Find companies:
Phoenix Life Insurance Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Phoenix Life Insurance Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Culture
Internal Wholesaler (Former Employee), Hartford, CTApril 21, 2014
Pros: learning how the brokerage companies do business
Cons: sales, the only thing that mattered
I did not enjoy the typical day of cold calling in order to sell a product. I found that to be a waste of time and energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work oriented, productivity high, friendly atmosphere.
Case Manager (Former Employee), Hartford, CTJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: bonuses, certificates of acknowledgements for good workmanship, paid for loma coarses
Cons: state farm pulled contract so entire department lost jobs
The position required a great deal of accuracy and competency as we were working on life applications of $1 million dollars and over.
It required working independently, being a self starter as well as being a team player.
I was part of the State Farm department within Phoenix so time was of the essence.
The hardest part of the job was making the State – more... Farm agents understand that getting a complete application(s) including money before submitting would valuable to us completing the application process in a timely manner.

I enjoyed the interaction among all personnel, management and the State Farm agents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with good people on regulatory matters.
AVP and Sr Compliance Officer (Current Employee), Hartford, CTSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: the people and the teamwork make this an enjoyable place to work.
Cons: not enough resources to assist with special projects.
I have worked for Phoenix for many years and for most I have been in the Corporate Compliance Department. My typical day consists of meetings with regulators, attorneys and business managers. My co-workers are a wonderful group of people that have made my job a very rewarding experience. The hardest part has been to decide who to lay off when downsourcing – more... became a solution. The most enjoyable part of my job again are the people I work with every day and working closely with the regulations on issues and examinations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working for them a great atomsphere.
Compliance Assistant (Former Employee), Hartford, CTJuly 4, 2013
I worked without supervision, my c-workers were very nice and helpful. The hardest part of the job was the quarterly mutual funds that needed to be reviewed. Management was easy to get along with and they all had an open door policy. I learne mutual funds, annuities and life insurance must be in compliance within the state they're being marketed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great foundation
Administrative Assistant, Administration (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 16, 2013
This was a great place to learn and advance to the next step. I do not remember much, but I did enjoy working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work until office closed
Administrative Assistant/New Business Rep (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 18, 2013
Most days were busy, learned alot about the insurance industry, great management and co-workers, enjoyed working with personnel at home office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and the focus was getting work completed.
Senior Case Manager (Former Employee), Hartford, CTJune 28, 2012
Pros: rewarded for doing a good job.
Cons: things were constantly changing.
When I joined Phoenix, the department I worked in was very busy. There was a backload so we had to work very hard to meet department goals. It was hard work but I enjoyed the challenge. There was classroom training that took place prior to going on the floor. I learned alot. Management set the goals and we worked together to get the job done. The hardest – more... part of the job was just staying on top of everything. We were not only on the phones but processing work also. At the end of the day if you felt like you had helped a customer, it was a good day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Sales/Customer Care Executive (Former Employee), WythallJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: excellent staff and office facilities
Good company to learn sales related skills. Excellent benefits within the role and a company that was keen to help you develop.