Find companies:
Pilkington
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

Pilkington Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved that I was able to work with a lot of the public and meet ner people
Line Operator (Former Employee), Shelbyville, INJuly 8, 2014
A typical day for me was walking what we called the mile, I would walk to my line a start prepping for the night as for my co-workers I feel we was able to get along great. My manager was a great man to work for, I personally loved working for this factory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilkington
Glassworker (Former Employee), Versailles, KYJuly 4, 2014
Pros: pay day
Cons: when it was hot/ cool
Going to work in the am to pack glass and inspected glass was alright at times. I learned how to find vents in car windows i had fun working with my coworkers at Pilkington we had fun. When it was hot in the builging no A/C or cool
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Delivery Driver/Warehouse (Current Employee), Williston, VTJune 30, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: sometimes the job is very trying.
The fellow drivers I work with are outstanding people.The hardest part of the job is receiving product and trying to load trucks at the same time.The most enjoyable part of the job is going home at the end of a hard day. Management needs to work better with drivers when we have problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
During the years of 1997 thru to 2003
Assembly/Press Operator, Production Associate (Former Employee), Niles, MIJune 18, 2014
Pros: fantastic insurance, benefits and vacation time
Cons: new management
It was a great place to work. Management and co-workers were fun, demanding and fair to everyone. I learned how to work with co-workers in a factory setting. I now know how car windows are encapsulated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My opinion
Hot End Team Leader/Quality Control (Former Employee), Lathrop, CAMay 21, 2014
In charge of supply and other coworkers making sure everything was done properly and safely. Check sheets were to make sure it was done and complete for smooth operation. Worked in the hot department and going off check list to ensure safety of other employees during transitions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good paying place to work.
Fork Truck Operator (Current Employee), shelbyville,indianaMay 6, 2014
Pros: good insurance
Cons: hours, the heat
Pilkington is a really laid back factory. I have learned the key of timing so production can run good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very good work place
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), Clinton, MIApril 8, 2014
good place very good people and i had the experience about work with windshields
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and enjoyable work.
Warehouse/Driver (Current Employee), Pasco, WAApril 6, 2014
Pros: great coworkers. great customers. fun enviorment, never a boring day.
Cons: no advancement, pay raise no matter how many times they tell you otherwise. no time for breaks
The corporate office will lie to you.
Many problems with inventory and unfinished prodjects due to this locations crazy high employee turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was an adventure...
Glassworker (Current Employee), Lathrop, CAFebruary 27, 2014
That factory was a place many had called our second home. Throughout my career there I had many different experiences that left a lasting impression upon me and helped mold me into the man I have become today. I was proud to say that I worked there, and even prouder when I saw what some of our finished product had become. From automotive windshields – more... to building products, I could say that I had a hand in making that. It is unfortunate that the factory will be closing. For many of us envisioned retiring from there. I myself had been eagerly climbing the job ladder and I too thought I would retire from the Company one day. I have made many lasting relationships, and will take all that I have learned with me onto my next endeavor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for. Wages are great. Benefits were good. It is sad that the Plant will close this year.
Glass Worker/Warehouse worker (Current Employee), Lathrop, CAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: great wages and benifits for area. union plant, low turn over rate.
Cons: there was always a concern for plant closure
Global Company but the plant In Lathrop Ca. had a small Company feel. Low turnover rate. Some parts of plant had a rotating schedule and others were straight shifts. Working with raw sheet glass could be dangerous at times but training and safety were a priority. It was a level playing field when It came down to shift workers verse the company. We were – more... all there for same reason. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity is what mattered most in this environment
Glass Inspector (Former Employee), Shelbyville, INDecember 20, 2013
Pros: the pay
Cons: walking a mile long plant in steel toe boots daily
A typical day at work was i jump on the assembly line and start inspecting the glass for defects. I learned how to work in a warehouse environment. The hardest part of my job was standing for 11 hours a day and walking a big plant. The most enjoyable part of the day was definitely when it was time to go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with many different jobs available
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Grovecity OHDecember 2, 2013
Learned new skills that I didn't have before coming to Pilkington. Was training on a forklift as well as loading and unloading trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no one will talk with you
Operator (Former Employee), Athens, ALNovember 21, 2013
the people will not work well with you. ex: in the winter you are working close to a heater, and if you are hot and sweating, and you turn on the fan that is near you then the other workers will turn off the fan and they have a sweat shirt on and you are in a short sleevel teeshirt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great atmosphere to work in
Production Assembly (Former Employee), Niles, MISeptember 24, 2013
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: hot work
Great place to work but very to the book on policy. one mess up and you will get fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Car Glass Distributor (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 16, 2013
The pay is good, but they don't give a lot of time off. Management and co workers are great! It's like a family there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work. Good hours, and holidays off.
Lead Operator (Former Employee), Niles, MIAugust 31, 2013
Pros: hollidays and weekends off. catered lunches.
Cons: short breaks, really hot.
A typical day at work was starting up the press and putting out the best product possible.
I learned a lot about encapsulation and prodution work.
Management was good at getting answers when needed and taking care of issues that may have occured in a timely manner.
Co-workers were fun to work with and worked well as a team.
The hardest part of the job – more... was the extreme heat in the summer months inside the factory.
Most enjoyable part was the satisfaction of having a great run, having hollidays and weekends off, and the hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrical Shift Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Laurinburg, NCAugust 8, 2013
Pros: good atmosphere
Cons: wasn't permant position
forklift operator, ewell parker operator,& transfer glass to different areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great beginner job in production
Production Associate (Former Employee), Lexington, KYAugust 6, 2013
Pros: good work environment
Cons: ability to move up
awesome team atmosphere, very rewarding when production is met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inbound Sales/Call Center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Morrisville, NCMay 20, 2013
Pros: free lunches, team work, acknowledgement
Cons: fast paced, stressful, multitask
On a typical work day I sold automobile glass to companies. This was an inbound and outbound call center. This job consisted of daily billing, data entry, working with Excel, and other clerical duties.

I learned about automobiles and how to use spread sheets.

Management provided constructive feedback and was always available when help was needed.

The – more... co-workers were always ready to work and help each other.

The hardest part of the job was getting billing done on time while still having to take inbound calls.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with fun, motivated individuals and also being able to form relationships with continuous customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Delivery driver/Warehouse (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 14, 2013
I was a delivery driver as well as stocked inventory in the warehouse. Very easy job to deal with outside of a few heavy objects to move around. I found the other employees and management easy and fun to get along with. Pay was above minimum wage but not by a whole lot but decent compensation verses the work expected.

1 2 3