Pilot Flying J Employee Reviews

Found 992 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, KYAugust 20, 2017
I worked here 4 years on overnight. I loved my job as diesel desk cashier. The customer were awesome. They tip if you had clean shower and fresh coffee
Pros
Money
Cons
Some customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job - Bad management
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Hebron, INAugust 20, 2017
Can't trust management for the drivers. They will fabricate a lie if it benefits them. Retaliation by management is allowed. Company is getting more strict every day. Used to be a great job but the powers that be are full of themselves and will take down anyone that gets in their way. Just not worth risking your career and reputation for this company when it's one of the lowest paying for the drivers hauling HAZMAT. Company won't fix equipment unless it's a DOT requirement. Lead driver gets a new truck while all the other drivers get junk.Co-workers will stab you in the back creating a hostile work environment.
Pros
Discounts for food, 401K.
Cons
Expensive benefits, low pay, Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHAugust 19, 2017
It was a laid back environment with very understandable expectations that were not difficult to meet. Pay was fair considering job title and expectations.
Cons
Began cutting hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be a good place to work
manager (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNAugust 18, 2017
I learned a lot working for this company. I know they have had some ethical issues. I think that arose from having been a small independent company. They kept that small time thinking even after they grew big and should have been more professional.
I knew an HR person who worked there years ago who tried to "clean it up" and get rid of the unethical issues... but he was fired for it.
All in all though, I enjoyed my job and my time there...
Pros
great benefits. Working for the original owner was a Pro for sure.
Cons
unethical practices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hesperia, CAAugust 18, 2017
Love working with the drivers.
Need to appreciate their employees better
Communication with employees not good
Need to hire for management within company first
Pros
Love the customers
Cons
Treat employees unfair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pase
Lead Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Breaux Bridge, LAAugust 18, 2017
nice work environment. i always like going there. learned a lot about day to day operations. i also advanced quickly. this is a job i would recommend to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair and poor managment
Shift Leader/Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Pacific, MOAugust 16, 2017
Don't treat there employees equally. The restaurant general manager sucks and makes for a bad work environment. I learned a lot about running shifts and how to be a leader. But. If you have a criminal background you can't advance in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
GUEST SERVICES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Sioux City, IAAugust 16, 2017
Pilot Flying J is a home for all types of truck drivers passing through, as well as the numerous other types of drivers. So, I dealt with many different types of personalities. Where I had to have a tough skin and a great sense of humor in dealing with a fast-paced environment and where there was little room for error.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours
Night Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Portersville, PAAugust 15, 2017
Many hours, good oppurunity for overtime. Benefits and great management. I would refer this job to anyone willing to work 8-10 hours. very repetitive though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of leadership, horrible customer base.
Guest Service Lead (Current Employee) –  Austintown, OHAugust 15, 2017
Working for this company is as stressful. In the 20 years in the business I have never worked for a more incompetent group of upper management. PFJ is just like all the other retailers out there, underpay the team members, short staffing, unreasonable expectations and all the while the upper management clock out at 5 and don't care about the rest of us. If we don't meet there expectations the middle managers get chastises. They don't want to hear anything about how to fix the problems they just want us to fix them. Unfair and unreasonable.
Pros
Great team.
Cons
Management, customers, work load, company philosophy, schedule, no family time unless the GM likes you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fast pace work enviornment.
Restaurant Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTAugust 14, 2017
The job is easy but so much fun. You stay super busy because there's a lot to do but it makes the day go by fast! There are 3 parts of the store the gas station, subway, and taco bell so there's a lot of great people to get to know.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hampton, NJAugust 14, 2017
I have no good or bad to say it was a job something to pay the bills. Pay was okay for tbe work it was. Benefits was also okay. If push comes to shove i will reapply.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great wonderful place
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Franklin, OHAugust 14, 2017
I absolutely loved working for this company. The best job ive ever had. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone not just to work there but to shop there as well. Its a amazing place to shop or to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, IAAugust 14, 2017
Management is not professional
Team members are very rude
What I learned was you had to watch your back at all times.
Customers/truck drivers at times were very rude to the cashier.
Pros
None
Cons
Rude none professional
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Food service lead 2 (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAAugust 13, 2017
Hours are constantly changed without being asked first. Restaurant is poorly ran. As long as the rgm gets her days off then everybody should be happy, right? Wrong idea. Job advancement doesn't exist if you do your job correctly.
Cons
short breaks if you even get the chance to have one, always short staffed, no unity between managers, always stuck on certain shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to be a great place with better management
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  NYAugust 13, 2017
Poor management in the store, pay is not determined properly, not enough employees to cover the shifts. I loved the job, adored my customers, but management made it impossible to stay.
Pros
Customers, admosphere
Cons
Management, hours, no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Restaurant Supervisor (Current Employee) –  TennesseeAugust 12, 2017
You could meet a lot of great people
Management needs improving
Too much drama
Great hours
Good benefits
Would be an great place to work if great team work was inforced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job sucked
Deli/coffee host (Former Employee) –  Evanston, WYAugust 11, 2017
Staff is only out for they're own positions and own shifts. Put way too much on work load, made it hard to grow there. Did not like my experience with this company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLAugust 10, 2017
This was a second job for me and it was terrific. It wasn't stressful or tiresome so it worked perfect. The location I worked at was 24/hr so it made it easy to work with my other schedule.
Pros
2 paid 10min breaks
Cons
Greyhound bus station, interstate traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMAugust 10, 2017
It's a good place to work as long as you dont mind cleaning showers and toilets after truckers and buses and homeless people have used them. Other than that it is a great and fun place to work
Pros
Great people lots of fun
Cons
Can be pretty gross sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pilot Flying J. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,013 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1