Piper Jaffray Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for improvement
Mergers & Acquisitions Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 10, 2016
A typical investment banking experience, long hours, unrealistic deadline but at the same time great learning experience and compensation.

Need to improve infrastructure for junior people so that they can focus on the actual work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Isolated management
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 14, 2016
Culture problems seem prevalent throughout company--specifically the lack of accountability for actions taken (including senior management). This has been an employee concern for several years.Low employee morale and senior management is very "clique-ish"--SF and NY feel very isolated from HQ in Minneapolis.
Pros
rebranded and recent acquisitions; increasing footprint
Cons
not competitive; management and execs have no pulse on internal culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Finance Analyst (Investment Banking)
Municipal Investment Banking Analyst (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 24, 2015
Company is good for work-life balance, but from what I heard from full-times compensation is lower than industry average. Staff is generally nice and great to work with, except not necessarily the most educated.
Pros
Work-life balance; staff culture
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Systems Consultant (Former Employee) –  MinneapolisJune 18, 2014
Pros: Good colleagues, willing to help
Cons: More opportunities

Great opportunity to learn new things, good coworkers, decent salary and home/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous experience
Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 29, 2013
Great people, fun job. advancement, good compensation, good benefits.
Pros
fun place
Cons
stress
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Piper, Jaffray! I loved this place to work.
Bond Trader (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 27, 2013
I was very young when I started at Piper, Jaffray. I started at the bottom and worked my way up. I needed to learn about municipal bonds and how they work. Each municipal bond is different. I takes a long time to learn how each bond works. And then teaching about the bonds to other brokers. Once your knowledge of bonds in known, it's very easy to get the brokers to sell them to our customers.
The group of people I worked with were very enjoyable. We worked together as a team. The trading desk, had to work together. And we did it well. It's a great company. And I enjoyed working here.
Pros
knowledge
Cons
working long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre middle market bank
Vice President (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2013
Lack of infrastructure forces bankers to perform non-value added work that unnecessarily lengthens the work day. Lack of communication by upper management and clear performance measures creates uncertainty about job security and future advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great growth firm
Principal, Institutional Equity Sales (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 7, 2014
Great product and culture. Many excellent analysts and bankers, though senior management a bit entrenched and self-serving.
Pros
growth
Cons
dynamic, changes strategy often
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Equity Research Intern (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 28, 2014
I have interned there for close to 7 months now. The pay is fairly good for an internship, the work is interesting, and the people are very friendly and helpful.
Pros
great environment, interesting work, friendly coworkers
Cons
the hours aren't great, but that's what you get working in finance on the west coast.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful and experienced co-workers
Securities Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis MNJanuary 14, 2014
Daily deadlines for completed deposits made for a busy day
Learned system input for deposits, withdrawals in both cash and securities
Co-workers were very professional and fun
Hardest part was meeting deadlines while servicing clients at the last minute
The variety of everyday duties
Pros
exciting atmosphere, inclusion of all employees in servicing clients through walk-in and telephone contact
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJanuary 6, 2015
Typical day hard pace workplace and a lot of teamwork and respect
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor corporate culture
Associate Treasury Analyst / Cash Manager (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 5, 2014
Excellent company with high standards, but many employees lack the knowledge of the firm's mission and goals.
Pros
perks, lunches, pay
Cons
ineffective managers with poor communication skills
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work excellent managers
Sr.V.P.-Sales (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale,Az.November 14, 2011
I went to Piper, Jaffray as a sales representative.I was tired of being a poorly compensated manager.
Piper made me a great deal,and was the best firm I ever worked
I was very sorry when they were sold to UBS..
Pros
excellent work environment, i was treated very well.
Cons
unfortunately they were sold to ubs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Fixed Income Sales, Trading, & Underwriting Intern (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 14, 2014
Great coworkers
Everyone always wants to help
Ability to advance is great
Locations of offices in prime, financial districts
Pros
great atmosphere
Cons
expensive parking
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with great people
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDOctober 2, 2013
started part time in the front office, promoted to full time sales assistant. Learned the ins and outs of the brokerage industry. Very challenging work.
Pros
free lunches!! and great people
Cons
pretty "formal" work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it involved a lot of people and places to get one trade done.
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 12, 2013
They soon thereafter closed the office. They had no resources here.
Pros
nice physical environment
Cons
missig alot of basic resources in that partic office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job
Sr. Cashier & Wire Operator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZAugust 19, 2013
I truly enjoyed my job. Always learning something new daily and liked the people that I worked with. Everyone was very knowledgeable and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn about stocks and bonds.
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 14, 2013
Enjoyed working there. Great place to work if you are sure the financial world is where you want to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Piper Jaffray. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture