Pilot Flying J Employee Reviews

Found 810 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYMay 20, 2016
Supervised workers. Set assignments. Resolved worker problems, complaints. Interpreted job orders, company policies and procedures. Set deadlines. Responsible for training, disciplining. Maintained the existing customer base. Communicated changes in policies, procedures, and strategies. Resolved customer complaints. Assigned duties to employees. Attended company meetings. Conferred with management and subordinates to resolved worker problems, complaints, and grievances. Demonstrated equipment operations and work and safety procedures to new employees, and assigned employees to experienced workers for training. Recommended and implemented measures to motivated employees and to improve production methods, equipment performance, product quality, and efficiency. Recommended personnel actions such as hirings and promotions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Cashier/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Fremont, INSeptember 20, 2016
Little job/career advancement, mostly because each store has a limited number of positions.
Fairly busy on 1st and 2nd shifts. Management is very good about helping you if it gets busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, but lacks opportunities for advancement
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Frystown, PAFebruary 15, 2017
The work at PFJ Subway was easy to do, but the management could be improved, and it is difficult to move up in the company. Most of the staff was easy to get along with, but not everybody would complete what was required of them.
Pros
50% discount on food up to $4, and Christmas bonuses
Cons
Unpleasant customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would Not Recommend
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Haubstadt, INSeptember 17, 2016
Management didn't take employees concerns into consideration. Pay was low. Was expected to work numerous different positions successfully without ever receiving help.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
low pay, management sucks, no benefits even if full time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company bad manager
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brooks, ORSeptember 11, 2016
Store manager at the location I worked created extremely toxic work environment and had bad ethics and morals. Company itself is a great company with good benefits and career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor customer service training
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOMarch 27, 2017
Employee training is poor. Management always had different procedures to go by. Never knew which manager to follow by their procedures of doing things. Unorganized work area. Never enough food to prep... Such as pizza toppings or salad ingredients. Etc etc Under staffed always.
Pros
Hourly wage
Cons
Management, other employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the working atmosphere but the upper management during the merge with flying was a bit unprofessional.
Truck Driver / Lead Driver (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 13, 2016
I was lead driver in charge of three trucks. it was good and my drivers we professionals. no more advancement. I wanted to work in the field of my degree.
Pros
work on your own. was given task and had to complete them on time.
Cons
had workers above me who did not have the skills to do their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilot
Consumer Interactions Team Member (Former Employee) –  Sonora, KYJanuary 30, 2017
Pilot was a fun, upbeat work environment. Unfortunately the opportunity for advancement was not very attainable. After working there for over a year, with the site's best up-sales, and one (excused) absence, the promotion I was going for was given to the boss's friend who missed at least 2-3 days per week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Days go by fast team members are nice to work with...
Maintenance / housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, AlabamaOctober 1, 2016
This place they don't want you to have two jobs they want you to have one job and come full-time but they don't give you full time hours it would be 20 hours 10 hours tops inspect you live off that. And management needs to improve. The pay 10 hours but they don't give any hours or overtime. My check equals up to 150 a week if that...
Pros
50% off on lunch.
Cons
Hours. Management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You better be ready to work!!!!!
Guest Service Leader (shift manager) (Former Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VADecember 31, 2016
I worked for Pilot for 8 months, there were over 30 people who left during that time. They have huge turn over because they will hire anyone, no drug testing. Some people come in tore up. In my position, I was pretty much garenteed my 36-40 hours. The cashiers on the other hand would get scheduled 26 and only be able to get close to 40 when someone quit or didn't show up which was very often, but after helping to cover, they would be scheduled 24 or so hours on next schedule. I liked the People I worked with and didn't mind the drivers, but I felt like I and most everyone else was doing the job of 3 people consistently. One week they would say we received more hours to staff the store and the next week those hours would be taken away. Constant drama, mostly bc you never have time to finish your task so the next shift comes in griping. And that cycle never stops. People miss time and sometimes don't even call to say their not coming and still keep their job. Pay and benefits are above average though, but you will work your self to death for them. I learned a lot when I worked there about the truck driving industry, it is very interesting. But this is a soul sucking, dead end job.....sad thing is, it doesn't have to be.
Pros
Discount meals, great benefits, fun
Cons
Extremly busy most of the time, huge turn over, ALWAYS understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work , Long Hours, Good Company.
Traveling Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJanuary 8, 2017
Great people to work for, job is very demanding and the hours can be very long, ranging from 45 to 65 hours a week . Must be knowledgeable in many trades and aspects of various maintenance techniques.
Pros
Work independently
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYNovember 6, 2016
fun and fast pace work extremely busy great coworkers all dedicated to taking care of our guest and driving sales,the hardest part of the job was maintaining standards due to such a high volume.the thing i enjoyed the most was the customer interaction.the thing i learned most was how to manage my time in order to get my daily task accomplished.
Pros
pay and working environment
Cons
long hours many days longer and twelve hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are alot of chances for advancement if you work hard.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (Current Employee) –  xxxxxxxxxNovember 6, 2016
Pilot is a good company to work for if you are wanting to climb the corporate ladder. It's a very fast paced and interesting job. You will meet people from all walks of life. I have learned a lot about management working for Pilot.
Pros
They have started employee incentive
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tuck Stop
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYOctober 27, 2016
Work eight hour shifts, no schedule consistency, handling money and truck drivers transactions.
learned-stronger money handling skills, retail, check transactions and computer.
Management- can be challenging to get days off, communication wasn't always there.
Co-workers- never by yourself at register.
hardest part- dealing with unhappy customers, and scheduling.
Pros
paid weekly
Cons
hours, never know what your scheldule will be
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Davenport, FLFebruary 21, 2017
Good place to work great people and benefits. Managers can be a little overwhelming but great pay and all other coworkers were nice also in a good location.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured and Fun
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  1522 W MarketDecember 16, 2016
I had a lot of fun at Pilot. Management really cares about how work schedules sometimes need to revolve around certain aspects of personal life. I loved the customers and how well I was treated there.
Pros
Team player environment. Fun repeat .
Cons
Some of the truck driver's attitudes were poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its work and lots of it
Travel Center General Manger (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMarch 19, 2017
Communication is limited and often conflicts with other information. Team members are told one thing and the management another. This kind of issue does not build team morale or motivate them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place. Lots of advancement opportunities.
Food Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAJune 9, 2016
Excellent place to work. Like a family. Bi-Yearly evaluations and raises. Great management team, and crew. Appreciation given for good work.
Pros
raise and advancement opportunities
Cons
no free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Deli Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSDecember 6, 2016
Pilot flying J is a great place to work with outstanding career advancement. I worked for Pilot flying J for about 4 years before having to quit my employment due to late pregnancy complications. I was very pleased with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you must devote entire life to move up
Manager (Former Employee) –  Gary, INAugust 1, 2016
upper management has unrealistic expectations of store managers and staff. Company rarely promotes upper management from within. Says their customer service driven but its all about money. not a family friendly company.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
bad upper management, too demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pilot Flying J. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 830 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1