Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,475 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, lots of loving animals
PetsHotel Specialist (Former Employee), San Jose, CADecember 15, 2014
Playing with pets and having fun.
I learned signs of stress for dogs and cats.
Management was a tad rough around the edges but, they meant all the good in the world.
Co-workers at PetSmart are a colorful bunch, many unique persons.
Hardest part is saying goodbye to the pets you love the most.
Best part is knowing those same wee loves are coming back – more... again to visit soon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Cashier (Current Employee), Burlington, NCDecember 14, 2014
I really enjoy working at PetSmart- my coworkers and managers are amazing people. I cannot say enough good things about my time here- I've learned more about customer service than I thought possible. I spend most of my time on the floor, helping customers and organizing the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment, pet friendly
Cashier/Pet Care Associate (Former Employee), Charleston, WVDecember 11, 2014
Pros: pet-friendly, employee discount on merchandise, monthly coupons
Cons: overwhelming grooming environment, physically strenuous environment
Typical day you are on your feet your whole shift and you are given task to perform while performing your positions tasks and assisting customers.

I learn about taking care of your pets and about healthy pet grooming habits.

Management is very friendly and also understanding of internal and external issues with their staff.

The hardest part of the – more... job was when you are asked to work over or work on your day off. Also, when in the grooming salon, you have to handle dogs that may be beyond your control and you put yourself in the line of being bit by a dog.

