Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,351 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly work environment while maintaining proffesionalism
Support manager (Former Employee), Leesburg, VASeptember 28, 2014
They taught me everything I know about pet care, general retail functions, and excellent customer service. My fellow co-workers felt more like a family. Our teamwork was a well lubed machine, smooth and efficient. Everyone shared our sense of family with the customers as well which helped us keep incredibly loyal customers. Everyone did their absolute – more... best to make sure that every customer got what they were looking for or the closest available alternative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
District Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 26, 2014
great place to work with a strong culture. Senior leadership team is very engaging and personal. Great training and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job for students/ kids--
any (Former Employee), CaSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: no hours
Easy job. Management is ok. Not good if you are trying to actually trying to live on your own. Good for a teenager or student who is just trying to earn party or gas money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
Doggie day camp-Pet Hotel-Groomer (Former Employee), Plano, TexasSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: friendly people
Cons: poor managment
I would come in check the book and see how many dogs are there for the day. Then I would go to the back and see the dogs and do the largest first since they would take longest. When I worked they're the couldn't keep and went throw 5 of them. One of the made some lies about me to the store manger. Everyone was friendly, but no one would help each other – more... when it was busy. The hardest part of the job was doing most of the work myself with out help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subjective workplace with animals
Cashier (Former Employee), Crestwood, ILSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: nice customers and their pets.
Cons: moving up a position or cross training for more than one position.
A typical day at work would be standing at the register ringing out goods for customers and assisting with returns, facing the shelves (making sure the labels are facing the correct way, making sure the product is pulled forward and making sure the UPC code is in-sync with the product lined above) or customer assistance (Walking down isles of the store – more... asking any confused looking customers if they could use your assistance). I've learned many things about pet food that i did not know before. Such as, Blue Buffalo is the only brand Petsmart carries that has Life Source Bits. As a customer, the management is always willing to help find a solution to any problem you may be having. Petsmart provides an open door policy (If your having an issue or need to talk to a manager about something and the manager you chose to talk to does not help you with whatever issue your having, you can go to a higher up manager for help) so as an employee, if your trying to get cross trained (trained to work in more than one area of the store) it seems almost impossible to get any one of the managers to try and help you with that. The co-workers were very nice and helpful with my training and all questions i had. The hardest part of the job, for myself, was to get a manager to cross train me to work in more than just my department. The most enjoyable part of the job was all the customers who came in that you could have a conversation with and relate to since they were pet lovers as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail can be fun
Store Manager (Former Employee), ArizonaSeptember 23, 2014
Started with Lucky foods, was a great place to work and was well known in the group for being as most stores in my career. Sold out during hostile take over and bought by Abco. Not the same volume or people but built my way back up until they started closing stores and it was obvious no future was left.Went to work for Petsmart and was there for 19 – more... yrs until it was obvious I wasn't welcome any more.Poor management in the past year made life a petsmart UNCARING. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and professionally fun.
Petsmart petshotel (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 23, 2014
A typical day when im working i will focus on work and what needs to be done and accomplished. Managing things can be hard so sittting down and planning that wil be nessacary while working. Helping others as a co-worker is very importantto me, things are much better as a team. I always look on the good side of my job or duty and what i can learn from – more... it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting but hard job
Dog Groomer (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 22, 2014
it was a good place to go to work, where you would stay busy for the entire day. very productive. the hardest part of the job was working on huge dogs that were not used to being groomed, the most enjoyable part was when you did a great job on the dogs and the customers were impressed with the job that you did with their pet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job!
Petcare, Cashier, Stock (Former Employee), Ogden, UTSeptember 22, 2014
Checking people out at register, helping customers find things and answering their questions about products, caring for all animals in store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, active and engaging
customer service, cashier, pet care associate (Current Employee), McDonough, GaSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: only hires part time
Can be a fun place to work. Must have genuine passion for the care of pets and helping guests find items that fit their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great work enviorment!!
