Pike Electric, Inc. Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun , great guys to work with
B lineman (Former Employee) –  GASeptember 24, 2017
Great company over all to work with. Great equipment to to work with. Safety program is great, they really care bout their employees! Loved the out doors and thrill of working high
Pros
Great pay
Cons
They hold out 2 weeks on pay check! You get paid on your third week after you start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company, good people
Dielectric Tech (Current Employee) –  NCJuly 17, 2017
I have worked for the company twice. This last time for 13 yrs. There is a lot of travel but when something comes up they will work with you. As a father of 2 and a disabled wife the benefits are very good. Have a great group of people to work with. I have traveled to 20 different states and met good an bad in them all. Just like any other job if you work, you will advance and make good money. If you act like an over privileged punk you get no where! I'm
Pros
Money for traveling
Cons
Lots of traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work
Ground man (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJuly 12, 2017
Digging 10 foot holes working hard every day traveling cleaning trucks Working with good people and pay $600 a week going to south and
North Carolina and working in severe thunderstorms
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Co.
lineman (Current Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCJune 6, 2017
I am involved in power line reconducting . As of this year I have 31 years with Pike. Learn a lot about rigging and rebuilding power lines with minimal outages. I have also been on many storm restorations.
Management is good , but a little out of touch with day to day field operations. the hardest part of job is the heat and cold weather.
Best part of jobs is making good friends and doing a professional job.
Pros
short work week
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work for just had to work too far from
Lineman truck driver (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLMay 9, 2017
One of the best companies I ever worked for! Management was awesome we had plenty of home time I just didn't like having to travel so far too work because as soon as you got home it was time to leave again
Pros
None
Cons
Always in a rush
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Burlington, NCMarch 28, 2017
Enjoyed my job this is the company that I got my CDL lincence at good people to work with and work for only reason I turned my notice in could not go out of town was a new father at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I've worked for.
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCMarch 26, 2017
A great company to work for that also works for and with you. A company that puts just as much attention into taking care of its employees as it does in its mission and work quality.
Pros
Benefits, Vacations, Perdiem
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place ...great company
Lineman A (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 17, 2017
Excellent company...they're awesome
Good work place, condition, the partners are helpful
The foreman and all the administrative personnel are excellent
Pros
Good benefit
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Electrical Helper (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAFebruary 2, 2017
It was productive I enjoyed the job just was to far of a job. It was alot of hands-on work. Ii learned a little about the electrical circuits. It was a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring job, okay pay
Apprentice underground lineman (Joint Trench) (Former Employee) –  Matthews, NCJanuary 28, 2017
Typical day at pike, filling water cooler, loading materials, heading to job. Go over job briefing,( meaning any hazards are reconised, everyone tasks) set up work zone, unload tractor, help crew leader if he needs to spot somthing underground, and pretty much alot of sitting around while crew leader digs trench. toward end of the day is when we would pull wire, put a foot of cover over each and alot more sitting around until ditch is fully backfilled. then time to load up and go home, but nit untill 530 xcatly
Pros
N/a
Cons
Dont work on rain days, take forever to get rasies
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like job
Lineman Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Dresden, OHJanuary 22, 2017
I injoyed working for the company it was was a lot of exp.in high voltage set poles removed old wire and replaced with new line wire update all services
Pros
paid for out of town motel
Cons
no benfits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and opportunity for advancement.
Lineman (Current Employee) –  FloridaDecember 9, 2016
Pike is a great company with great benefits. It definetly depends on the region you're working in, though.. with South Florida being the best. 50 hours a week plus per diem with contracts coming in all the time. They will hire people they know and put them in a higher position and completely skip over someone who has been there for years, which is completely unfair. But this all depends on the region you're in and the type of crew/ bosses you have.
Pros
Great money
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Flagger/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCDecember 7, 2016
Good place to work some drawbacks, but they will help you get everything you need and training to get you on your way. Hard work but very rewarding
Pros
Over time and free food during
Cons
Lots and lots of overtime due to storms
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety goes out the widow when you are in the field
Aluminum Buss Welder (Former Employee) –  Creedmoor, TXMay 31, 2016
Terrible place to work.This company only hires ex-cons.No one except for my forman and me had a clean background.The ones who kiss butt keep their jobs and have it pretty easy.The ones who come to work lose their jobs when things slow down.If you have served time in Texas prisons, you'll have a lot in common with this outfit.Spend time talking about locked up places and stealing fuel with company credit card.
Pros
nothing good about this place
Cons
Superintendent nobles only hires ex-cons.He can control them he thinks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good advise to work for them.
A class lineman (Former Employee) –  NcMay 24, 2016
I wouldn't waste ammo on pike. Tell you one thing and do another. Seen people get hurt and pike will tell them not to go to the doctor.
Pros
If you know the right person you'll get a Forman job right off the bat.
Cons
Hire any body off the street or from the local bar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electrical contractor
C Lineman (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCOctober 8, 2015
This company was ok to work for. Very seldom got full time hours though and that makes it tough. I was let go for a bogus reason and therefore left a bad taste in my mouth.
Pros
Learned a great deal
Cons
no guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 114No 37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Flag Crew supervisor, Jourmey man Electrican (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 2, 2015
In the morning there is a safety meeting where we dicussed close calls and how we can prevent them. Every employee is given equal oppertunity to advance and grow. Hate I left this job
Pros
Great job and Great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 45Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't recommend pike for anyone
Linemen (Former Employee) –  Kingsport tnMay 5, 2015
If you like back braking work for a little bit of nothing and bad benefits then this is the place for you. Working with pill heads that could kill you vary easily on a day to day basis creates a uncomfortable work environment. They will promise you the world but they don't deliver. The foremen's are like high school girls starting fights between crews they sit in the trucks and get out time to time to harass employes. Job training involved cussing and getting tools thrown at you. Of all the years I've worked I would not recommend pike to any one.
Pros
Work/life balance if you don't like money 4-10s a week
Cons
Low pay, foremens, harassment, you name it
Was this review helpful?Yes 197No 29Report

See more Pike Electric, Inc. reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pike Electric, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8