Pioneer Natural Resources Employee Reviews

Showing all 72 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hectic and demanding work enviropment.
Fleet Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Trinidad, COJanuary 5, 2016
I worked at Pioneer Natural Resources for 14 years and enjoyed working for the company. They were very good to me and treated me very well.
Pros
Travel for company business
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract employee
Completion consultant (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 2, 2016
Great company to work for. I was laid off when the price of oil crashed. Good communication between the office personal and contractors.
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enjoyable enviroment
Internship (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 17, 2015
a typical day would start out with getting my todo assignments from upper lever management and complete my tasks in a timely manner and then make sure everything completed was professionally presented
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Field Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXSeptember 25, 2015
Good company to work for. Good life and work balance. Good health insurance and good home time, days off. Have a good year end bonus worthy of the stay. Staying busy despite other operators slowing down due to excellent use of cash from operations.
Pros
good days off
Cons
limited ability to move up in career once middle management acheived.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great pay
Instrument and Electronic Technician (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXSeptember 17, 2015
great place to work haven't laid anyone off in the down swing in oil price. Co workers are more like family every one takes care of each other. safety is a huge part in day to day operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
DISPATCHER (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXSeptember 14, 2015
All around great work environment, your always busy so day goes by fast. Management always voiced your opinion never singled you out.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oil Field alot of hours but i enjoyed it
Pump Operator (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXSeptember 9, 2015
As a pump operator I was responsible for pumping fluids down hole. I also kept track of where the fluid was located down hole. I would get to location, put on equipment, rig up the iron to the well head, and pressure test everything before starting the job (pumping fluids down hole.) may run anywhere from two days to three four weeks. I would train many crew members on how to run the pump, as I trained to be an upcoming supervisor. Kept up with DOT logs, Lead safety meetings explaining our procedures and the schedule of how we plan to go about the job. Identified potential hazards and made sure everyone had communication (headsets) Finish the job, rig down, and back to the yard to perform maintenance. 16-18 hour shifts.
Pros
Great money, amazing team work, and room to grow within the company
Cons
Oil field slows down and there is no job securtiy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for. The corperate leaders care about there employees
Drilling Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Trinidad ColoradoSeptember 9, 2015
My 15 years with Pioneer where the best years of my life. The compensation and advancement was amazing. The corporate leaders cared about all there employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational
On-Site Consultant (Former Employee) –  South TexasAugust 28, 2015
learned something new everyday and great work environment. great bosses and took our knowledge in consideration. great team work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING PLACE TO WORK
Records Management assistant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 27, 2015
Honestly, i wish that i could've went full time here! Too bad my contract was only temporary and short due to overflow of work that needed to be cleaned up by a certain dead line.

Perfect corporate place to work at in the future.
nice pay, nice benefits,nice everything!!!
Pros
Everything
Cons
NONE
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a good place to work.
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 23, 2015
Overall a god place to work, but it has it's ups and downs just like any other company. Excellent compensation and benefits, makes some of the bad things pretty tolerable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good benefits
Senior Engineering Analyst (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 17, 2015
The benefits are excellent. For the most part you are allowed to grow at your own pace. Behind the curve technologically. Short sided on engineering staffing.
Pros
Free lunch, workout facilities. Good benefits
Cons
Not open to all engineering disciplines. Difficult to get promoted
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Health and 401K
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TxAugust 12, 2015
Pioneer is an excellent company to work for when oil prices are good. As soon as the prices dropped, the pay dropped for anyone that wasn't salary. I just hate when it comes to pay cuts, the first to have their wages cut are the ones out in the field making the money for the company. Lead from the front. The bonus the men on top get is more than the bonus than all the employees in the field combined. Boost Morale by replacing a benefit you take from your employees with something more cost effective.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning structure for management training
Lead Lease Operator (Former Employee) –  Trinidad, COJuly 29, 2015
Was a very good learning experience on training and managing my co workers, safety training was a very high priority as well. they gave us the experience and training to advance in the company easily.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Coil Tubing Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXJuly 27, 2015
Good place to enter the industry. Willing to train non-cdl employees, and provide cross-training for career advancement. Great work environment.
Pros
Stability
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 16, 2015
I work in a team environment. It is fast paced with lots of opportunity for growth. Employees have lots of feedback from management about performance so that they can excel and do their jobs effectively.
Pros
free lunches, great benefits
Cons
cyclical industry
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking enviroment with good people overall
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 12, 2015
Good company and great benefits. Learned how to process checkrun on my own daily. Good supervisor, learn to be more focused and enjoyed completing the check process successfully. Hard part when machine would not function properly.
Pros
Learning and growing
Cons
trying to stay positive in around certain people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very proficient in all aspects of work
Equipment operator 2 (Former Employee) –  midland txJuly 7, 2015
always had a plan for job, people were trained the right way, took care of employees at all times, excellent work practices. Benefits were top of the line.
Pros
people made a difference there
Cons
schedules could have been better
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oilfield usual ups and downs
Lead Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Caldwell, TXJune 14, 2015
Pioneer is a great company to work for when oil prices are up. They have a great benefit package better than any other company I've workedfor
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Compressor Operator (Former Employee) –  Trinidad ColoradoJune 10, 2015
Worked independently. Traveled to compressor stations and made repairs and serviced units. I enjoyed all aspects of my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture