Pike Electric Employee Reviews

Showing all 59 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We done all types of over head and under ground work for customer on Duke system.
Underground crew foreman (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCJune 13, 2017
I was a young man with two young babies at the time so I had to make career change was a great job just to much traveling for a family man . I learned how to work over head power and also learned how to claim power poles .
Pros
good money best i had ever made .
Cons
to much going out on outages .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always work 40 hours
Utility linemen assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NC 27030June 6, 2017
pike is a little on the underpaid side, you dont have any overtime unless storm work is present, the per diem is way under i mean 20 dollars a day for lunch breakfast and dinner you cant have that
Pros
management listens
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Telecom Contract Company
Telecom Designer UC/Synergetic (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 15, 2017
I have worked thru the same manager/director for other companies that merged eventually with PIKE. I actually work under the name of UC/Synergetic in Florida. No one works harder to take care of their people. I have not experienced working in other areas under PIKE but the company is well ran and top notch from everything I have been involved in
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experince
Groundman (Former Employee) –  Talladega, ALApril 9, 2017
Great experince but you will have to travel a lot. Learned a lot. Good place to get into the lineman field and gain experince. Pretty hard work but pretty good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Lineman Class C (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 24, 2017
Company has excellent team membership skills, with excellent upper management and are willing to work with any problems in work schedule with employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Linework
Class C Lineman (Current Employee) –  Mount Airy, NC 27030February 8, 2017
A typical day at work was a steady enjoyable day.
some what enjoyable employees, and a great boss that really cares about his men. Always got get a good lunch break.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK linework experience, horrible pay
apprentice lineman, operator (Former Employee) –  AlabamaFebruary 5, 2017
The pay scale in Alabama is rediculous. EVERYWHERE starts labor out at 14-15$/hr, not Pike in Alabama. 10-12 an hour if you are lucky. I worked with some good guys, learned ALOT and advanced quickly. Very safety focused, but have fun at the same time. Per diem won't hardly buy you a cold drink, so you better hope you can find a roommate. Always had the equipment for bad jobs when we needed it. Backyard machine, air compressor for jack hammer, mats for wet areas, etc. The company DOES NOT take care of their guys like they could. Atleast in Alabama. No Christmas bonus, no safety bonus, nothing. And low pay scale to top it off. You might get a meal at Cracker Barrel, which don't get me wrong, I like cracker barrel....but cash is a lot better. Storm work/callout is the only time you make any money working for Alabama Power. Straight 40 every week. 10 hour days/ 4 days a week. The south alabama gf is great, north gf ain't bad either. Good luck. and if you're on the crew I was on get a good rain suit and work gloves. Rain days mean hand digging holes all day.
Pros
Storm, travel
Cons
Low pay, low per diem
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Steady work
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Chipley, FLJanuary 17, 2017
12 hour days for 3 days and one 4 hour on thursday. Good possibilities of overtime. You stay very busy all throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out side work with alot of traveling
Foreman/Lineman (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCJanuary 2, 2017
Line work takes a very special breed of people not every one can be a line man. its long days an nights sometimes .and very dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork is essential
CLASS C LINEMAN-OVERHEAD DISTRIBUTION (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 20, 2016
We were organized as small teams and were dependent on each other for safety & success. The difficult part of working at Pike was the different names and procedures used from what was taught at Northwest lineman college; everything had to be relearned.
Storm duty was personally rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Pike Electric?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pike was a great place to work
Class c line (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLNovember 8, 2016
Pike was a great place to work pay is great your just on the road all the time and don't get a lot of time at home it is very dangerous Work working on power lines that's why the pay is so good I myself just got tired of being away from home all the time but I would give them a grade of B plus to work for
Pros
Great pay and work with great people
Cons
Just away from home and they do not have retirement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your apprenticship.
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Austell, GAOctober 23, 2016
Very safe and great place to work. I have enjoyed my time with pike electric. And would recommend it to anyone seeking a Carrier as a lineman.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management
Class A (Former Employee) –  Louisiana, Tx.September 26, 2016
Great Looking Trucks and equipment, no drug tests , no green card check, too many chiefs.
Very good at covering up faults and deflecting reasonability. Cheap and Power trip upper management.If you don't mind all that and you speak Mexican its
A great Company
Pros
Jack wagon
Cons
Whinners
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Class C Lineman (Former Employee) –  Gastonia, NCJuly 17, 2016
great place to work, other than being worried about being laid off due to contract negotiations. pay wasnt the best due to the type of work being performed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production was great, workers didn't want to work.
Class C Lineman (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 23, 2016
Foremans didn't want to work nor put out the work. Most employees were counting down the hours to leave, as I was counting down the hours til the next job. When I first started, it was great. I didn't know anything about services and splices, but I learned. Then it was smooth sailing after that. Until they kept bouncing me from crew to crew. I was on a crew where the C was 54 years old so he didn't care about anything. My foreman at the time was also 54 years old who had retired and was only at this job for the insurance. I stopped learning...no body wanted to teach me new things cause everyone was at the point in their career to take it easy and just show up for the day. That's why today I'm on here to further my career and keep learning. A few wise linemen told me once, "If someone tells you that they know everything about linework and stops learning? Stay away from them..." Well I most certainly do not believe I know everything. But at the time I did believe that I had stopped learning...
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything. Don't care about employees, cheap per diem, They take your per diem without telling you. Low salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Working Foreman - Overhead (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 13, 2016
Overall a great company. Equipment and safety are at the highest priority. Supervision is involved in caring. Zero safety incidents mentality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and benefits;
C class lineman (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCMarch 2, 2016
Great contract job to pursue electrical/line work if this is your desire for a career, creates opportunity for advancement with other electrical companies
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Groundsman/Lineman (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 24, 2015
This position was fast paced and crazy. It was OK just long hours and little pay. The staff was great though. It was ok the whse manager was crazy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team of People
Fleet Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCOctober 13, 2015
Great team of managers and employees. Willing to work with you in anyway. Decent pay. Benefits are not great though. Minimal vacation and holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working plenty of room for advancement
Lineman (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 6, 2015
A great company with benefits to work for a lot of opportunity for growth forty plus hours plus you work storm's excellent pay with great medical dental an vision
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
traveling out of state
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pike Electric. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 59 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

85%
14 ratings
Add your rating