Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.

Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One the best places in Des Moines
Scrum Master / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Johnston, IAJanuary 17, 2018
Excellent employer in Des Moines area. Great people, great environment & challenging projects. Lots of leaning opportunities.
Fast paced & very collaborative place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Internship (Former Employee) –  Garden City, KSJanuary 17, 2018
The job required knowledge of working on assignments such as nursery work and data collection. The employees were helpful and answered any questions that were asked. Everyday was a great day to come to work there wasn't a bad day not to come to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Rouger (Former Employee) –  Reinbeck, IAJanuary 16, 2018
I didn’t mind working here. I most likley will do it again this summer. I like how they pay really well and how well they treat there workers. It did suck having to wake up ealry and work in hot fields but in the end I never died. So it wasn’t that terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Summer job
Corn Sorter (Former Employee) –  Edwardsburg, MIJanuary 10, 2018
Worked in a corn field all summer, sure it's tiring but good exercise, and you get to keep water on you. everyone that worked there was there to do their job.
Pros
Quiet, laid back
Cons
Weather, small details
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rushville, INJanuary 10, 2018
Managers weak, expect everything but give no help. Brought in new management that had no experience in industry and they killed the tremendous culture that had been developed over the years.
Pros
None
Cons
Managers, hours, conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot Days made work miserable
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Durant, IAJanuary 9, 2018
It was a good job just with lot's of heat and pain.

Most days it was so hot you would lose your weight in sweat, but you couldn't wear short sleeves or the corn would cut your arms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good seasonal work
Maintence Worker (Former Employee) –  Good Hope, ILJanuary 5, 2018
Relaxed enviroment, great saftey program .
Learned a lot about corn
never had and issue with management
hardest part of the job was staying awake
Great bunch of people to work with, no dislikes for a single employee
Pros
good people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great summer job for kids
Detasseling (Former Employee) –  Pekin, ILJanuary 5, 2018
I loved detasseling ,the bosses were great.Its pretty easy to do.quick way to make money and great first job for kids.i recommend detasseling to anybody.
Pros
You get off work at a field is done.
Cons
You have to wake up early like 430am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The agriculture market competative
Sales and Marketing Promoter (Former Employee) –  McCook, NEDecember 14, 2017
Because this category is very niche, you have to have a strong knowledge base if you plan to advance as there is limitations in every avenue. If a person hopes to a success within this business, you must have an agribusiness background, or AG experience growing up.
Pros
Great benefits and access to a large conglomerate
Cons
You get lost in all the competition among peers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Operator (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTDecember 8, 2017
Out of town too much but that's the oilfield life for you. Dis-satisfied with the amount of training. Wages inadaquite for the type of work performed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and outdoors
Detasseling (Former Employee) –  Marcellus, MIDecember 6, 2017
It was very productive and fast paced. Everyone was nice and helped out. But I didn't like it because it was outdoors and I don't like to work outdoors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drama
Staff (Former Employee) –  MichiganNovember 27, 2017
drama between each shift some staff is ok pay is not ok they do have great holiday parties and prizes paid time off is nice too its really a good job just need more company updates
Pros
grreat activities
Cons
drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen trabajo
Agricultor (Former Employee) –  Puerto RicoNovember 12, 2017
Muy buena compañia,deberian ver mas el esfuerzo de los trabajadores agricolas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and simple
Temporary Worker (Former Employee) –  Waimea, HINovember 11, 2017
Temp job. Working in the field. Pollinating soy beans. Not very hard work. a little hard on the eyes and can get hot. Great hours! great pay! 10/10 would pollinate again!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long and hard days
Detasseler/ Derouger (Former Employee) –  Princeton, ILNovember 9, 2017
Normal day was walking fields and i learned a lot about teamwork. The way things were ran were good but we didn't have a big group. Everyone was nice and i don't think there were ever any problems. Hardest part was working in the sun all day but i enjoyed everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and good people
Production Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Johnston, IANovember 9, 2017
I worked there for 4 years and I enjoyed my job most days. occasionally it would get very hectic, but the fast pace would often make the day go by much quicker.
Pros
benefits, food for every occasion
Cons
micro managing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pioner Hi-Bred
Pollinator (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WIOctober 25, 2017
A typical day at Pioneer Hi-Bred consisted of waking up somewhat early and going out to be in the sun. Surrounded by corn stalks in a corn field we'd take brown paper bags and put them around the top of the cornstalk; this got all the pollin in the bag and provided a chance for management and other workers to cross breed the corn stalks. At Pioneer Hi-Bred I learned that I love to be outside, I also learned a little about pollination. The management was pretty good overall, no problems there. The culture was awesome. Being around agriculture was great and top it off with being outside, you couldn't beat it. The hardest part of the job was just being bored from time to time, but it was definetley worth it. The most enjoyable part of the job was being outside around smiling faces which made it easy to stick around.
Pros
Being outside, being around agriculture, good management, decent pay rate, smiling faces, team work
Cons
Basic boredom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee) –  Johnston, IAOctober 18, 2017
Satisfying - A good days work

Set up orders
Pick orders
Shipping/receiving orders
interactions with other employees
meetings
reading and returning emails
ordering supplies
daily maintenance on equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Detasseling (Former Employee) –  Jasonville, INOctober 13, 2017
very fun and relaxing job just didn't like the pay due to costs I had to pay but all in all it was a good and relaxing job and I would suggest it !!!!
Pros
relaxing
Cons
hot weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
polinator (Former Employee) –  La Salle, COOctober 12, 2017
Pioneer was a very fun summer job. If you don't like working outside then this isn't the job for you but overall I thought it was a lot of fun and it kept you busy during summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 374 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8