Pilot Flying J Employee Reviews

Found 721 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers but AWFUL management!
Third Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Marion, NCDecember 7, 2016
I loved my job and the duties it included, and I loved my customers! The management was the reason i no longer work for the company after many complaints to management I was told "It is a mans world" for the reason I was not promoted before a new employe.
Pros
customers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworker and Productive
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Pecos, TX and Hobbs NMDecember 7, 2016
It's a good job stay busy Physical work different work areas inside and out good people to work around good pay clean showers take out trash sweep mop pressure wAsh. Outside wash towels fold
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 6, 2016
I really enjoyed working here.the pay was decent and they had benefits.I unfortunately moved over 200 miles away and relocated.I would love to work for this company agin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Deli Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSDecember 6, 2016
Pilot flying J is a great place to work with outstanding career advancement. I worked for Pilot flying J for about 4 years before having to quit my employment due to late pregnancy complications. I was very pleased with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average job, good pay.
cashier (Former Employee) –  Clear Brook, VANovember 30, 2016
There is not too much to say about this job. I was a cashier. On a daily basis, I would complete transactions on the register, assist customers with any questions, complete gaming payouts for lotto tickets, data entry for reserved parking and weight tickets, print weight tickets, answer phones, brew coffee, keep work area clean, and several other small tasks. This job was great for keeping on the move.
Pros
We had a bit of a lengthy lunch break and the was always coffee available.
Cons
Sometimes you run into a rude customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the interaction with the customers.
Overnight Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDNovember 28, 2016
The customers made the job worth it. The manager at that time was not great. It was graveyard so the hours worked for me at that time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with a purpose.
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Ripon, CANovember 24, 2016
I learn something new everyday at work. I even learn skills that I can bring home and use. My co workers are what will make or break my day. I enjoy going to work as long as there is a positive work environment.
Pros
Free drink with shift.
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent but not great
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLNovember 23, 2016
Store management are good at what they do, but the upper management act like they don't care to some degree. Truck driver are more of headaches.
Pros
Great workers
Cons
Raises hard to get
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mountain Home, IDNovember 20, 2016
I adapted well with co-workers and learned how to work under pressure. The company itself had unrealistic views on what only a handful of people could do when it gets so busy at night.
Pros
half off lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a fast paced business and many opportunities to advance with a little hard work.
Guest Sevice Leader (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 19, 2016
They expect one person to do the work load of three or four people. They offer very little as far as comendations for jobs well done. They do offer insurance and education assistance. It is always exciting going to work because you have the opportunity to meet several diverse people and there is never a dull moment. The management team is normally there to assist you when needed, but sometimes they are way to busy to deal with some of the cashiers. For the past 7 years I have enjoyed my job there because I was able to apply the skills I have in management and training.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Expectations of company for employees work expectations are unrealistically outrageous.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GANovember 18, 2016
Amazing coworkers and managers Even the district manager was courteous of the well being of the employees we had plenty advancement skills to further out employment in the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and Exciting
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNNovember 12, 2016
It's a nice place to work if you can look past the drama. Customer base isn't the greatest at this location but it happens. Had no real issues with employees or management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty great
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Arkadelphia, ARNovember 8, 2016
This is a great place to start and advance quickly. The environment is pretty great because you get to me different people from around the world. The pay could be better but its okay for someone to be starting out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are alot of chances for advancement if you work hard.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (Current Employee) –  xxxxxxxxxNovember 6, 2016
Pilot is a good company to work for if you are wanting to climb the corporate ladder. It's a very fast paced and interesting job. You will meet people from all walks of life. I have learned a lot about management working for Pilot.
Pros
They have started employee incentive
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYNovember 6, 2016
fun and fast pace work extremely busy great coworkers all dedicated to taking care of our guest and driving sales,the hardest part of the job was maintaining standards due to such a high volume.the thing i enjoyed the most was the customer interaction.the thing i learned most was how to manage my time in order to get my daily task accomplished.
Pros
pay and working environment
Cons
long hours many days longer and twelve hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck stop
Lead Cashier/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Springdale, ARNovember 4, 2016
I took care of the customers while working on my own stuff making sure the drivers had what the needed. You do meet some very interesting people and the stories they have to tell are very interesting.
Pros
half off deli items while on clock
Cons
do not pay enough.not enough hours and not enough staff over nights.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hectic work place
Maintence (Former Employee) –  Pontoon Beach, ILNovember 3, 2016
There is a lot going on all the time, with little time to do it. They go through a lot of workers because they ask too much out of everyone. Therefore if you stick with the company, you can move up fast. Management that are hired in put in little effort to help employees. Co-workers that have moved into management are very helpful because they know the struggle and are actually there for you. Train you very vaguely then throw you into the wolves.

**Maintenance workers will have to change the trash along the diesel pumps that haven't been changed since the day before, so they will packed full and rip, and are overflowing with bags of trucker URINE that will drip all over you**
Pros
Fast Advancements
Cons
Working here sucks and they know it so they hire anybody, Therefore not many people work there for very long.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Retail Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYNovember 2, 2016
Manager was very unhelpful and rude to employees. Didn't offer help. Brought overall moral down for entire plaza. Very difficult to work for. Enjoyed the position itself.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tuck Stop
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYOctober 27, 2016
Work eight hour shifts, no schedule consistency, handling money and truck drivers transactions.
learned-stronger money handling skills, retail, check transactions and computer.
Management- can be challenging to get days off, communication wasn't always there.
Co-workers- never by yourself at register.
hardest part- dealing with unhappy customers, and scheduling.
Pros
paid weekly
Cons
hours, never know what your scheldule will be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Boonville, MOOctober 27, 2016
There was no employee appreciation and the pay was horrible. I would not recommend anyone to work for this company. The owner is all about money in his own pocket and does not care about the small people working for his business.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pilot Flying J. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 739 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1