Pike Electric Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pike life
Class B Lineman (Former Employee), Zanesville, OHAugust 1, 2015
Pros: good paycheck
Cons: everything else
work in trucks that are prone to break down and dont have the best tools to work with or correct tools. Bad benifits with only 401k health insurance is expensive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fast paced work environment with wonderful management and employees.
Class C Lineman (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCJuly 26, 2015
absolutely incredible place to work, a career I really enjoyed. the pay just wasn't enough for me to pay my bills at the time. overall a fantastic company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Level Two Desktop Engineer (Current Employee), Mount Airy, NCJune 1, 2015
Pros: Some interesting travel opportunites
Cons: Location
Not much opportunity for advancement due to the small size of their current IT structure. Excellent management. Broad variety of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
METER READER (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 2, 2015
Pros: benefits, and working outdoors
Cons: bad weather and bad dogs
I loved working for Pike electric, however they were a contracted company for EPB. I was laid off due to end of contract. I worked a typical 4 or 5 hour day and got paid for 8. I enjoyed meeting new people out in the field. I ran the same routes every month. I read electric meters in all weather conditions but none the less I enjoyed my job here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Grounds Crew (Former Employee), Punta Gorda, FLMarch 5, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long work hours
We gather the material from the day at the pike yard
Then we will go dig holes, set poles, and other various tasks to prepare for the electrical pole to go into the ground
At the end of the day we clean up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but rewarding work
C-Lineman (Former Employee), Leonardtown, MDNovember 25, 2014
A typical day at work included:

- Conducting utility pole climbing, construction and maintenance
- Adhering to strict operating procedure and safety regulations
- Operating/Maintaining company bucket and line trucks

Working for Pike Electric was very demanding due to the long hours and continuous storm restoration we provided along the east coast and midwest. Even though the work was both physically and mentally demanding I really enjoyed it. My co-workers were great and I earned valuable experience working with a team under stressful conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fpl was a good place to work an learn in the OVERHEAD LLINE TRADE
Journeyman Lineman (Former Employee), BRADATON FLOctober 5, 2014
fpl was a good place to work an learn in the OVERHEAD LLINE TRADE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good co-workers
Electrical Substation Technician (Current Employee), Mount Airy, NCAugust 23, 2014
start work at 6 or 7 depending day break, and work all day outdoors,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Groundsman (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 10, 2014
Pros: travel
good place travel good

got great amount of experience and met some great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Technician (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 28, 2014
it was ok to work here. the only thing that i didnt like about it was some of the crew that i worked with because they was really lazy. i thought that if you was at work you was suppose to work not sit on your butt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized & Disconnected/Disengaged Management
Class A Lineman (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCJune 17, 2014
Pros: safety
Cons: disorganized
An okay place to work. Good on safety. A lot of moving around and poor communication. Management not very forthcoming with information and follow through is lacking. They may have grown beyond their ability to manage effectively. Lack of supervisory talent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, hard work, good pay.
crew leader, helping (Former Employee), Plymouth, INMay 14, 2014
Pros: good pay, vacation time.
Cons: moving up to higher positions
A typical day involved digging ditches, laying pipe, covering up ditch, tamping it. Heavy equipment/trucks. Pulling wire through the pipe, and hooking it all up. I learned a lot about electricity and how dangerous it really is. Good management. Co-workers were really fun to work with. The hardest part of the job would have to be moving up in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
CONSTRUCTION FIELD ENGINEER QA/QC (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 11, 2014
It is fun place to work, everyone work together as team. My work days are Monday through Friday. I travel a lot am home on weekends. This can be hard to be away from home every week. The company supports you to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and safe work environment
Lineman (Former Employee), Ft Pierce FlApril 30, 2014
Performed maintenance and construction of energized power lines and equipment. Served as an A class and Lead Lineman/Team leader on several contract jobs in Miami Florida. Served as an A class Lineman performing line rehab, new construction, and street light maintenance for the city of Ft. Pierce, FL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place
Truck driver, ground man (Former Employee), mount airy ncApril 1, 2014
Pros: had benefits
Cons: working away from home
we dig holes in all enviroments, some more interesting then others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with Pike for over five years. I learned alot about safety.
Groundsman and Tractor Operater (Former Employee), Gainesville, GAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: working with good people, getting paid, healthcare.
Cons: lack of work.
My day with Pike started with driving to work locations and operating tractors and other equipment. I learned a lot about safety and safety for others. How to manage the equipment with out damaging gas lines, water lines and old power linens. The management was great to me,, was always respectful. The co-workers were like buddies always watching out each other. I think the hardest part of the job would be, digging in rock to no end. Then get a blasting crew in. Well that would make the rock easier to dig out. The best part about the job to me is getting the pay check.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job advancement
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJanuary 23, 2014
was a great job learn a lot when all over on storm duty advancement was good and pay raises was there the company gave you the feeling that they were there for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
largest electrical contractor in the world for different power companies
Class B Lineman (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: challenging work environment, large company with opportunity to advance in knowledge and position.
Cons: work out of town a lot, away from your family
Provide quality service to ensure power for residential and industrial businesses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home
Mechanic (Former Employee), monroe gaJanuary 12, 2014
great pay
high insurance cost
ok benefits
good coworkers
parts available
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
B Lineman (Former Employee), NCDecember 27, 2013
best company I have worked for. I learned a lot about line work during my time with them