Pet Specialist (Former Employee), caSeptember 20, 2014
This job only has room for growth, I never went a day without learning something new
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hamster wheel of Distribution/Warehousing
Various Departments (Former Employee), Ottawa, IlSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: payrate
Cons: no organization, no job security
I still lose sleep when I think about how my experience at PetSmart ended. They brainwash you so well that you buy in to everything they say and then one day you are told you are no longer needed over something trivial without warning or a history of breaking any rules. This company allows management and training staff to walk around and talk about – more... fantasy sports or movies while new workers are looking around for help with a question. The place is so messy as far as spills , discarded materials, and such you would swear the was no management staff. You would be wrong. There are 3 shifts. Each one has no less than 6 floor supervisors and typical work days would have 10+ management types in the building. Nevertheless, workers leaving messes, un-pulled pallets or boxes, nonstop talking are the norm. Trainers date their trainees with no repercussion. In most businesses this would be considered unprofessional behavior. Despite complaints from other trainees in regards to unfair special treatment it falls on deaf ears. Some employees no matter how little they do seem to be made of teflon. The hardworking family man types are gone through like toilet paper. I have been employed over 17 years and have never seen turnover anywhere near the likes of PetSmart. This says a lot because i have experience in multiple lines of work. My reccommendation to anyone looking for for work there would be take the job if you have nothing else going for the time being. However, for your sake do not get comfortable. Continue to look for better work because you can be considered one of the best on the staff and be let go without just cause or prior warning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times
Pet Products Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 18, 2014
It can be a fun place to work, however, training needs work. Whenever you hire a new manager, it would be best, if they were fully trained to do their job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Henderson, NVSeptember 18, 2014
maintaining a clean work area. Help greet customers and assist them in any help needed. Great co-workers, always a positive place to be at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, low pay barely hours.
Custodian (Former Employee), Plant City, FLSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: easy job.
Cons: low pay, no health insurance for part timers
It's a good environment to work at. But the starting pay is to low if your trying to pay rent and utilities every month. Recommended job is for part timers in school and are still living with their parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very many options career advancement
Lead Pet Trainer & Senior Pet Care Specialist (Former Employee), Glendale, COSeptember 15, 2014
Petsmart is a great place to work if you love animals, but does not offer enough compensation or options for career advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun And Learnedful Workplace to be at.
Bather/Cashier (Current Employee), East Peoria, ILSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: care cards, pet discounts, free food sometimes.
Cons: would be the fact that i just do not recieve enough hours at the job because it is a part-time job.
: A typical day at work is seeing loving Pets with there Pet Parents!
: What I learned is How to obtain Good Health for Pets
How to be Inspired by Pets
And the Rethinking Meal Time by providing the Food needed for
there Age or Health.
: Management at PetSmart is good they believe in there employees
and help them to acquire the skills needed to succeed – more... at pleasing
Pets & Pet Parents.
: Co-Workers all work together with Happiness with-in the store and
that is what makes them a great group to work with.
: The hardest part of the job which really isn't hard is the cleaning-up
of Pets once they have Urinated or Pet Feces.
: The most enjoyable part of my job is pleasing the customers,
seeing all the pets, reptiles, amphibians, etc... and working with a
good crew of people. I doesn't even feel like work even though it is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment
Bather (Current Employee), Orem, UTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: can be fun
Cons: short/ no breaks, stressful and sometimes hostile work environment.
I'd have to say a typical day at my job is stressful. It is so fast-paced and there is never a dull moment. I am looking for another job because I barely get time to breathe. It is supposed to be a "team effort" in the salon but it hardly is. Sometimes I struggle with aggressive or uncooperative dogs and nobody is willing to help. I am a team player – more... and I always help others out so it's frustrating when I don't get that in return. Aside from all the drama, I do enjoy my job for the most part but it seems like most of the time the bad outweighs the good. I just wish I had a job I could be glad to go to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it use to be.
Presentation Manager (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 13, 2014
Petsmart is transitioning to something that I do not want to continue to be a part of. They are going away from the core values and looking solely at profits. What a shame.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with animals
Dog Groomer (Current Employee), Panama City Beach, FLSeptember 12, 2014
Cons: pay
I love my job. I love working with animals and being able to help them in anyway that i can. I've learned a lot over the past years I've been with Petsmart and I continue to learn everyday. Management is ok. Still new but they do their best. My co-workers are new to the company as well, but they learn more and more everyday. The hardest part of the – more... job is handling a dog that does not like the whole process. Its not the getting it done part that's hard, I just want to make sure the dog has a safe and stress free visit. The best part of my job is meeting new dogs everyday. I love seeing new faces and new personalities come into the salon. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a specialty provider of products, services and solutions for the lifetime needs of pets. The Company has identified – Read more