Find companies:
Philabundance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Philabundance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job
HR Operations Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 25, 2014
Pros: non profit feeding the hungry
Cons: salary
Administer student loan, medical insurance, savings bond, and disability programs by advising employees of eligibility; providing application information; helping with form completion; verifying submission; notifying employee admissions.Orient new employees by providing new hire information packets; reviewing company policies; gathering withholding – more... and other payroll information; explaining and obtaining signatures for benefit programs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun oppurtinity to serv people who need all goods
Volunteer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 22, 2014
Pros: free snacks, and resting break
Cons: money was not being made
We had morning meeting and signed in , set up tables, get into positive attitude, we fashioned the food products. we had prayer before serving the people in line, and we had a lot of experience with how to bag the food being distributed.

I learned to be more confident about volunteering, sharing my strengths and weaknesses, and getting along with unique – more... personalities within a whole month.

My coworkers where like a team very helpful, very good with time, good with interaction, had good personalities, made everyone feel apart of the team.

The hardest part of the day was missing time for class and for homework for online assignments that needed to be turned in during that time.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the breaks we got to snack off of the food that was not being served. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Philab
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 10, 2013
Great place to work overall. The people are nice and the culture is great. Its hard work for a good cause
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain real world work experience for recent college graduates.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 1, 2013
Great place to gain real world work experience for recent college graduates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembly lines
Volunteer (Former Employee), philadelphiaJune 11, 2013
Pros: helping the less fortunate
Cons: short breaks
hard work is required because you have lift things. even our wealthy country there are people who struggle with hunger and i don't think it's fair. random people who share the same views on our country. students in my school. the hardest was the lifting. the most enjoyable part was knowing i was doing that a greater and more positive outcome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment constantly meeting new people
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 11, 2013
Pros: working outside, constantly meeting new people, and helping out for a good cause
Cons: food supply wasn't always on time, not the safest area to work
To start a typical day at work I would unload and organize crates full of nutritious food. Then I would hand out the food to the less fortunate making sure that they didn't take more than the food item limit. After everyone in line got their food I would help put everything away and clean up the area back to how we found it. I learned a lot from this – more... experience but mainly it opened up my eyes to how difficult some of the lives are of the less fortunate and that I could help contribute in making their lives a little easier. Management was very helpful and easygoing throughout the process. Co-workers were a very diverse group but everyone got along well and made the experience more enjoyable. The hardest part of the job was maintaining order in what could become a chaotic scene with huge lines and people wanting to take more than the food item limit. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing how appreciative everyone was for our service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and friendly safe environment
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 26, 2012
Pros: team work and excellent co-workers and supervisors
Cons: it was a temporary position
A typical work day for me is come to work on time. I've learned how to pace myself through timely tasks. I liked management, they was very helpful if I had any questions about my assignment. My co-workers were also helpful if I needed any help,we had team work and that is what got me through the work day. The enjoyable part of the job was knowing where – more... the food was going to,and wishing I could help the people in other ways. The hardest part about my job was leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity
Internship (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 21, 2012
Pros: free lunches
The administrative team at Philabundance Community Kitchen has been expanding my real world knowledge in social services since day one. I have gained a great deal of information that I am eager to take onto my career path.