Find companies:
Phoenix Baptist Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Phoenix Baptist Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was filthy inside.
Med-Surg Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 24, 2014
Pros: pay was decent. pretty good benefits.
Cons: ugly environment. mean rns.
Some of the RNs were very mean and bossy.
When a CNA would call off sick they made me an LPN go to a different floor after I had already taken report on my normal floor. And
then I'd have to work as a CNA and have a late start.
Building looked ancient and ugly inside.
Lots of back biting by the nurses and the CNAs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment due to recurring changes in senior leadership
Lab Director (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 31, 2013
Historical turnover of senior leaders and low employee satisfaction ratings as a result.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with great Residents to becoming a Doctor of their own Clinics
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 7, 2013
This position was working with Residents hand in hand to train them in their career path, so once they completed their 3 years they would be able to have their own clinic or partner with another doctor and be able to run their own clinics. We as a clinic also set up other free clinic out and around the phoenix area to help patient who may need health – more... care and not able to afford it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume
Senior Medical Tech (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 13, 2013
Pros: 3 days a week 12hr work days
Cons: not enough time to do your work if you were a lead.
Typical day would start the minute you walk through the door. Non stop all day. On your feet for 12hrs straight and lucky to get lunch or a break. High turn over of techs and not enough management role models. Teamwork was the hardest part of work. It was hard to get someone to help when you needed it because we were all doing our own benches and couldn't – more... hardly leave to help someone. I enjoyed working with my co workers we were all happy to work with each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Willing to take a chance on a "New Grad".
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 9, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, fabulous work experience
Cons: 120 mile round trip from home to work, working 7pm to 7am
The folks at Baptist were willing to take a chance when hiring a "New Grad" into the Emergency Department. They exceeded common practice in allowing me to learn and build confidence while working in the ED.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic environment but awesome staff!
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 11, 2013
Pros: staff
Cons: never have what you need when you need it, type of pts, no support from upper management
I work night shift and we usually start off with 4 pts and take an admission, but if we are busy or short staff we have had to take up to 6 pts! This is a very busy floor with heavy pt load. Not very organized environment, never have supplies when you need them and I'm not talking about anything special ex manual blood pressure cuffs. Pts can be very – more... demanding and unappreciative. There are many nights when you feel like your a drug dealer because of all the narcs you pass. The best part of the job is definitely the staff they make all this craziness worth while and it is why I have stayed so long!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job, limiting any growth,
Facilties (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 23, 2013
Its a facility that is top heavy as to management. There isa lot of do as I say not as I do. The administration needs to review the vision, values and mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst nursing experience
RN (Former Employee), Medical-surgical floorFebruary 20, 2013
I have never worked in a hospital as this one where patients are not treated well by MD's or nursing. This has to be the most chaotic workplace I have aver encountered. I left because I felt patient care was lacking. I would never allow a family member of mine to be treated at this facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but improvements can be made to ease the tension.
RN (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: getting coins to use in the cafeteria when you do something recognizable.
Cons: unable to get a break when it gets really busy.
Phoenix Baptist hospital is a fun place to work but could be very challenging at times,the nurses were nice the patients were young and thrilled to have a baby,its nice to work with moms and babies. A typical day at work,handing over at 7am,quota of patients given ,assessment and introduction of patients done, medications given,care plans reviewed,discharge – more... plans and teaching implemented.Blood work up done on baby prior to discharge.Discharge hand outs given to mom,social services and other referrals taken care of prior to discharge.Checking doctors orders,closing off care plans,computer charting on your quota of patients,helping out other staff members,giving blood,taking blood samples from mom,taking patients for other investigations such as xrays,educating the patients on all aspects of taking care of themselves and their babies.Interacting with staff and patients in a pleasant atmosphere. The hardest part of the job is when Cps is taking away my patient's baby,its always a hard thing. The easiest and happiest part of my job is loving and taking care of babies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many changes in upper management
Inventory Manager/Buyer, Surgical Services (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 13, 2012
Cons: everything
Upper management in constant change. The hardest part of the job while I was there was to figure out from the THREE bosses that I had what was the true priority. Co-workers were great but were not satisfied with their work environment and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night shift great, day shift disorganized
ICUlCVICU RN (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 19, 2012
Pros: the few nice, friendly staff i worked with.
Cons: caotic environment on dayshift
Night shift very productive with lots of teamwork. Worst ICU I've ever worked in. Charge RN leadership ok, but everchanging upper
management issues. Big turnover in upper management constantly.
Very disorganized ICU during the day, difficulty in finding someone to help, poor teamwork. Code Blue's disasterous and disorganized. First hospital to ever – more... emit these feelings. Not a safe environment for patient's or staff. Lots of finger pointing-first time I encountered this as a professional in any institution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting job
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 7, 2012
Pros: just an exciting job.
Cons: seeing people pass on.
You have the responsibility of a human's life. With this job I learned alot about how precious life is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all over learning experience for the different positions worked
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), 2000 W. Bethany Home Road Phoenix, AZAugust 16, 2012
Pros: well rounded education, teaching and learning
Cons: at times very long days and the amount of charting
as team leader I accompanied physicians on rounds and assisted them on procedures carried out on floor.assisted and instructed team members of care to be given to patients. assisted in direct care of patients. instructed and educated patients attended discharge planning rounds for coordination of patients care for those receiving support services.

as – more... head nurse I worked under the direction of Nursing Manager in coordinating the overall function of the orthopedic unit. assisted in the cohesive management of the unit by being a means of communication with the health care team in the absence of the manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting possition
ER Supervisor- Financial Counselor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 24, 2012
maintained coverage on the ER department for about 3 months after that I become QA specialist making sure all charts were correct to send the information to insurance company to get pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's challenging work with staff reductions whereby many managers and Directors are wearing multiple hats and assuming multiple responsibilities.
Security Manager/ Safety Officer (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 11, 2012
Pros: outstanding staff
Cons: arizona's healthcare system has been severly impacted by the current state of the economy.
I was originally hired as the Security Manager for the Hospital and then asked if I would be interested in assuming the Safety Officer position not knowing the Safety Officer position was, in essence, a full-time job in and of itself. There is a substantial degree of responsibility with the Safety Officer's position which is challenging, intriguing, – more... frustrating, and fun all wrapped up into one big package. The staff is outstanding and worked tirelessly to provide outstanding patient-care. The biggest frustration is the lack of financial resources which has developed due to State budget cuts that virtually eleiminated health-care for those persons less-fortunate and unable to pay for their own insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started as releif cook and worked my way through all areas of the kitchen.
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 9, 2012
Pros: excellent team of employees with top management personnel, good food, good learning opporitunites, and chances of touch the lives of patients.
Cons: seeing patients lose their lives.
I catered various events with-in the hospital, worked in the Doctors lounge, prepped for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Set up the salad bars and cooked in the cafeteria for hospital staff and visitors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this
Phoenix, Az Operating Room Surgical Technician (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 26, 2012
Pros: love the hours
Set up the OR for delivery, clean , What I learned is that some Doctors love to teach, my manger was very nice, co-workers were great, having a baby born with something wrong, Loved giving the babies baths.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management not very proactive
Lead Technologist- Microbiology (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 25, 2012
Cons: benefit not very good
Supervisor not very cooperative. The former laboratory director is very good. Staff is hard to deal with no set up SOP to follow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place to work
Radiology Scheduler (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 10, 2012
I enjoyed working with the staff, patients and outside customers.

About Phoenix Baptist Hospital

Vanguard Health Systems wants to lead the way to better health care. The company operates 25 acute care and three specialty hospitals – Read more

Phoenix Baptist Hospital Photos