Pike Electric Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 46 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production was great, workers didn't want to work.
Class C Lineman (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 23, 2016
Foremans didn't want to work nor put out the work. Most employees were counting down the hours to leave, as I was counting down the hours til the next job. When I first started, it was great. I didn't know anything about services and splices, but I learned. Then it was smooth sailing after that. Until they kept bouncing me from crew to crew. I was on a crew where the C was 54 years old so he didn't care about anything. My foreman at the time was also 54 years old who had retired and was only at this job for the insurance. I stopped learning...no body wanted to teach me new things cause everyone was at the point in their career to take it easy and just show up for the day. That's why today I'm on here to further my career and keep learning. A few wise linemen told me once, "If someone tells you that they know everything about linework and stops learning? Stay away from them..." Well I most certainly do not believe I know everything. But at the time I did believe that I had stopped learning...
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything. Don't care about employees, cheap per diem, They take your per diem without telling you. Low salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Working Foreman - Overhead (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 13, 2016
Overall a great company. Equipment and safety are at the highest priority. Supervision is involved in caring. Zero safety incidents mentality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and benefits;
C class lineman (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCMarch 2, 2016
Great contract job to pursue electrical/line work if this is your desire for a career, creates opportunity for advancement with other electrical companies
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Groundsman/Lineman (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 24, 2015
This position was fast paced and crazy. It was OK just long hours and little pay. The staff was great though. It was ok the whse manager was crazy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team of People
Fleet Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCOctober 13, 2015
Great team of managers and employees. Willing to work with you in anyway. Decent pay. Benefits are not great though. Minimal vacation and holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working plenty of room for advancement
Lineman (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 6, 2015
A great company with benefits to work for a lot of opportunity for growth forty plus hours plus you work storm's excellent pay with great medical dental an vision
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
traveling out of state
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor Work
Class A Lineman (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 12, 2015
Different from what I was used too. Good group of guys to work with when we did work. If it was rainy or going to rain, we did not go in so it was hard to never have a consistent pay check.
Pros
Good group of workers
Cons
Did not work during/if a chance of rain
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pike life
Class B Lineman (Former Employee) –  Zanesville, OHAugust 1, 2015
work in trucks that are prone to break down and dont have the best tools to work with or correct tools. Bad benifits with only 401k health insurance is expensive.
Pros
good paycheck
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fast paced work environment with wonderful management and employees.
Class C Lineman (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCJuly 26, 2015
absolutely incredible place to work, a career I really enjoyed. the pay just wasn't enough for me to pay my bills at the time. overall a fantastic company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Level Two Desktop Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCJune 1, 2015
Not much opportunity for advancement due to the small size of their current IT structure. Excellent management. Broad variety of experience.
Pros
Some interesting travel opportunites
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
METER READER (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMay 2, 2015
I loved working for Pike electric, however they were a contracted company for EPB. I was laid off due to end of contract. I worked a typical 4 or 5 hour day and got paid for 8. I enjoyed meeting new people out in the field. I ran the same routes every month. I read electric meters in all weather conditions but none the less I enjoyed my job here.
Pros
benefits, and working outdoors
Cons
bad weather and bad dogs
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Grounds Crew (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLMarch 5, 2015
We gather the material from the day at the pike yard
Then we will go dig holes, set poles, and other various tasks to prepare for the electrical pole to go into the ground
At the end of the day we clean up
Pros
great benefits
Cons
long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but rewarding work
C-Lineman (Former Employee) –  Leonardtown, MDNovember 25, 2014
A typical day at work included:

- Conducting utility pole climbing, construction and maintenance
- Adhering to strict operating procedure and safety regulations
- Operating/Maintaining company bucket and line trucks

Working for Pike Electric was very demanding due to the long hours and continuous storm restoration we provided along the east coast and midwest. Even though the work was both physically and mentally demanding I really enjoyed it. My co-workers were great and I earned valuable experience working with a team under stressful conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fpl was a good place to work an learn in the OVERHEAD LLINE TRADE
Journeyman Lineman (Former Employee) –  BRADATON FLOctober 5, 2014
fpl was a good place to work an learn in the OVERHEAD LLINE TRADE
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good co-workers
Electrical Substation Technician (Current Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCAugust 23, 2014
start work at 6 or 7 depending day break, and work all day outdoors,
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 10, 2014
good place travel good

got great amount of experience and met some great people
Pros
travel
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 28, 2014
it was ok to work here. the only thing that i didnt like about it was some of the crew that i worked with because they was really lazy. i thought that if you was at work you was suppose to work not sit on your butt.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized & Disconnected/Disengaged Management
Class A Lineman (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCJune 17, 2014
An okay place to work. Good on safety. A lot of moving around and poor communication. Management not very forthcoming with information and follow through is lacking. They may have grown beyond their ability to manage effectively. Lack of supervisory talent.
Pros
safety
Cons
disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, hard work, good pay.
crew leader, helping (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, INMay 14, 2014
A typical day involved digging ditches, laying pipe, covering up ditch, tamping it. Heavy equipment/trucks. Pulling wire through the pipe, and hooking it all up. I learned a lot about electricity and how dangerous it really is. Good management. Co-workers were really fun to work with. The hardest part of the job would have to be moving up in the company.
Pros
good pay, vacation time.
Cons
moving up to higher positions
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
CONSTRUCTION FIELD ENGINEER QA/QC (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 11, 2014
It is fun place to work, everyone work together as team. My work days are Monday through Friday. I travel a lot am home on weekends. This can be hard to be away from home every week. The company supports you to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5