Pilot Flying J Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never recommend Pilot Flying J corp.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAAugust 3, 2017
At the time I was there they were aggressively cutting payroll leaving more and more in the GM's plate. Great tools if you had time to use them, no work life balance....worked many 12+ hour days and 7 day weeks! My district manager was not equipped to handle his position. The only enjoyable aspect of this position was the associates in the locations.
Pros
None, leaving the company.
Cons
everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, little reward
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  North Salt Lake, UTAugust 2, 2017
When I worked at Flying J, I was put into the role of a manager in all but name. I had to work, do inventory, work as a cashier, do the work of five people, and still leave product prepped for the night shift so they wouldnt have to do as much, no matter that the night shift barely had any work to do to begin with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment lots of gosip
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, ALAugust 2, 2017
needs new management hrs. not guaranteed get hired for fulltime but not guaranteed fulltime hrs get told one thing then the complete opposite happens
Pros
pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress work with poor employees
Lead Cashier (Current Employee) –  South Beloit, ILAugust 2, 2017
This job is fast paced with high stress. Employees do not show or call leaving everyone to pick up the slack and not even reprimanded. They are willing to work to get you a decent schedule
Pros
Free drinks discounted lunchs
Cons
Poor employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Wells, NVAugust 1, 2017
Good company to work for. Working hard to improve their culture but upper management is not always in tune with what is really happening at store level.
Pros
Good solid company
Cons
Salaried management works many more hours that contracted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cinnabon was a very desirable eatery and everyone was glad to see you.
Lead Cinnabon Trainer/Coffee Host (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, OHAugust 1, 2017
Was responsible for opening of Cinnabon in the early morning and also trained new employees as needed. Many of the customers were so happy to see you and come in the store because the cinnabon smells so delicious.
Pros
Customers and the atmosphere of the store
Cons
Sometimes late breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just ready for a change
Manager (Current Employee) –  Jackson, GAAugust 1, 2017
Pilot flying j is all I know and I excelled in the company. I'm ready to move on to something with better opportunity to move up in the conpany so i can do better for myself. I'm great with people, and I have a work ethic like no other ( and I have references to back me up). You would not regret hiring me.
Pros
Corporate does make minor efforts to make employees happy
Cons
Works double shifts and on off days with no chance of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My dream job!!! and then there is Management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Carefree, INJuly 29, 2017
I loved every minute there until new management took over and everything went down hill from there I worked my way to management hoping to save the morale in the store and was shot down every chance I got at making a difference. eventually the gm took an employees side over her managers and I was fired and the girls side she chose over mine quit on her!
Pros
great customers
Cons
long hours, bad management, wasted time, huge turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat, fast paced
Travel Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Vienna, GAJuly 28, 2017
Pilot Flying j used to be a employee orintatated business, it is not so anymore.Their new policy is burn the up, burn them out they is plenty more people looking for jobs.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tjy
Cahsier (Former Employee) –  Blue Island, ILJuly 28, 2017
It was an ok job. Night shift could have been better. Managers were all lazy and had problems committing to the work themselves. Could not get a day off for school at one point because of manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice thev
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Danville, VAJuly 28, 2017
The building was clean showers was decent food area was kept clean and organized the garbage was kept clean and organized everything was going well then I left for more money
Pros
Excellent experience
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Lead Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYJuly 28, 2017
Management rewarded you by who you knew and not job performance. Don't recommend ever applying for this company ever unless you value being lied to and worked like a slave
Pros
benefits
Cons
High school politics by management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great time working and learning
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lufkin, TXJuly 27, 2017
Great place to work and loved the people that I worked for. You will meet many people from all over and you get to know their wants and needs. The company is fast paced and easy to absorb.
Pros
All pros
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Overnight Associate (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJuly 27, 2017
This was a wonderful place to work. Overall I would highly recommend checking them out. They have amazing management there and the way they train people is a very simple and easy to understand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and energetic.
RSS Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHJuly 26, 2017
I started the company when I was 26 years old. I originally worked for Flying J. They were bought out by Pilot and I was able to keep my job. It was a place to learn new ideas.
Pros
Freedom
Cons
Was never fully recognized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balance and good environment
Maintenance Man /Laundry (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, TXJuly 24, 2017
My duties was to maintain showers,clean the store floors, powerwash oil by gas pumps,use a golf cart to ride around to get trash and restock store inventory
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
while in school
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Findlay, OHJuly 22, 2017
this job is great for any high school, or college student who needs a flexible schedule and health benefits. this job like any other will have its ups and downs but all around its an easy job!
Pros
discounts, health insurance, and easy people to get to know
Cons
short breaks, sometimes stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the customers
Guest Services leader 2 (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTJuly 22, 2017
I loved my job there. The pay wasn't bad because management got quarterly bonuses. The manager was arrogant and rude. to employees and customers. I would go back there if it wasn't for him!
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
Cleaning showers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry level job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Troy, ILJuly 19, 2017
If you don't have a lot of work experience, this is a job that will get you by. You work directly with food and customers, in an environment that can be incredibly fast paced and unrewarding.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No benefits, hours depend on your experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 19, 2017
I loved my regular customers that was a good place to work. I had awesome employees I had an amazing manager and district manager. I was appreciated there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pilot Flying J. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,061 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1