Find companies:
Pilot Catastrophe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Pilot Catastrophe Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
IRT (Current Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 2, 2014
It is a very productive, professional place to work! The hours are long but I have enjoyed working for this company and this family...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Administrative Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 11, 2014
I have worked at Pilot for almost ten years, and just think it is time for a change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilot
Allstate Deployment (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJune 26, 2014
Pros: job duties/pay
Cons: temporary
I loved what I did here. It was a temporary position. I loved my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position
Check Processor (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMay 7, 2014
Pros: management was fair
Cons: long hours
Enjoyed working with the Customer. I enjoyed working with my co-worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little work the past 2 years
Auto Adjuster (Current Employee), Mobile, ALMarch 24, 2014
Pros: helping people in need and seeing the country
Cons: not enough work
A good company when they have deployment opportunities. They are not happy when they lose adjusters based on work. They understand, but have no other choice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long work hours
All Lines Property Adjuster, Pilot Catastrophe (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMarch 13, 2014
not a place to work if you have small children as the hours are long days off are not scheduled in advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Pleasant Management
Disaster Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 25, 2013
Pros: breakfast and lunch was provided numerous times
Cons: no advance notice of assignment ending
Working for a family oriented company was a good experience. This company is very professional, and you know they are there for you, should you have a need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company for financial recooperation and nationwide exposure
Insurance claims adjuster/ Agent Advocate (Current Employee), Mobile, ALNovember 17, 2013
Pros: travel and the exposure to different cultures and geographics[
Cons: the project just being temporary.
Typical day evolving helping policy holders streamline their claims of disaster and calming tempers of insures feeling alienated so coverage can be satisfied
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Independent Adjuster / Catastrophe Adjuster (Current Employee), Mobile, ALNovember 13, 2013
Pros: great management
Cons: some short deployments
Good company if you like Catastrophe work. Management is helpful for your success. Hardest part of job is being gone from home weeks at a time and that may be the most enjoyable part as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 30, 2013
Pilot is a productive company. They are all about their customers. They set goals and make sure they are met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Agent Advocate (Former Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 16, 2013
Enjoy Learning New Things, Everyday is a learning experience and love working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Company to work with
Catastrophic Property Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 6, 2013
Pros: flexabiliy and freedom to develop the most efficient system to close claims quickly
Cons: time away from family, long hours, no control over # of storms
Typical day after arriving at storm site:

Call customers within 24 hrs after claims received, set appointments, determine legal liability and extent of damage to property, review prior losses, assist in the quick resolution of claims by working with policy holders to investigate, evaluate and conclude claims including verification of coverage, assess – more... losses and pay for covered losses within the carrier's policy quidelines. Set 2-4 appointments a day depending on extent of loss, inspect the loss, (roof, exterior elevations/interior, other structures, contents), create an estimate,label pictures, document all activities associated with the claim, call customer to discuss claim when complete, upload all information to carrier for review, confirm appointments for the following day and return all phone calls and email.

A close relationship with management and fellow adjusters is imperitive to maintain productivity and complete claims in a timely manner.

The hardest part of the job is time management due to the volume of claims and scheduling appointments so that as many as possible can be written on site as table tops. Uploading of all claims, labeling pictures, activity notes, reserves, invoices, etc also must be done daily to stay on track and provide good customer service.

The most enjoyable aspects of the job: I love helping people and developing a relationship from the first phone call that conveys to the customer that I am there to help and pay for covered damages in a timely manner. The process is overwhelming especially to elderly customers. I truly enjoy being the face of the carrier that I represent and making the claims process efficient. I also love climbing on roofs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claims Adjuster
Flood and wind adjuster (Current Employee), Moblie, ALSeptember 28, 2013
Property Adjuster scope storm damage to roofs, siding, gutters, inside water damage, flood work through FEMA,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job
Property Adjuster (Former Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: traveling
Exciting and fun job. Hardest job I have ever done but very rewarding. Once you get a bad rating, hard to be sent back out. This is not a full time job. Storm hits, you work like CRAZY...make GREAT money and then home you go until the next storm...If you are a family person...this may not be the job for you. Its LONG hours, seven days a week...no days – more... off! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Insurance Claim Processor (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 15, 2013
Processed claims for Disasters
Efficient in Xactimate programs
Provided customer service for clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automobile claims CAT unit
Automobile Adjuster Catastrophe Unit (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 15, 2013
Pros: great pay and helping people in need.
Cons: being away from home, contractor for hire. when the claims run out, the work runs out.
I was contacted by Pilot shortly after Hurricane Sandy hit the East Coast. I traveled to Pennsylvania for a two day crash course training on how to use their automobile estimate software. The managers did not want to be handling this storm and they let everyone in the classroom know it. The work was challenging but very rewarding. I helped a lot of – more... people with their auto claims due to the storm and it was the first time in my insurance career that people appreciated me. My territory was northern New Jersey. The daily pay plus per diem was the best part of the job. Being away from home and family was the worst. You are a contractor for hire. So when the claims end, the work ends. The demand of claims was about what I expected it to be. You get claims the night before. Make your calls to schedule your appointments. Go out on your appointments. Write up estimates and print checks. Go back to hotel and write up claims. Report to manager and submit claims processed. Start all over with calling and schedule appointments for the following day. Stay with your routine and learn best practices from some of the better managers. One claim at a time one day at a time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense, fast pace and very supportive environment
Outside Adjuster (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TXApril 1, 2013
Pros: limitless potential
Cons: unstable
The typical work day is far from average. It is very intense and fast paced, it is not for the "faint at hart". This is why I love to be deployed during a catropshic event. My superior skill sets have allowed me to fit into the companys protocol of being an adjuster. The fact that there is not day of mundane activity, learning is a promise and managemnt – more... is supportive, they make you feel horoned to be an asset. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company
Allstate Deployment (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMarch 19, 2013
Excellent company, great environment, loved the work, good compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Money!!!
Inside Total Loss Adjuster (Former Employee), Hudson, OhioMarch 8, 2013
Great money but save all you can as you never know when will be released. Good people though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 17, 2012
Pros: the opportunity to wear jeans to work
Cons: no benefits
I enjoy working for this company but the have a lot of favoritism going on if you arent in the right circle you dont have a job when it gets slow. Its a temp company meaning the will let you go when they feel the need. It is still a nice place to work cause it gave me a chance to gain knowledge of the insurance business.