, awesome staff
A typical day at work consists of engaging with pet owners in regards to instructions on how the owner wants their pet to be presented. Also, working with members of the staff as a team. In this company, I have learned time management, creative skills, how to further my experience with customers, and interpersonal skills. The hardest part of my job – more... is that it is extremely labor intensive. The most enjoyable part of my job is connecting with the pet owners as well as the pet. Also, with my creativity, I am able to show them my passionate and creative side through my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experiance with dedicated staff
seasonal dog bather (Former Employee), Tustin, CAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: very approachable and hands on managment
-Fast paced work with rewarding tasks
- Great, very friendly management
- Fantastic experience provided, training for future jobs
-pet friendly environment where co workers worked to please pets and pet parents very well
- great first time pet care position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the animals
Pet Stylist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 6, 2014
Most enjoyable part of my job is being able to connect with the pets one on one.

1 2 3 4 5

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a specialty provider of products, services and solutions for the lifetime needs of pets. The Company has identified – Read more