Find companies:
Pinellas County Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Pinellas County Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lesson Learned
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLDecember 3, 2014
Pros: working with children
Cons: not a family friendly work place for when children are sick.
Hardest part was leaving because I really enjoyed working with the children and I did not expect to be let go because my own children were sick and I had to tend to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with the Students Staff as well as the Parents
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Largo, FlNovember 26, 2014
Pros: loved the job, being in charge of my bus with no complaints.
Cons: management at times
I learned how to maintain student behavior while keeping my eyes on the roads and traffic. I got along with co-workers although I chose to keep to myself to avoid the gossip mill. Sometimes getting support from my Supervisor would be difficult. But I was able to figure out the situation on my own. The students made my day. Getting them to & from safely – more... and seeing their smiles, priceless! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
ESE Associate (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLNovember 2, 2014
Love the job, hate the pay and lack of hours. Great experience if you love kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a Dull Moment
Middle School Teacher (Current Employee), Pinellas County, FLNovember 1, 2014
Pros: work 10 months with summers off with pay, vacation time
Cons: inadequate salaries, raises rare, high stress
Working in a middle school environment has been an interesting experience to say the least. Oftentimes, teachers are expected to wear a variety of hats to meet the needs of a diverse population of students. Teachers are greeters who welcome students into their classrooms; instructors with a passion to help students absorb content; advocates to ensure – more... students' needs are being met; surrogates when parents/guardians are absent; counselors who listen to a range of issues or coaches who develop academic and/or physical skills. These and many other duties are entrusted to teachers who work with adolescents. With this in mind, a typical day is never typical for an educator.

Based on my experiences, one invaluable lesson learned from working in the field of education is that one must remain flexible. Unexpected circumstances or events are inevitable. And, there is no possible way to plan for them all. Furthermore, in order to endure the daily rigors of teaching young minds, teachers must learn to use prudence when managing time especially. Although expectations can become daunting, having balance inside and outside of work can alleviate some of the stressors that accompany daily responsibilities such as: paperwork, conferences, trainings, testing, parents, and more. Thus, peers are a great resource. Fellow colleagues can provide support necessary to work with middle school students during a work day, while family can keep one focused on what is important after work hours.

