Find companies:
Pilot Travel Centers LLC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
305 reviews

Pilot Travel Centers LLC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast pace employment
Supervisor/Cashier (Former Employee), Upper Sandusky, OHAugust 18, 2014
Pros: friendly co workers
Cons: shifts worked and no days off or time with family
Loved my job but became to much working 1st and 3rd shift in one day then 2nd the next day. With a family with young kids they had to live with a babysitter as I was always working. Never had more then 12 hrs off for over 2 years of the time employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Fremont, INAugust 18, 2014
Providing customer service, setting customers up for fuel, running the register, handling money, checks, credit/debit cards and keeping the station stocked and cleaned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an ok company.
Cashier (Former Employee), TuscaloosaAugust 16, 2014
Pros: most employees
Cons: family
This was a good company to work for, the only problem I had was family working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place
Shift Leader (Current Employee), Saint George, UTAugust 12, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: manditory breaks, co-worker conflics.
I love coming in to work, being crossed trained being able to do things from shift leader to deli. I enjoy how busy we are with all the tour buses and truckers. I also enjoy having a list of specifics to get done on a daily shift keeps us busy. I do enjoy most of my co-workers. I feel sometimes there is favoritism but, in the end everything balances – more... out and makes it a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great spirited environment
Retail Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Austinburg, OHAugust 3, 2014
It was a very busy job. I learned that there is never any downtime to gather yourself. It's a go, go, go job. The people I work with were amazing, so friendly and down to earth. The hardest part of the job was trying to keep everything organized and follow behind other employees that weren't so job oriented as I was. I loved talking with the people – more... that came through, helping customers and seeing them look happy when they left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilot
Cashier (Current Employee), Pittston,PaJuly 31, 2014
Pros: benefits, co workers and management, job security
Cons: short staff, call offs and working doubles. people not being held accountable.
We'll I feel pilot expects a lot on overnight with two staff it's hard to get everything done. Cleaning, customers, manager stuff, the cooler and drawers. Even if they would hire a Maintenance person to up keep night Maintenance it would elevate some of the stresses of cleaning bathrooms/showers and garbage. We can focus in dusting shelves, restocking, – more... up keeping with coffee, customers focus, organize the store and focus on other areas. My co workers are ok. My management team makes time for me if I need to talk.
I worked for Wendy's for one month and pilot general manager hired me for his side. I still feel like we are all family in this jiggy jungle. Pilot is a great place the just need to understand you can't except two people to run a store on night shift and expect them to clean, restock, customers, organize and do other stuff. Day shift gets 10 people, mid shift three and night shift two. At least give night shift three people or at least one cashier, one manager and one maintenance person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life and lots of stress unless on first shift
guest service leader 3 (Former Employee), KentuckyJuly 26, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: no breaks, no life, crazy hours store never closes
First shift runs with about 10 people then goes to 3 people in the afternoon then 2 people on the over night. You do not have a life and will always be short staffed. Have to cover call offs then get in trouble cause your in overtime. Mandatory lunch break even if it means you clock out for lunch and stand there and run a register so you don't get fired – more... for not clocking out for a lunch which you don't get.

Promises after promises get made and never get followed through with. Always say there is room for growth and advancement but continue to hire outside of company.

If your a female don't think about I've never seen a GM or Co-GM as a female. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 24, 2014
I handled balancing the previous shift's sales, stocked and cleaned the store. Made sure the store was 'showroom ready' every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Cashier ringing (Former Employee), Marianna, FLJuly 23, 2014
pilot travel center is a great place to work for great management great coworkers every body helped each other customers were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Deli Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 15, 2014
Pilot Travel Centers was a fantastic company to work for. Along with advancement options, the benefits were outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway In the Pilot 431 orange Texas i was on management team
Team leader Subway (Former Employee), Orange TxJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: bad managment, and no team work, always working short handed
Hello was working at the subway in the pilot gas station 431 orange tx, and do not reply.. you cant be sick are have the flu they count it against you, and the whole management crew sucks and all the company cares about is there self and there own money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management at the time.
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Oak Grove, KYJuly 10, 2014
This job was awesome. My advancement was super fast and very worth the fast paced go go go! A new store manager came in and knew nothing about the computer systems that we operated on and made things very hard. WE all felt that we were doing his job for him. My co-workers worked very hard and we really were a very good team. I would go back and work – more... for this company in a heart beat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Gary, INJuly 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch and sometimes a day off with pay.
Cons: always change of management every year.
Everyday i was in charge of making sure my crew was happy and enjoy working for this company. Well made customers feel like there was at home and enjoy they company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm a dynamic, results-driven office professional seeking a challenging administrative position with opportunities for growth and advancement.
Workers Compensation Assistant (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 5, 2014
I'm a hard working individual who is dedicated and willing to take on any tasks that are asked of me. I'm professional and know what it takes to get a job done. I work well with my co-workers and also work well independently. I'm a team player and willing to pitch in and help where I see that help is needed. I enjoy interacting with other people and – more... making a difference in what I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company with poor management
Manager/Guest Service Leader (Current Employee), Richfield, OHJuly 1, 2014
Pros: customer interaction
Cons: management
Pilot is a company that has some of the better support from the corporate level that I have ever experience in working. At times, we've seen corporate members running registers in stores in order to assist customers. However, they lack the time in stores to understand the necessity for times where an extra body is needed (they use computers just based – more... on sales, rather than actual customer interactions). Along with this, our staffing being shorted from last year by a significant amount has put our general manager in a poor scheduling position and has essentially made me the low man on the totem pole, working first, second, and third shifts all in the same week, and sometimes consecutively. There's a real lack of understanding for any persons basic needs from the general manager, whom originally hired me to work zero overnight shifts. Poor management, along with false promises have steered me away from this specific manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor lot management
lot attendant (Current Employee), Winchester, VAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: pay, coworkers and the customer
Cons: management!
Overall an okay place to work. My main problem is that I get complaints from truck drivers about trucks being left in the fuel pumps and also trucks parking everywhere they are not supposed to and my manager could care less about it? I thought we were supposed to make drivers want to stop here for fuel , food and whatever else. I actually had a truck – more... driver go in and complain about me waking him up to move his truck , , because he was blocking a lane, and I was reprimanded for it?? I guess I'm just a lowly peon who doesn't get the bigger picture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really like working for this company.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAJune 30, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no medical benefits
It was a early morning job. I enjoyed working there found a better job making more money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on where you work.
Guest Service Manager (Current Employee), Pacific, MOJune 26, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: no social life
I work at the Pilot Travel Center in Pacific, MO and I hate it! The manager here does not allow you to have a life outside of work and he does not take responsibilities as a GM. I am a GSL2 (Guest Service Manager) and I have more responsibilities then my GM.

My co-workers are AMAZING!
All day you get yelled at by truckers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place ive work to date
Cashier/stocker (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMJune 23, 2014
Loved working everyday, made such good friends of employees as well as customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Experience for 1st timers
Restaurant Shift Leader (Former Employee), Fernley, NVJune 22, 2014
I worked at Pilot for over 3 years, it was my first job at age 16. I was making minimum wage and never saw a raise unless there was an increase in minimum wage. when i turned 18 i asked to take over for a manager who had recently left. I interviewed and did the training and was promoted to a restaurant lead. They gave me a raise of 0.25 for training – more... and said i would see another raise after i finished. after i finished they gave me an 0.18 raise..... WOW. i did more than lead work, I scheduled employees, interviews, hired and disciplined. I managed invoice, supplies and incentives for employees. I LOVED my direct supervisor( the restaurant manager) so i was happy to help with the load, but i hardly ever got appreciation from the general manager ( i wasnt looking for praise, but didnt want to be criticized or talked down to on a regular basis) luckily that general manager left before i did. I finally gave my notice to move out of town for school, they ended up hiring someone from outside the company to replace me and offered her almost $1.00 more than i was making an hour, rather than promoting someone i reccomended to do the job. I agreed to train the new person and she never showed,.... Karma i say. I left soon after and eventually they promoted the person i recommended. all in all, i think this place is perfect for a first job but opportunity for advancement or decent pay is like pulling teeth. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Pilot Travel Centers LLC

Pilot Flying J (PFJ), formerly Pilot Travel Centers, steers truckers and otherĀ motorists to more thanĀ 550 company-owned and -operated – Read more

Pilot Travel Centers LLC Photos