Find companies:
Pike Electric
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Pike Electric Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but rewarding work
C-Lineman (Former Employee), Leonardtown, MDNovember 25, 2014
A typical day at work included:

- Conducting utility pole climbing, construction and maintenance
- Adhering to strict operating procedure and safety regulations
- Operating/Maintaining company bucket and line trucks

Working for Pike Electric was very demanding due to the long hours and continuous storm restoration we provided along the east coast and midwest. Even though the work was both physically and mentally demanding I really enjoyed it. My co-workers were great and I earned valuable experience working with a team under stressful conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fpl was a good place to work an learn in the OVERHEAD LLINE TRADE
Journeyman Lineman (Former Employee), BRADATON FLOctober 5, 2014
fpl was a good place to work an learn in the OVERHEAD LLINE TRADE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good co-workers
Electrical Substation Technician (Current Employee), Mount Airy, NCAugust 23, 2014
start work at 6 or 7 depending day break, and work all day outdoors,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Groundsman (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 10, 2014
Pros: travel
good place travel good

got great amount of experience and met some great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Technician (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 28, 2014
it was ok to work here. the only thing that i didnt like about it was some of the crew that i worked with because they was really lazy. i thought that if you was at work you was suppose to work not sit on your butt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized & Disconnected/Disengaged Management
Class A Lineman (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCJune 17, 2014
Pros: safety
Cons: disorganized
An okay place to work. Good on safety. A lot of moving around and poor communication. Management not very forthcoming with information and follow through is lacking. They may have grown beyond their ability to manage effectively. Lack of supervisory talent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, hard work, good pay.
crew leader, helping (Former Employee), Plymouth, INMay 14, 2014
Pros: good pay, vacation time.
Cons: moving up to higher positions
A typical day involved digging ditches, laying pipe, covering up ditch, tamping it. Heavy equipment/trucks. Pulling wire through the pipe, and hooking it all up. I learned a lot about electricity and how dangerous it really is. Good management. Co-workers were really fun to work with. The hardest part of the job would have to be moving up in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
CONSTRUCTION FIELD ENGINEER QA/QC (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 11, 2014
It is fun place to work, everyone work together as team. My work days are Monday through Friday. I travel a lot am home on weekends. This can be hard to be away from home every week. The company supports you to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and safe work environment
Lineman (Former Employee), Ft Pierce FlApril 30, 2014
Performed maintenance and construction of energized power lines and equipment. Served as an A class and Lead Lineman/Team leader on several contract jobs in Miami Florida. Served as an A class Lineman performing line rehab, new construction, and street light maintenance for the city of Ft. Pierce, FL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place
Truck driver, ground man (Former Employee), mount airy ncApril 1, 2014
Pros: had benefits
Cons: working away from home
we dig holes in all enviroments, some more interesting then others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with Pike for over five years. I learned alot about safety.
Groundsman and Tractor Operater (Former Employee), Gainesville, GAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: working with good people, getting paid, healthcare.
Cons: lack of work.
My day with Pike started with driving to work locations and operating tractors and other equipment. I learned a lot about safety and safety for others. How to manage the equipment with out damaging gas lines, water lines and old power linens. The management was great to me,, was always respectful. The co-workers were like buddies always watching out each other. I think the hardest part of the job would be, digging in rock to no end. Then get a blasting crew in. Well that would make the rock easier to dig out. The best part about the job to me is getting the pay check.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job advancement
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJanuary 23, 2014
was a great job learn a lot when all over on storm duty advancement was good and pay raises was there the company gave you the feeling that they were there for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
largest electrical contractor in the world for different power companies
Class B Lineman (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: challenging work environment, large company with opportunity to advance in knowledge and position.
Cons: work out of town a lot, away from your family
Provide quality service to ensure power for residential and industrial businesses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home
Mechanic (Former Employee), monroe gaJanuary 12, 2014
great pay
high insurance cost
ok benefits
good coworkers
parts available
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
B Lineman (Former Employee), NCDecember 27, 2013
best company I have worked for. I learned a lot about line work during my time with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if you like to get your hands dirty
Underground Lineman (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 4, 2013
Awesome job... Loved working for them..Wish the economy was stronger when i worked there because i got laid of.. highly recommended place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Hard Lot of Travel
C Class Lineman (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCOctober 30, 2013
Pros: company truck
Cons: ins.
Lot of travel physical job lot of climbing loud conditions very dangerous
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short work week,Long hours
Groundsman (Current Employee), Lexington Park, MDSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: short work week.
Cons: sometimes you have to leave home for a month or more at a time.
I typically help linemen with thier need like tool and etc. Ilearn how to set poles and make up transformers also cut outs.Management is very mellow and understanding people.My coworkers are Nice and easy to get along with.The hardest part of my job is hand digging seven foot holes.The easy part is helping out the linemen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot from pike.
Crew leader (Former Employee), Burlington, NCAugust 13, 2013
Pros: my own truck
Cons: working in the mud
Install cable make sure installed properly. co-workers some good some bad, management was ok could have been better if he would listen to workers. Hardest was long pulls of cable, enjoyable was not in the same area all the time and th money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Groundsman (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCJuly 8, 2013
Pros: get to go out of town
Cons: management does not have your back
not a safe company to work for. never trust another mans word. never second guess anything. management will not have your back if something is wrong.