Philip Morris USA Employee Reviews

Found 93 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation and benefits
Production Supervisor, Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 19, 2016
I enjoyed my time there and only took an early buy out because they hired too many people in the 1970s. I would return at any time. They are awesome to retirees as well.
Pros
Great compensation and benefits
Cons
Difficult to get an interview
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Tech
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 23, 2016
Nice place to work. There ten years and wanted a change Wanted to work daytime to be able to spend more time with family. Nice vacation and deferred profit sharing.
Pros
nice benefits
Cons
B shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great paying job, management weak though
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 19, 2016
A lot of pressure put on machine operator, pay was great, medical has gone down hill, but the cost has risen.Not a whole lot of team work, really needed management to promote more of it.
Pros
excellent pay, work not that hard
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful due to Management Attitude, very little trust between management & hourly employes
Tech III - Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 9, 2016
A great co. to work for !!! Management on a short leash, no flexibility with operations in different manufacturing dept. !!! short lunch breaks 30 minutes .
Pros
over all out standing co.
Cons
Management on a short leash no flexibility, couldn't be trusted !!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at Philip Morris
Tech 1 (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 22, 2016
A Typical Day ,I Started out checking my line of 6 machines to make sure each one was getting plugs and there was no hang ups,,and then I would check the quality of the plugs,on some days I would run plugs that fed through the machine ,I knew quiet a lot making plugs.The most enjoyable part was a night that ran smooth all night.
Pros
Benefits, pay, bonuses
Cons
i didn't have cons that i can remember
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Quality and Compliance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 16, 2016
Excellent company.
Mission / Quality Statement reviewed consistently
Management conducts quarterly reviews of all initiatives, complaints, improvements, and other data to support yearly objectives.
Pros
excellent benefits - pay, vacation, health coverage
Cons
long hours at critical times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work and excellent people to work with
Packaging Engineer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 4, 2016
I enjoyed my time with Philip Morris. They are an excellent company to work with. They have great processes in place and are always trying to improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXDecember 3, 2015
A typical day at work was outside sales. I learned a lot about customer service. The most enjoyable part was meeting a lot of different people.
Pros
benefits and compensation
Cons
lack of loyality
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided employee with daily opportunities to excel
Lead Technian Distribution supplies (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCDecember 3, 2015
This job was challenging, and I got to do a number of different jobs.I had to learn 6 jobs in my 90 days of probation. The people I worked with were friends, and we were supportive of each other.
Pros
Overtime was usually available
Cons
Breaks were timed
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Territory Sales Manager and Trainer (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 2, 2015
I worked for Philip Morris right out of college and learned a lot with the time I was employed. They are smart, efficient and train their employees to work hard and promote within.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Packaging Engineer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 17, 2015
Everyone cares about each other and their families. This is a great place to work with people that care.

There is great support from the bottom level all the way to the top. They are always prepared to train and place people in the positions that fit them as they see it if it fits you and you do it well. You are productive, the company makes money and everyone is a winner
Cons
Cannot think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Everything is Golden
Manufacturing Technician I (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 11, 2015
Unionized workforce, where seniority is key to advancement. Management is not consistent on the production floor and varies when enforcing policy by areas. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my co-workers. The least enjoyable part of the job is although they preach about compliance and integrity, the minute you go to management with an issue expect retaliation.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCAugust 17, 2015
Good management and work force. Generous company to work for with great benefits and profit sharing. I would recommend working for this company in any capacity.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Accountant
Lead Accountant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, KYMay 13, 2015
Was the billing accountant and paid the sellers for their products sold. Balanced General Ledger books. Worked closely with local community.
Pros
working with local community and the trust between myself and sellers
Cons
Seasonal Job
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a productive, friendly, fun atmosphere
Manufacturing Technician (Current Employee) –  Richmond,VaApril 22, 2015
A typical day in-tells me preparing the tobacco to be processed. Monitor the process from start to finish. I have learned how to work as a team and provide excellent customer service even without directly talking or dealing with the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
MT1/MT3 (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCApril 8, 2015
Clean place to work....Everyone works as a team....no one is left without knowing their job....Supervisor is always there to help.
Pros
Flexable
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAmily oriented workplace
Senior Technical Analyst (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCMarch 7, 2015
Family interactive wrok place that provides for you financially and educationally if you so desire. Sometimes there were long periods of working long hours, but the compensation allowed for many things.
Pros
overtime pay
Cons
overtime hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work place but the experience could not be matched anywhere
Senior Technical Analyst (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCMarch 1, 2015
Great training and experience in various skill sets. Had great opportunities to groom myslef as an individual. Made life long friends and acquantices.
Pros
benefits
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company culture deteriorated over the years
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 25, 2015
At the beginning, fun and exciting place to work at, with good training provided by management. The position become repetitive after the 2nd year, and management style became very pushy and sometimes even disrespectful towards employees. Compensation was good at the start, but because of lack of promotions within the company without relocating, the salary stayed basic the same.
Pros
company car, great benefits
Cons
controversial product, due to decrease of quality managers moral down throughout the company
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business System Analyst
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 17, 2015
• Interacted with business users for gathering requirements for ITASCA Projects.
• Prepared Use cases and got reviewed with Business users.
• High level and low-level design prepared and got the signoff from SMEs.
• Wrote Project Technical Specifications.
• Coordinated for SIT and UAT testing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 165 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1