Physicians Mutual Insurance Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 28, 2017
A typical day includes, Taxes unclaimed property and setting projects up for innovational purposes. Assessment reporting for all 50 states for 2 companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superior products available for marketing
Agent (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIMarch 14, 2017
Excellent opportunity to excel if one tries. Set your own hours and achieve work/life balance. Great opportunity for personal growth. Prospecting opportunities may be limited if effort is lacking.
Pros
Innovative products
Cons
Limited product line
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent broker and agent working in sales and providing customer service for clients
Licensed Broker/Agent (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNFebruary 23, 2017
1099 Employee

Day is driven by personal goals

workplace culture is mutually supported

typical week begins with a great sales meeting

helping each other moves you forward

the company overall believes in this
Pros
self employed, company support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not feel like I would advance in that company.
Insurance Typist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 27, 2016
Physicians Mutual was a decent place to work, but I did not feel there was much room for advancement for me. Co-workers were fairly friendly. The pay could have been better.
Pros
I felt that the atmosphere was fairly friendly.
Cons
Low pay, short lunches. Only 1 week vacation for first year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 4, 2016
Overall very well run company. Very good training along with a very positive approach to become successful. Co-workers are very knowledgeable and extremely helpful.
Pros
Positive
Cons
Commisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEAugust 22, 2016
When I first started it was a enjoyable job. The last three years got bad. The expectations got to be to much. When Management changed so did everything else. You can't take time off at all for Doctors appointments you need to use your vacation time. Turnover has become very high. Benefits are okay. They use to give a Chrisrmas bonus but they took it away.
Pros
No weekends or Holidays
Cons
Under paid overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Senior DB2 Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 14, 2016
Overbearing bosses that promise anything to get you there. Gave me promise of training in distributed DB2 & SQL server. Never came through, then after I got a good performance review and bought a house in the area, wanted to cut my pay or me. Nothing good to say about the direct manager or management in general. Bloodsuckers!
Pros
only pay
Cons
hours and bad/abusive work conditions/attitudes, liars!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent Life
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  AgentNovember 25, 2015
upper management was great, lower level management was lacking
working with seniors during the day while my kids were in school was wonderful
Pros
company paid leads
Cons
leads expired
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very busy place and the campus was beautiful...
Teleservices Representative (Former Employee) –  Omaha NESeptember 1, 2015
I work the phones assisting members with their claims and understanding their policies. (Medicare Supplement). I learned how to plan for my retirement. Management was moved around a lot like most call centers. The co-workers were helpful as much as possible being on the phone. The hardest part was the salary were not very high and not a lot of incentive to gain more. The most enjoyable part is the job was very close to home.
Pros
The had a very nice food court.
Cons
thhe Salary did not icrease much...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best in a tough industry
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 14, 2015
Good place to work if you want to work in commissioned insurance. Remember that there is no floor to your salary, no job security. You can easily have a negative income. But this company is among the best, treating its people like adults. The atmosphere is not high pressure, nobody is asking agents to twist arms of do uncomfortable things. My managers were excellent. The company provides leads and does not require agents list their 300 closest friends to go milk for sales. You are selling mostly to senior citizens. I would still be working there if the company was able to market well in my area. No insurance company does that well in rural markets with no large town in the territory.
Pros
Leads provided, good culture.
Cons
No floor to your salary. Be prepared.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Division Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 31, 2013
This is a good Company to work for. That is pretty much all that I have to say. Thank you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Business Clerk of Life Insurance Policies
New Business Clerk (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 24, 2013
Preserving older polices, while imputing new policies. Transmitting medical information for the approval of new polices. Strong customer service skills required for the telephoning and answering the customers questions or concerns on the details of their policy. Faxing or mailing the requested information to the customer in a proficient and timely manner daily. Accurately recording and sending out letters to the customer keeping updated records in the customer's files.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good solid company with an A+ Weiss rating and a 97% customer satisfaction rating.
Life Agent/Field Trainer (Current Employee) –  North Richland Hills, TXJune 18, 2013
PMIC provides agents with several lead sources, pre/post 65 leads, DML leads which are leads from customer and consumer inquiries. They also provide "leave behind materials" that help people understand Medicare and gives agents an opportunity to schedule an appointment.
Pros
Free leads and leave behind materials.
Cons
Premiums are not as competitive as they should be in the competitive DFW marketplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, interesting work with wonderful co-workers
Full-time Regional Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Superior,WIMay 6, 2013
A typical day would be verifying information, answering phones and entering information for statistical and sales office employees
Pros
My co-workers and benefits
Cons
Job Security - constant company re-organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Insurance Company
Division Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 25, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is providing customer service to the customers of the company. They want to know that their insurance needs are taken care of and I can provide that support for them when they need it. This company was built on family values over 100 years ago and they still feel that sitting at the kitchen table is the best way to gain valuable information about your insurance needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Production work just wasn't for me.
Mail Processing Machine Operator (Production) (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 27, 2012
Was fortunate to work with the people that I met and my supervisors couldn't have been better.
Pros
climate controlled workplace.
Cons
short breaks and was teedious work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Physicians Mutual Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

Physicians Mutual Insurance Company Reviews by Location