Pilot Flying J Employee Reviews

Found 717 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the interaction with the customers.
Overnight Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDNovember 28, 2016
The customers made the job worth it. The manager at that time was not great. It was graveyard so the hours worked for me at that time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with a purpose.
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Ripon, CANovember 24, 2016
I learn something new everyday at work. I even learn skills that I can bring home and use. My co workers are what will make or break my day. I enjoy going to work as long as there is a positive work environment.
Pros
Free drink with shift.
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent but not great
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLNovember 23, 2016
Store management are good at what they do, but the upper management act like they don't care to some degree. Truck driver are more of headaches.
Pros
Great workers
Cons
Raises hard to get
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mountain Home, IDNovember 20, 2016
I adapted well with co-workers and learned how to work under pressure. The company itself had unrealistic views on what only a handful of people could do when it gets so busy at night.
Pros
half off lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a fast paced business and many opportunities to advance with a little hard work.
Guest Sevice Leader (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 19, 2016
They expect one person to do the work load of three or four people. They offer very little as far as comendations for jobs well done. They do offer insurance and education assistance. It is always exciting going to work because you have the opportunity to meet several diverse people and there is never a dull moment. The management team is normally there to assist you when needed, but sometimes they are way to busy to deal with some of the cashiers. For the past 7 years I have enjoyed my job there because I was able to apply the skills I have in management and training.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Expectations of company for employees work expectations are unrealistically outrageous.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GANovember 18, 2016
Amazing coworkers and managers Even the district manager was courteous of the well being of the employees we had plenty advancement skills to further out employment in the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and Exciting
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNNovember 12, 2016
It's a nice place to work if you can look past the drama. Customer base isn't the greatest at this location but it happens. Had no real issues with employees or management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty great
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Arkadelphia, ARNovember 8, 2016
This is a great place to start and advance quickly. The environment is pretty great because you get to me different people from around the world. The pay could be better but its okay for someone to be starting out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are alot of chances for advancement if you work hard.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (Current Employee) –  xxxxxxxxxNovember 6, 2016
Pilot is a good company to work for if you are wanting to climb the corporate ladder. It's a very fast paced and interesting job. You will meet people from all walks of life. I have learned a lot about management working for Pilot.
Pros
They have started employee incentive
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYNovember 6, 2016
fun and fast pace work extremely busy great coworkers all dedicated to taking care of our guest and driving sales,the hardest part of the job was maintaining standards due to such a high volume.the thing i enjoyed the most was the customer interaction.the thing i learned most was how to manage my time in order to get my daily task accomplished.
Pros
pay and working environment
Cons
long hours many days longer and twelve hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck stop
Lead Cashier/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Springdale, ARNovember 4, 2016
I took care of the customers while working on my own stuff making sure the drivers had what the needed. You do meet some very interesting people and the stories they have to tell are very interesting.
Pros
half off deli items while on clock
Cons
do not pay enough.not enough hours and not enough staff over nights.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hectic work place
Maintence (Former Employee) –  Pontoon Beach, ILNovember 3, 2016
There is a lot going on all the time, with little time to do it. They go through a lot of workers because they ask too much out of everyone. Therefore if you stick with the company, you can move up fast. Management that are hired in put in little effort to help employees. Co-workers that have moved into management are very helpful because they know the struggle and are actually there for you. Train you very vaguely then throw you into the wolves.

**Maintenance workers will have to change the trash along the diesel pumps that haven't been changed since the day before, so they will packed full and rip, and are overflowing with bags of trucker URINE that will drip all over you**
Pros
Fast Advancements
Cons
Working here sucks and they know it so they hire anybody, Therefore not many people work there for very long.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Retail Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYNovember 2, 2016
Manager was very unhelpful and rude to employees. Didn't offer help. Brought overall moral down for entire plaza. Very difficult to work for. Enjoyed the position itself.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tuck Stop
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYOctober 27, 2016
Work eight hour shifts, no schedule consistency, handling money and truck drivers transactions.
learned-stronger money handling skills, retail, check transactions and computer.
Management- can be challenging to get days off, communication wasn't always there.
Co-workers- never by yourself at register.
hardest part- dealing with unhappy customers, and scheduling.
Pros
paid weekly
Cons
hours, never know what your scheldule will be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Boonville, MOOctober 27, 2016
There was no employee appreciation and the pay was horrible. I would not recommend anyone to work for this company. The owner is all about money in his own pocket and does not care about the small people working for his business.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i worked overnight so the paste was steady
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 26, 2016
It was OK could of been a better work environment due to management at the time now they have a new owner but the people I worked with I like for the most part
Pros
meeting people from all over the US
Cons
dealing with grumpy truck drivers an theft
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, busy workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCOctober 25, 2016
Flying J is a truck stop which was always busy throughout the day. The managers were great and my co-workers were very friendly. It was a pretty simple job but I loved dealing with new people everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a starting job.
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Knox, INOctober 25, 2016
Staff was very reliable and understanding. If I had an emergency, they would give me the day off without getting mad. Pay was good for a high school job. Everyone was very friendly and helped everybody out. I would go back to work here if I had the chance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work but management is bad
Food Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Childress, TXOctober 24, 2016
Great Benefits, good place to work except for management treats you and talks down to you like your a child, needs to be dealt with immediately otherwise this store will eventually fail
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and team players
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILOctober 23, 2016
Enjoyed the teamwork,had fun serving the customers while preparing their food, liked keeping the business clean as well as meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport