Find companies:
Pilot Travel Centers LLC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
292 reviews

Pilot Travel Centers LLC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement is available
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Pleasant Hill, NCJanuary 6, 2014
I enjoyed working for Boars Head. Great people, good training, great benefits. I like all the perks with the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place, but has problems
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Battle Creek, MIJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: good in store management
Cons: low pay, very infrequent raises/promotions and low value of employees
The workplace isn't all bad, but there are a lot of frustrating things about it.
Sometimes corporate expectations are unreasonable, and they solve problems a lot slower than they should.
A large portion of the coworkers I had would be unreliable and call in frequently without being available to come in if someone else did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place always meeting new people.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Fort Pierce, FLJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: ...
Come in and get set up with my register. Apply my customer service and sales skills at the counter up-selling items to the customers. The people, including management, were great to with with, as we all had outgoing personalities. Which is a MUST for a fast paced environment! Not really a "hard part of the job, but if I had to pick something, would – more... be on the 3 truck days. Unloading and filling shelves was the longest days. I just really enjoyed talking to people from all over the world traveling as well as truck drivers and hearing their stories. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn different things and meet so many friendly travelers.
Maintenance (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: discount on lunch and friendly vibes from co-workers to customers.
Cons: lack of schedule as far as breaks and assignments.
It was alright. The only issue I've had is the organization from management, it was difficult to work with management because I could not figure out what direction they were trying to go. I even tried to work with them to see what it will take to better the store. I had a positive experience with other co-workers and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended for the hard working or disabled employees.
Former maintennance employee (Former Employee), Shepherdville, KYDecember 31, 2013
Pros: plenty of free food and store merchandise behind the scenes.
Cons: all sorts of managerial and osha violations in the store.
I am a former employee and "Honorably" discharged U.S. Navy veteran. I had worked for Pilot in maintenance at their Shepherdsville, Kentucky location during the 2013 year.
During my employment at this store I personally witnessed the store manager discriminate against his hard working and disabled employees in regards to promoting his brown-nosing employees. – more... Whom where actually bigger thieves than the customers at this store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and high paced enviroment
Travel Center Manager (Current Employee), Jackson, MSDecember 25, 2013
Run Day to Day operations of the Travel Center. I was responsible for the Inventory Controls and Labor percentages in the travel center as well as the P&L control. A typical day is very high paced dealing with the trucking fleets that use our location on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ideas, condescending management
Manager (Current Employee), SCDecember 20, 2013
Pros: customers, coworkers
Cons: short breaks for employees, no breaks for management, no life outside work
I would never recommend this company unless you are single and want to live at the store. Ten hrs required daily however never worked less then 13 hr days. No understanding for obligations outside of the company. Especially if you have kids. Upper management would tell you to fix numbers but wouldn't help you do it or have ideas to help. My suggestion – more... is run! Run away fast! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over-worked and under-paid
Maintenance Person (Former Employee), South Bend, INDecember 17, 2013
Pros: 50% lunch disount
Cons: expect too much from one person during their shift.
Over worked and under paid. Understaffed in maintenance position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced 24 hour company
General Manager (Former Employee), Davenport, IADecember 16, 2013
Very fast paced company. Stores are open 24 hours every day of the year. Staffing is a big challange in some remote areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Work Environment
Retail Maintenance / Cashier (Former Employee), Eloy, AZDecember 10, 2013
Management created hostile work environment. Got along with fellow coworkers when certain people in management were not around. Good for person who has no desire for advancement. Management wants employees to not have life outside work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very fun enviroment to be in!
Cashier (Former Employee), Florence, SCDecember 9, 2013
Pros: we got 50% off of the attached resturant while on the clock.
Cons: not enough hours
It was a great experiance to work at The Pilot Travel Center, I was able to meet all kinds of people that were traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in providing customer service and managing shift
Shift Leader (Current Employee), Winona, MSDecember 3, 2013
Pros: incenitive bonus, health care
Cons: short staffed
A typical day at work consists of proper time management so that I can make sure that all things are prepared and ready for the customer to buy. I learned how to handle customers well. I also learned how to manage shift, instruct employees, and provide wonderful customer service. I also managed deposits, completed payroll, and managed the safe. The – more... hardest part of the job is leaving work on time because I never leave a task incomplete. The best part is the customers. I am always glad to see a friendly face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast, Clean, and Friendly workplace.
Customer Service (Current Employee), Milford, CTDecember 2, 2013
A typical day includes greeting and helping customers. Being friendly with everyone who walks in. Handling large amounts of cash, processing sales, etc..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I am looking for
Manager (Current Employee), Seville, OHDecember 2, 2013
I am responsible for P&L, scheduling, deposit, ordering, and many other managerial functions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace
Fuel Desk Attendant/Cashier (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PADecember 1, 2013
Pros: getting along with everyone
Busy day at work, enjoyed my time working here with other co-workers as well. Hardest part of the job=none, just losing it. Most enjoyable would be the variety & different types of people that came in from all over. I enjoyed & got along with 99% of my customers. I loved my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation? Thats a joke..
Overnight Shift Leader (Former Employee), Oak Grove, KYNovember 21, 2013
Pros: great breaks, good management
Cons: low pay, underappreciated
Pilot would be a great place to work if the pay was a little higher. For what you do your greatly unappreciated. On the bright side you get to meet a lot of different people from different walks of life. But keeping the place clean, and dealing with everything that goes on for minimum wage? that's a little uncalled for..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and nice people
Cashier (Former Employee), Woodhull, ILNovember 19, 2013
fun place to work and super nice people. were always busy. it was close to were i lived and the first truck stop that gave me a chance and the experience i needed to get where i am today
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leave all your problems at the door
Cashier (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHNovember 14, 2013
Pros: ...
Cons: min. wage, low moral, terrible management
Rude, smelly, truck drivers.
Learned to clean showers when maintenance people didn't show for work.
Management needs to evaluate themselves. Promoted the wrong people!
Co-workers were good. No problems there...
Hardest part, putting up with rude local truck drivers, esp. the sexist ones!
Enjoyable part...?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People
Customer Service (Current Employee), Wildwood, GANovember 11, 2013
Everyone is very friendly, and I enjoy being able to work with a lot of great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal
Team Leader (Former Employee), all overNovember 9, 2013
Pros: all pros
Cons: poor choice by gm in some employees
ran register, counted safes, counted drawers, answered phones, settled credit card machine, cooked

About Pilot Travel Centers LLC

Pilot Flying J (PFJ), formerly Pilot Travel Centers, steers truckers and otherĀ motorists to more thanĀ 550 company-owned and -operated – Read more

Pilot Travel Centers LLC Photos