Overall, teaching is rewarding. Although frustrations arise, witnessing the maturation of adolescents and helping them to maneuver through grade levels so that they may become productive citizen is very gratifying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TRANSPORTING STUDENTS TO AND FROM SCHOOL.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Largo, FLOctober 19, 2014
A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK,,, DRIVING WAS A VERY FUN EXPERIENCE, IT WAS MOST BEAUTIFUL TO ACT AS YOUR OWN BOSS… THE THING IN WHICH I LOVED THE MOST WAS,, BEING ABLE TO VIEW PINELLAS COUNTY, AND NOT BEING CONFINED,, IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL THING…!!! MOSTLY I LOVED THE CHILDREN, BECAUSE I BELIEVE THAT I MADE A DIFFERENCE IN THEY' RE LIVES… THE HARDEST PART OF THE – more... JOB WAS LEAVING…. MY CO-WORKERS WERE GOOD PEOPLE… THEY WERE ALWAYS THERE TO LOOK OUT FOR YOU.. WE LOOKED OUT FOR EACH OTHER,, THEY WERE LIKE FAMILY. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO SEE WHAT WAS GONNA GO ON FOR THAT DAY!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
English Teacher, English Department Chair (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 8, 2014
Pros: hours, vacation days
Cons: student behavior; lack of parental involvement, evaluation tool constantly changes
Pinellas County schools is a great place to work overall. The best schools are those which have strong parental involvement and supportive administration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Trying AND Rewarding Experience
Mathematics Teacher (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLAugust 28, 2014
Teaching is such an awesome experience! The most important thing to remember is that we, as teachers, are placed in the lives of the students to serve. On those occasions that are not so pleasant, remembering WHY is usually the best tool to use to move forward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Flexibility
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Largo, FLAugust 11, 2014
Flexible Work Environment - perfect for student. Worked at schools throughout Pinellas County filling in for absentee teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent school district to work for.
PK-2 Teacher (Former Employee), Tarpon Springs, FLJuly 18, 2014
Pros: staff recogition, meetings, nights out, excellent parents
I loved working with Pinelllas County Schools. I learned so much from peers and their excellent staff trainers. The people I worked with were warm, compassionate and great teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Title I teachers work with one to four students at a time to help them get to grade level academically which is very rewarding.
Title I Teacher (Former Employee), Pinellas County, FLMay 6, 2014
Pros: small groups of students to work with
Cons: no benefits as a part time hourly employee
I enjoyed working with the teachers and students as well as the administration. The work is very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoy working with the kids.
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLApril 21, 2014
A very good experience. Worked with kids hands on who were apart of our program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work team work,
Interpreter for the Hearing Impaired (Current Employee), Clearwater, FLMarch 23, 2014
Pros: staff support each other
Cons: no raises for administration (not school
Good staff to work with, excellent support, good team. I need a part time job to
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what a ride
Field Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Largo, FLMarch 17, 2014
Pros: health care and pension
Cons: location
The school board has been an interesting place to work, although the travel to and from is taking its toll on myself and my vehicle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
Teacher (Current Employee), Science TeacherFebruary 9, 2014
There is no typical day teaching. Students bring a different outlook on life daily which means you, as a teacher, must constantly be on your toes to "roll with the punches". I have a fantastic group of co-workers who work together to make the day go as smoothly as possible. Just as the rolling with the punching makes the days consistently different – more... that, at times, also makes the job difficult. But that challenging part is what makes teaching so fun. By far the most enjoyable part is getting the notes, comments, or affirmation from former and current students that you had a positive effect on their life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Clearwater, FlJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: stress free workplace
Cons: pay was not feasible
I really enjoyed working with special needs children. I also enjoyed my co-workers. They were all loving and giving people. It was refreshing.

I could not afford to continue employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with children
Teacher (Current Employee), Largo, FLNovember 30, 2013
Pros: students, adminstration, co workers
Cons: not many breaks
I am a first grade teacher at a wonderful school. My coworkers are great and so are my students. I am very happy. I teach all subjects in a general education classroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment with all the Benefits
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Tarpon Springs, FLNovember 14, 2013
Pros: medical benifits that most jobs no longer have
Cons: transporting high energy kids from school to their homes.
I am so thankful that I received this job opportunity with Pinellas County Schools. I started my Day early and ended it early in the afternoon. I learned how to operate A School bus and stop at all railroad crossing and to operate the bus safely and efficiently. Management was very friendly and helpful, they helped me with any Questions I had and answered – more... them by the books. . The hardest part of my job was Transporting high energy Kids to their homes in the afternoon from being cooped up in school all day long. The most rewarding part of the job was the friends that I have made over the months of my employment, that I will have for the rest of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Challenging
Psychology Teacher (Current Employee), Pinellas Park, FLNovember 13, 2013
Pros: touching student's lives.
Cons: lack of upper management support
Days are very busy but you have to draw the line on when you are done for the day.
I learned how to become a very patient person and how to work well with others. Also, I learned that you need not act like those who yo are serving.
Co-workers vary. Many were polite and friendly but there were some who acted like those we were serving.
Hardest part of – more... the job was the early start time and the unpredictability of when the day would end.
The most enjoyable part of the job was student success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work be carefulll donot get in troubal or they will fire you
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLOctober 8, 2013
best place i worked but i got in troubale for the first time with the law and lost my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too big to care
Teacher & Coach (Former Employee), Tarpon Springs, FLOctober 6, 2013
Pros: summers off
Cons: everything else
Politics rules in this, the 16th largest school district in the US.

1 2 3