Pilot Flying J Employee Reviews

Found 918 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing company
Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 21, 2017
I have worked here for 6 years. PFJ seems like a totally different company. Eveytime you turn around something else changes. There is talk about changing our pay. I wish PFJ would be straight with us & tell us what is going on.
Pros
Most times easy to deal with. Paid weekly. Set days off
Cons
Not enough pay for hauling fuel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you really NEED a job
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Wells, NVJune 21, 2017
Its fine if you don't have other options. Management tends to keep on employees that leave their jobs unfinished for others to do without reprimanding them.
Pros
Ok work for the pay
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJune 20, 2017
A decent place to work at. Reasonable pay and work life balance. Good people and amazing customers. A great place to grow and learn from. Definitely a career builder.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace to work.
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Salina, KSJune 20, 2017
The people were great to work with. I enjoyed the guests that shopped and ate there. They were very interesting and made work enjoyable. I would work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJune 20, 2017
Part time cashier
Easy going employees, enjoyable if interactions with new people is good for you, and decent pay for standing around. Fast paste as well. Only have been trained as cashier. Get 40 hr/wk. Management is really fun as long as you do your job.
Pros
Breaks, employee discount
Cons
Rude costumers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilot Flying j
Deli Team Member (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIJune 20, 2017
I had a great experience working at pilot flying j i enjoyed doing what I did the most there I wanna go back there and work again. I would do what your told because if you don't then one of your other co workers will have to go behind you and do the work you was supposed to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a reasonable place to work for the wage thats paid
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Cattletsburg, KY.June 19, 2017
The amount of work that one person does in one shift is considerable when you have a busy day,with all the prep work that must be done. On a busy day in the deli sales can be upwards of 2300. That's usually one associate per shift. We generally work 39.5 hrs.a week if you are full time.
Pros
50% off lunches. 2 ten min.breaks 30 min. Lunch
Cons
Not enough associates to cover shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall A very different culture atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CAJune 19, 2017
Co workers are Great , The customers coming in rude and in a bad mood and be prepare to get hit on and harrased . Must be Able to work under stress homeless are always stealing and given the employees a hard time .
Pros
Free drinks, Nice school schedule
Cons
Bad salary, Weak management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCJune 19, 2017
I hated this place they don't follow their training system or any other system for that matter. Managers sleep in the office on duty . Too much drama.
Pros
50% off your meal
Cons
no sick pay no vacations no benefits and a lot of favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays the bills
Maintence (Current Employee) –  Leavenworth, INJune 18, 2017
management is not very organized. typical day at work is stressful, as we are always short staffed. hardest part of the job is the way customers treat you, and they ways they disrespect the store. the most enjoyable part is the pay check.
Pros
free fountain drink a day
Cons
under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place great experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 18, 2017
i loved my job nice place to be i would love my job back i enjoyed helping all truckers with information they didnt know learned how to cash checks and clean showers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Atalissa, IAJune 16, 2017
I enjoyed working with this company several times off and on from 2008 to 2017 it is friendly staff and family environment open door policy I also learned new areas of the store
Pros
raises and productive
Cons
little overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional work environment-Managment
Service Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Effingham, ILJune 15, 2017
Management is rude, unprofessional, lazy and condescending. does not appreciate their workers and takes advantage of their title by avoiding duties. Very disappointed in my experience.
Pros
nothing
Cons
Unprofessional atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJune 15, 2017
A typical day at pilot was making coffee, dealing with customers/truckers. The managers and people I worked with were very nice and respectable. It was definitely a nice work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got to eat free
Front Line Server, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint Marys, GAJune 15, 2017
deli manager did not know how to delegate, she had her FAVORITES, and no one else mattered, she would cuss in front of customers, she did not know how important it is keep food areas clean, very unprofessional person, not a people person.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a pleasant place.
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Drums, PAJune 14, 2017
There are multiple big city buses that come through daily, rude employees, managent doesn't care about what is happening. The only bonus is you get 2 paid 15 minute breaks and an unpaid half hour meal.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Assiatant Manager (Former Employee) –  Palm Springs, CAJune 14, 2017
2 managers that have been there for a while like to Screems all the time to employees and treat them like slaves. Will allowed harassment by managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They make it fun, but productive. You work as a team!
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIJune 13, 2017
Pilot is a great place to work, fun but productive. You work as a team and get the task at hand done. Friendly environment. Everyone helps each other, it's like working as a big family to provide excellent service to the customers throughout the day.
Pros
Half off with discounts when working
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, usually had a good time when working with certain supervisors
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXJune 11, 2017
usually busy, would have something to do when customer rush hours died down
Enjoyed my co-workers, not the GM
learned new cash register system
did not have to do any maintenance work, had our own maintenance people
Pros
maintenance workers, did not have to do trash or bathrooms
Cons
GM was uncorroperative
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People friendly
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSJune 10, 2017
Enjoyed working here alot of good people here and even the customers were very good and nice to us in return there is room for advancement and it is a positive environment and the management team was awesome
Pros
Fun
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pilot Flying J. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 939 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1