Most enjoyable part of the job was seeing and interacting with the happy pets and pet parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work except Saginaw MI store
manager (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIDecember 11, 2014
Pros: 401k, paid time off
Cons: if you fall under the wrong manager look out.
Worked for the company for years and loved it until going to the Saginaw store. District manager was horrible and played favorites. She let her favorite Store manager ruin many careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed seeing finished groom for each dog
Dog Groomer (Former Employee), Sunnyvale, CADecember 10, 2014
Pros: able to work with dogs everyday.
Cons: strained work environment due to not enough employees
I would groom approximately 3 dogs a day, answer phones, schedule appts., ring up customers at end of groom.
I learned a lot about how dogs react to different situations.
My co-workers were great,very helpful and supportive.
The hardest part of my job was to answer the phone every time it rang. I had to chain my dog to the floor and continue the groom – more... when I was done with the phone call. It would have been ideal to groom the dog with minimal interruptions.
The most rewarding part of my job was knowing that the dogs were happy and looked terrific when they left the salon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management
pet care associate (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYDecember 8, 2014
My hours for Petsmart weren't to bad. I also didn't mind the work I did and the customers I dealt with. The management is not right though. I got very sick with mono and provided doctors notes for everyday I missed. I ended up getting written up for missing to many days. This caused me to not be able to transfer to a closer location to where I lived – more... at the time. So I was driving an hour to work and an hour home from work everyday I worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun and enjoyed my time there.
Inventory Specialist (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 6, 2014
As a professional bather, a typical day consists of me bathing and providing care for many different types of dogs. I learned a important trait in the retail business and that's customer service skills. Due to my improvement I even received a employee of the month for the month of April 2014. I loved my management and my co-workers. I knew each time – more... I stepped into the building that the day would be full of laughs and I got along with everybody beautifully. The one hardest thing about the job would be, dealing with dogs who are afraid or intimidated by the services we provide. Getting them to cooperate was difficult, but when you show them love and care, typically they come around. The most enjoyable thing was seeing the pet parents faces when they get their dog back groomed nicely and clean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers, bleh corporation
Pet care/cashier (Former Employee), PADecember 5, 2014
Pros: puppies, good coworkers
Cons: slave labor, poor pay, ignorant customers
Don't get paid a lot, barely any advancements. Don't understand how people can use this company as a career. I would die if I had to work here any longer. Grooming salon is full of drama, one manager that shouldn't be a manager takes advantage of people. Don't really know what they're doing. Corporate is AWFUL! All they care about is MONEY MONEY MONEY. – more... The customers are ignorant as ever because of course, retail workers aren't people! Didn't you hear?! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but not productive
Pet Care Associate (Former Employee), Macon, GADecember 5, 2014
Petsmart is a fun place to work while you're in school or trying to get you life on track, but if you're looking for something with great opportunities I suggest you look elsewhere. The employees are generally nice people and the customers are some of the nicest I've ever met. There just isn't much room for advancement if you don't already know someone – more... in upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great associates with a corrupt management.
Pet Products Manager (Former Employee), Nesconset, NYDecember 3, 2014
A typical day would me having to work the back stock room, help customers, answer the phone and use the register all while having other daily tasks to accomplish. I learned that some managers would rather not help but instead just tell you that they were able to accomplish the tasks when they were in the same position. Only a few of the management team – more... was helpful and sensible. The rest were unfortunately corrupt with the ability to say whatever they would like with no ramification. My co-workers were always helpful and would push through the day to get all the tasks completed. The hardest part would be having to accept a truck in the receiving bay in 10 degree weather. The most enjoyably part would be working with the dogs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I washed the dogs
Dog washer (Former Employee), Issaquah, WADecember 3, 2014
Pros: i love the dogs
Cons: the groomers (hair cutters) were not vety nice
I washed the dogs and kept the back area sanitized so no animal would get sick or flees from Petsmart. It was a really hard job, bending over all day washing dogs, answering the phone and making appointments. At closing time I had to wash the walls and the floors and the kennels with a special cleaner so in the morning everything was good to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Hagerstown, MDDecember 3, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: they had to move far away
i come in at6am and have morning meeting
then do excerise then get to work
magerment was very friendly
co worker was friendly too
the best part was i learn diffrent dempartment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with animals
cashier (Current Employee), Birmingham,ALDecember 2, 2014
Pros: closed on thanksgiving and christmas. working with animals
Cons: management
Upper management is very lazy and pawns their work onto other employees. While another manger comes to work only seeking and fulfilling his relationship with the Banfield Pet Hospital practice manger. Some rude customers but you get that with any retail employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMERITEMPS
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), PHOENIX, AZDecember 2, 2014
Order Entry
Order Puller
Stocking, shipping and receiving, inventory
Loading, unloading
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment, Management not the Best
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHDecember 2, 2014
Pros: good perks
Cons: mileage checks impossible
The people really make a difference in this job. It's pretty much the best of the best when it comes to retail, because you do not typically get a lot of mean customers. You have to know what you're talking about when it comes to food and pet supplies. Management is OK, could be a lot better when it comes to respect to employees. The company is great – more... though, I will always support them. The only complaint I have is that it has taken 3 months to receive a mileage check. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going and friendly workplace.
Cashier (Current Employee), Tyler, TXDecember 1, 2014
I look forward to my work-days simply because my coworkers, environment, etc. are all pleasant and easy-going. There is no "high-school" drama, as I like to call it. Everyone gets to work to do one thing: their job. My managers are all EXTREMELY understanding and patient with me and my coworkers. They are some of the best managers I've ever had in a – more... work-place. Things get tough when I have to deal with complicated customers, or there is an update with our computer system (which happens very often) and it changes the entire day-to-day routine. I enjoy getting to work everyday and knowing exactly what information customers need me to know, meeting my daily quota, and seeing cute animals that like to come into my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocking
Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Millville, NJDecember 1, 2014
i have done this field a long time ago its is a high demanding job and i love every minute of it because it keeps me busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Kennewick, WADecember 1, 2014
Pros: helping customers
Cons: the last manager i work for and some of the co-workers.
stocking, setting up displays, and helping customers. i learned a lot at these job like how to operate a forklift. the management was pretty good tell the end of my time there. most o my co-workers where hard to work with. putting up with some of my co- workers. helping customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), chula vistaNovember 29, 2014
flexible hours, good work environment, best part of the job is the pet parents bring their pets, the hardest part of this company its hard to move up in management and higher salary positions, you learn a lot about animals so its a great jobs if your an animal lover
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petsmart
Store Manager (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GANovember 29, 2014
Managing all employees including salon. I learned a lot about how to manage people, and how to run services. The company micromanages a lot and focuses on a lot of things that don't help the business. Co-workers have the same interest as each other which makes it easier to work with most of them. Hardest part of the job is balancing helping customers, – more... dealing with new priorities, managing, and running the service. The most enjoyable part of the job is actually the same as the hardest part. The challenge made it enjoyable. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a specialty provider of products, services and solutions for the lifetime needs of pets. The Company has identified – Read more