Pilot Flying J Employee Reviews

Found 782 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilot flying j
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Caddo Mills, TXFebruary 24, 2017
Great first job I learned a lot working there and there employees were great to work with. Overall was a life learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Newnan, GAFebruary 23, 2017
I overall enjoyed working here, however the one time I had to call out due to a wreck they told me it was okay and then simply stopped scheduling me, telling me it was because the schedule was too full (too many employees?)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work-
Fuel Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 23, 2017
i been working for this company for 12 years and i can wait to find another job. our new RM is an idiot he have no clue of what his doing at all.pay have gone down we be lucky if we work 40 hours a week,
Pros
none
Cons
everithing you can think
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Davenport, FLFebruary 21, 2017
Good place to work great people and benefits. Managers can be a little overwhelming but great pay and all other coworkers were nice also in a good location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-paced work environment
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCFebruary 18, 2017
Pilot Flying J was a great first job and gave me some experience as to what is needed in the work place. The hardest part of the job was the poor structure and the best part of it was the experience I received.
Pros
Great first job
Cons
Poor structure
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment services for OTR drivers
General Manager Designate (Former Employee) –  NebraskaFebruary 18, 2017
Very fast paced environment. Typically short staffed. Facilities vary from location to location. If you're motivated their management training programs are outstanding. Lots of opportunities for advancement, but must be willing to work very hard and produce results.
Pros
Great training, support teams and upper management are great
Cons
Labor budget constraints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Food Service Leader (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTFebruary 17, 2017
Pilot is a good place to work. The only problem is that everyone is plays around and does not pay attend to the customers. The management staff is horrible. It is easy to get angry and fired. Otherwise it is a good company to work for.
Pros
guaranteed hours
Cons
management, never flexible with your needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace , coustom service
Lead Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Heiskell, TNFebruary 17, 2017
I lived pilot more than any other job , I had to leave and take care of dieing brother. I pray iican get mu cashier job back . Im a excellent worker.
I loved the gast pace ,coustomers, and all employees
Pros
Love being a help making someones day better
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Richey rd. Houston tx 77090February 16, 2017
This company is great you want a to make sure your duties are done on time and help others with team work..Focus on the job and yourself also remain humble and kind and curtious
Pros
Level up
Cons
Team work avaibilty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, but lacks opportunities for advancement
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Frystown, PAFebruary 15, 2017
The work at PFJ Subway was easy to do, but the management could be improved, and it is difficult to move up in the company. Most of the staff was easy to get along with, but not everybody would complete what was required of them.
Pros
50% discount on food up to $4, and Christmas bonuses
Cons
Unpleasant customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meeet a different varitey of people and culture.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Evanston, WYFebruary 12, 2017
Typical day at work was very pleasant and enjoyable.
I learned a great deal about how a corporate company works. Management taught me alot and thats why I got chosen to be a manager. Very varied culture, it was different. Hardest part of the job I think was trying to make guests happy and them not wanting to be made happy. The most enjoyable part was meeting different people from different parts of the country.
Pros
Enjoyable crew of people to work with.
Cons
Not long enough lunch times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, ARFebruary 11, 2017
Running shifts, doin truck orders make sure we fully stock ,unloading the truck and being a good leader
And dealing with alot of truckers
Pros
The benefits and people
Cons
The stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive interactions between coworkers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Clearlake, iaFebruary 8, 2017
I liked my manager and she helped a lot with transportation and making sure we were all done before our shifts so we could all go home on time.
Pros
Good overall teamwork
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always on call
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 7, 2017
I loved my job it was intense and I enjoyed the fast pace. Great support system no matter what it is you need help on. You can call a General Manager to the main office for help.
Pros
Awsome support given with great rewards.
Cons
Always on call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you to death
Baker (Current Employee) –  Brooks, ORFebruary 5, 2017
If you go to work for Pilot be prepared to work 6 days a week to get your 30 hours a week. They have benefits after you have worked for 60 days.
The best thing about the place in the people. They make it worth the time you put in. The truck drivers are the most awesome people.
Management is demanding and unyielding. If you screw up once you mine as well look for a new job. Do not ever plan on calling out sick or without Transportation. They will come pick you up for your shift. If you call out sick make sure you get Doctors notes.
If they had a different Management Team it would be the best job in the world.
Pros
None
Cons
worked to death
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an experience to remember
Lead Cashier (Current Employee) –  Peru, ILFebruary 4, 2017
My time spent at flying j has been short this tine around as I worked there in the past about 5 years ago. However my time gave me some insight on a way to handle things in a new way.
No day is exactly the same here at flying j but its something you have to experience yourself.
Pros
employee meal discount
Cons
envirnoment, staffing issue, some of thr managment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work ever!!!
Former emoloyee (Former Employee) –  Moriarty, NMFebruary 3, 2017
This company is a hard core joke. Zero training and they throw you into the job to sink or swim. Don't waste your time. Workers are rude along with management.
Pros
Zero
Cons
Very hostile enviorment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good long term job.
Guest Service Leader (Former Employee) –  Peculiar, MOFebruary 2, 2017
when you get into management it becomes a black hole that will consume all your personal life and eat away at family life.
Pros
discounted meals, decent benifits.
Cons
can barely take full breaks, lazy employees, hire anyone off the streets, no background check or drug test.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flying js
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Ardmore, OKFebruary 2, 2017
It was a fun job and good pay . The people were nice and I loved working with the truckers. My job title was to make sure the store was clean and nice for the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and fun
Manger (Current Employee) –  Caddo Mills, TXFebruary 1, 2017
I like my job people were great ,taking care of the drivers , with soo many people coming in a day I was always happy to see the regularys and the employees
Pros
family
Cons
crazy days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pilot Flying J. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 802 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1