Find companies:
PetSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,405 reviews

PetSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Dog Bather (Former Employee), Washington, PASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: no communication between management. didn't make enough money for the work
Made some money but not enough. Friendly co-workers. No communication between management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, unequal employment
Customer Service, Pet Trainer (Current Employee), Wheat Ridge, COSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: being around animals
Cons: bad pay, poor management, unequal employment
This company needs improvement on management following corporate policies. They also need to teach them more about eoec.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work!
Pet Care Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Flowood, MSSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: meeting new animals
There will never be a dull boring day in Petsmart. You become very personable with people and their pets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good until they got a new manager
Bather/Cashier (Former Employee), Fayetteville, ArSeptember 3, 2014
Poor communication skills amongst the management
It was always complicated to get a day off
Management talks down to work team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Bad
Petstylist (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: hourly or commission
Cons: overwelming
Petsmart has changed in the 12 years I worked there. Some changes were for the better others weren't. I liked that the job of a Petstylist was both hourly and commission based. You would receive which ever amount was higher. It just got to be too much with all the rules and regulations changing all the time and new ones being added all the time. It – more... was more about the money then the employees. I understand wanting to make money but not at the cost of safety and the petstylists sanity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun place to work with great management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: learning experiences, great managers, relaxed environment
I worked as a cashier, along with helping to stock shelves and helping with pet care. I learned so much about customer service, things that I will be able to take with me wherever I go! I enjoyed my co-workers, and the management was wonderful! They enforced the rules, but weren't "mean" when they did. I loved going into work everyday, and regret that – more... I ended up leaving! I would work for this company in a flash if I ever got the chance again! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with animals
Receptionist (Current Employee), Chesapeake, VirginiaSeptember 2, 2014
Staff is friendly and customers are great. It's very enjoyable working with dogs. There are different tasks to do every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), Marysville, WASeptember 2, 2014
As far as first jobs go, this was an excellent one to have. I started when it opened so i was privileged in being able to make friends with my co-workers before the store actually opened. My bosses where wonderful people who seemed to really care about their employees as well as the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people poor corporate managers
Sales Manager (Former Employee), OHAugust 31, 2014
Pros: working with animals and pet parents
Cons: corporate polices- expect top sign your name 100 times daily
The customers and employees are outstanding. Upper managers don't have a clue as to what really is going on in the stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company
NIGHT SHIFT PET CARE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Southlake, TXAugust 31, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Liked getting paid weekly but management seriously needed an overhaul.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced yet fun environment where you meet amazing pets and their parents.
Manager (Former Employee), VAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: animals, regular pet parents and the associates
Cons: not enough hours for coverage. sometimes disgruntled pet parents
A place where pet parents can connect with other pet parents. Where the customers appreciate your knowledge. A place where you learn something new everyday. Mostly a family atmosphere, of course there is always a couple associates who were not so family oriented but that is anywhere. The most enjoyable part is meeting all of the pets that come in and – more... the love they give. It makes it all worth while knowing you can make a difference in a pets life just by helping their mom or dad find what they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animals are great!
Pet Stylist (Current Employee), norfolk vaAugust 27, 2014
Pros: vacations and benefits
Cons: can get bit, or defecated on
I enjoy my hands on work when I groom the dogs. I learn how to communicate with customers as well as schedule appointments! Despite what people think when you say you are a dog groomer, I do not play with the dogs but on some occasions I do get a snuggle in and sometimes play with the other criters in the store as well! the hardest part of my job just – more... like any other customer service job is you cant please everyone no matter how hard you try. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall enjoyed working with the animals
Pet Care Associate (Former Employee), East Hanover, NJAugust 27, 2014
Pros: the dogs
Cons: needed more workers
My typical day was to wake up early, get some coffee, head into work, grab some leashes, took the dogs to go to the bathroom while also sanitizing and cleaning their rooms. I would also be called up front to bring the dogs checking in into the kennel. Then I would go bring the dogs into the specified playrooms and supervise and interact with them. Also – more... had to make sure they didn't get into fights, but it did happen. I learned how to safely break up those fights without either me or the dogs getting hurt. After playtime was done, I would clean and sanitize the playroom and then go on lunch break. After my break I would be doing laundry and dishes and checking on the dogs who didn't go into playtime and clean their rooms if needed. I learned how to work hard and clean thoroughly and stay organized. The most enjoyable part of the job was being with the dogs. All of the co-workers worked together very well, but the management staff was a bunch of people (younger than me mostly) of whom eventually made the work environment emotionally painful and unbearable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Presentation Manager (Current Employee), Taylor, MIAugust 27, 2014
Very energetic place to work. Enjoyable co workers. Fast pace advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting environment!
Pet Care Associate (Current Employee), Beaverton, ORAugust 26, 2014
Pros: care cards showing who has done a great job! the teamwork!
Cons: not enough hours
This job is great to go to every day. Whether it is working with customers or working with animals I always keep a great attitude. I love getting to handle animals that normally not everyone would get the opportunity to work with on a daily basis. I've learned so much from this position alone!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its always busy
Store Manager (Current Employee), Madison, WIAugust 25, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: no balance
your part of the team, you are able to control your own business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got to have fun with the dogs
Overnight Hotel Associate (Former Employee), Issaquah, WAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: free lunch on graveyard
Cons: heater went off at night so it was freezing
I enjoyed working with the dogs and the challenge it provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed and low-paying, but a great group of people to work with
Cashier/Stocker (Current Employee), Stevenson Ranch, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: management really tries taking availbility into account in scheduling, breaks are stressed at the store, working with dogs
Cons: low pay, infrequent staffing, little opportunities for advancement
A typical day at work involves me ringing up an average of 30 transactions an hour. Like all retailers, the customers vary from the incredibly kind and considerate, to the short fuses, to those who are less communicative than a wall. One problem I have, which I blame corporate for more than any of the store management, is that there seems to be improper – more... staffing at times we need it the most. Often, there is rarely ever more than one person on the floor, one person in pet care, and one person on register. This makes it a lot more difficult for me to properly do my job when many (impatient) customers have yet to get help.

That being said, I have few negative things to say about the management or the co-workers. The management really does work with your life/school schedule, and the co-workers are almost always supportive and willing to help.

The hardest part of the job is definitely juggling the multiple tasks (and customers) at hand during times when we are insufficiently staffed. Another frustrating part of the job is the fact that promotions are few and far between, and raises are almost negligible.

The most enjoyable part of my job is the overall positive energy emanating from the management and co-workers. Oh, and of course the dogs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, a lot of responsibility
Dog trainer, Pet care (Current Employee), South ElginAugust 25, 2014
Pros: animal care
Cons: a lot of work for little pay
I found it is a very laborious job. It involves a lot of responsibility. It is fun and rewarding to be so needed by all of the animals, and having answers for the pet parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best JOB
Cashier (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYAugust 22, 2014
Pros: the managers are fair, co workers was so nice. very adaptive.
Cons: could not get full time.
This was the best job for me because my managers were very understanding and as well I got along with all my co workers. I had a time when I left the job because of school but when I needed a job again, they had offer me my job back which I was really grateful.

About PetSmart

PetSmart, Inc. is a specialty provider of products, services and solutions for the lifetime needs of pets. The Company has identified – Read more