PIEDMONT COMMUNITY COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my boss
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Yanceyville, NCOctober 10, 2015
Great opportunity to meet outstanding people each and everyday.
My manager was an amazing mentor.
The work was fairly easy.
Worked with a lot of students on the computer.
Wasn't too many coworkers because the facility was a little small, so it was only the manager, and two coworkers including myself. But I got to learn from the work I did while I was there. I was only there for two years because I was a work study student. But it was the best two years of my life. Working on the computer gave me so much knowledge about technology.
Pros
Building myself, great opportunity
Cons
Not a lot of hours, the pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respected and dedicated professional environment with experience providing internal employee development
Disability Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roxboro NCSeptember 12, 2014
Worked with individuals with mental and/or physical disabilities; monitored clients progress, testing and assisted wit note-taking. Also used interpersonal communication techniques, created and edited spreadsheets, Word documents and forms
Pros
great supervisor
Cons
temp
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping students achieve their goals
Academic Skills/Tutor Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NCMay 21, 2014
Manage a tutorial lab
Train tutors
Hardest part of job is when a student drops out
Most enjoyable part of job is helping students realize their potential
Pros
travel opportunities
Cons
few raises
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Evening Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NCApril 16, 2014
It's a part time job where as evening supervisor I get to interact with students of a diverse background.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment to work and learn in.
Peer Tutor/Mentor (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCJanuary 7, 2014
On a typical day, I assist students in developing competency in course work, keep records of tutoring sessions, and complete follow-up forms. My supervisor was a nice lady to work for on most days. There were a few days that I tired to stay out of her way. The hardest part of the job would be not having more hours to work throughout the week. The best part of the job is those moments when students finally grasp the information that I had been helping them to learn.
Pros
helping students develop competency in their work.
Cons
not being able to work more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Gunsmith (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCNovember 12, 2013
great school and very good techers the class is well done and rated very highly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was my school workstudy
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  roxboro, NCJune 1, 2013
I had fun helping people in the computer lab and the staff was cool
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good learning institution for students with goals
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NCMay 22, 2013
It is satisfying to see students gaining knowledge and experience. Co-workers and manager are very supportive and co-operative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
(Clinicals through PVCC at Charlottesville Health and Rehab)
Certified Nursing Assistant Student (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAMarch 27, 2013
Typical day:
Evening Shift: Come in, change the residents, give showers to those who prefer it before dinner, get to know the residents, practice several nursing skills, feed residents/escort residents to meal area, after dinner, shower and help residents to bed when they were ready.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational environment
Instructor/Counselor (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCDecember 10, 2012
Busy with students constantly. The management was good and the co-workers were helpful. Te most enjoyable part of this job were the students.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
it was only a temp. position
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dream job - contract
Computer Training Instructor (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCAugust 10, 2012
 Computer Training Instructor – Continuing Education Dept.
 Effectively taught training classes in a structured classroom environment
 Trained adults students computer fundamentals with Microsoft software applications
 Developed & executed course syllabus
 Maintained a all-inclusive course with textbooks
Pros
working with the adults
Cons
distance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people to work for and with.
Instructor of Information System Network/Security (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NCJune 27, 2012
Interactions with all levels of Management and students. Develope and maintain classes in various software packages. Time and project management in preparing and delivering materials.

Interaction with people of all ages and watching them learn and grow in the subjects would be the most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
flex work schedule
Cons
payscale
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good learning environment
Library Assistant (Work-study) (Former Employee) –  Yanceyville, NCApril 30, 2012
A typical day at work was working at the circulation desk and help the patrons who enter the library. I also ran the entire circulation desk and I used the computer system to log the patrons onto a computers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the students of all ages
Bookstore Clerk and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCApril 25, 2012
The Bookstore was a great place to work and we had our peak time
getting the students ready for the next semester.
What I learned working at the college, being funded by the State
the upgrades of software and other working related tools were out of date. No fault of the college; but State funds.
There were not any jobs that I did on a day to day basis that were
hard; when you had your co-workers working as a team everything
went smooth.
What I enjoyed the most was the students, helping them and
encouraging them that they can succeed.
Pros
student activity days
Cons
i do not have anything that i would change.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working the front desk
Library Assistant (Work-study) (Former Employee) –  Yanceyville, NCApril 9, 2012
A typical day at work was helping the community people and patrons that comes into the library. I learned how to interact with people and help them when they needed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Financial Aid/Special Populations Counselor (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NcApril 5, 2012
This place is a decent place to work the pay is not that great, but its a job
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture