Phelps Memorial Hospital Center Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place is evolving fantastically.
sterile processing technician 2 (Current Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYNovember 4, 2015
Always learning, and great people clean work environment very small department but excellent workers great management the tech's are passionate about there jobs so there will always be excellent quality coming from the sterile processing department at phelps memorial hospital.
Pros
Quality care facility things get done team fantastic at what they do.
Cons
Very small department so does not require more than a tech 2
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful facility w/ great culture and professional atmosphere
Senior Physical Therapist level 2 (Current Employee) –  Sleepy Hoolow, NYOctober 5, 2015
fast paced environment w/ supportive staff and team centered approach. Multitude of educational opportunities w/ good pay and benefits. overall a wonderful place to work and grow as a clinician.
Pros
see above
Cons
no computerized documentation system; heavy work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community hospital
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYAugust 25, 2015
A great community hospital were staff know each other by name. Hospital culture is the best I have worked in. Hospital is expanding a lot of exciting things going on.
Pros
Well managed, seasoned coworkes, culture of kindness
Cons
Benefits are that great, cafeteria food nasty
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent teamwork environment
LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYApril 27, 2015
Typical day would include morning rounds with multidisciplinary team, orienting self to therapeutic issues that might arise for the day, and then running groups and seeing individual clients, being able to assess needs for intervention in possible crisis situations, providing case management, interacting with other agencies involved in treatment, interacting with family as needed. Hardest part of day was prioritizing numerous tasks and completing by end of day, advocating for patient insurance recertification. The most enjoyable part was interacting with clients.
Pros
Good teamwork
Cons
Very short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience
Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  tarrytown, new yorkApril 13, 2015
i low what work needs to get done
i learned that working in a uncomfortable environment i can still get my work done
most enjoyable part of the day is when management has a full staff on board r and divides the work load properly
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the culture...
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  sleepy hollow, nyMarch 10, 2015
Excellent orientation program - they stress the importance of hospital culture, which is to be kind to the patients and one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYDecember 8, 2014
Answering telephones, greeting patients, updating and filing patients' medical records, filling out insurance forms, handling correspondence, scheduling appointments, arranging for hospital admission and laboratory services, and handling billing and bookkeeping. Taking medical histories and recording vital signs, explaining treatment procedures to patients, preparing patients for examination, and assisting the physician during the examination.
Pros
free lunches, great co-workers
Cons
sometime no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes21No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients. Management plays favorites. Low pay
Clinical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Ossining, NY -ATSOctober 30, 2014
I really enjoyed my job here which is a shame. The company is trying to save money so anything they can do to cut spending on they will. They lowball masters level employees with salary and rarely will negotiate with you. Sure, there are merit based increases each year out of a 0-4% raise however, administration sent out a memo letting employees know how difficult it is to be rated at a 4% which is frustrating. Working where I worked in order to save money they combined both outpatient CD programs which means staff has to share offices with no flexibility in deadlines, and clients complain about overcrowding. I'm not quite sure what the role of management is here, as my former coworkers and I would often face issues that we were told to "handle ourselves" and then get scolded when we would make decisions. Also there are very clear favorites here, including an office manager who sits on personal calls and facebook all day and will have a laundry list of complaints about staff and how hard she works/busy she is and be allowed by the program manager to publicly harass and bully whomever she is personally targeting that day. I'd say if you're looking for experience and live locally, great, otherwise steer clear. The stress isn't worth it.
Pros
nice clients, good coworkers (some)
Cons
low pay, favoritism, management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes59No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for work/life balance
DEVELOPMENT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYAugust 11, 2014
Typical day doesn't exceed 8 hours
This company promoted continuing education
Co-workers were all from very different backgrounds
Pros
medical and dental, retirement benefits are very competitive
Cons
job security is not what it was
Was this review helpful?Yes26No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management.
Coder II (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYJuly 27, 2014
good environment, good place to work and learn from each other.
Pros
alway learning
Cons
fix work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment, horrible management
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYApril 15, 2014
My first 3 weeks here, I knew I wanted out! The department has bad management that just point out all your wrongs and don't take the time to care about the individual. Many of the co-workers are really nice but of course you have the few who couldn't care less about who you are. The lack of respect from management must be noticed because other department many times don't even show respect to the Admitting staff. The environment is nice and there are many smiling faces around but thats about the only good thing.
Pros
environment, (some) nice co-workers, smiling faces
Cons
admitting management!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes59No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phelps hospital
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYMarch 29, 2014
The people are hard working and supportive. Hospitality Department is amazing and sets this hospital apart from any other
Pros
free parking
Cons
salary too low
Was this review helpful?Yes24No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phelps Hospital has a great work environment, work ethics and employees
Orthopedic Nurse (Current Employee) –  Orthopedics and Rehabilitation Dept.January 17, 2014
Presenty I am an "on call" LPN on the Orthopedic Unit. My patient base continually changes. There is good management support and fellow workers are cooperative and work as a team.
Pros
positive and supportive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and educational
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  sleepy hollow, New YorkDecember 10, 2013
this position has a lot of educational oppurtunities. I am currently a part time worker and seeking full time hours. I enjoy working in slow pace but would prefer to be in an fast paced enviornment.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undesirable management
Former Console Operator (Former Employee) –  TelecommunicationsApril 6, 2013
The atmosphere can be stressful and unpleasant due to sarcastic and angry management in Communications Dep't and lack of cooperation from Administration.
Pros
management is incompetent and unprofessional.
Cons
phelps is a nice place in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes45No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Atmosphere
Patient Access Representative II (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYMarch 19, 2013
Was almost here for five years but had to resign for personal reasons. Enjoyable work environment but no acknowledgement from supervisors or directors.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Hollow, NYAugust 10, 2012
Training program is excellent
Managers are willing to work with you
Pros
short breaks
Cons
not flexible with rotating schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes32No13

See more Phelps Memorial Hospital Center reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture