Pirate Staffing Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lot of clutter in the office and no official training
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee) –  salem oregonMarch 3, 2016
Management was very opinionated and did not have a professional demeanor. He smelt like he did not wear deodorant. He would get angry at people and customers. He would get upset about people not properly training themselves at the job.
I was the fastest to pick it up in the 2 months that I spent there. If the co-worker doesn't like you for any reason even personal or if you intimidate her by your work performance and knowledge you will not be working there for long.
I trained myself to do that job with no help from co-workers who have been there the longest.
The hardest part of the job is trying to make your co-workers happy so you could feel like you had some sort of job security.
very high turn-over rate.
Pros
hour lunch.
Cons
taking your 15 minute breaks is frowned apon. working with the co-worker that does the managers job.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work quick pay
Temporary Worker (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAMarch 2, 2016
some jobs can be laborious but most of the time jobs were easy some weren't but more than often is was easy money . get paid same day and usually had work everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary job
warehouse (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CANovember 19, 2015
I worked in warehouses, unloading and load trucks. I was responsible for set up displays for retails stores. Displays for electronics such as cell phone chargers, cases, blue tooth etc.
Pros
full time. bisy
Cons
dirty, temporary no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always thinking positive and having a sense of humor ,helping out in any type of job position that the supervisor would allowed me to upgrade .
Laborer (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAOctober 30, 2015
Showing up and knowing that there was a job ticket waiting for u was all that matter to me because its better to be in the game, no matter what the obstakel then being left behind.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive
clerical (Former Employee) –  north hollywoodAugust 19, 2015
Dispatched employees to a variety of work assignments.Called employers to inquire if any workers were needed.Help customer to get jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staffing agency
Driver (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAJune 2, 2015
Good place to obtain part-time job assignments. The companies you might work for vary, but you do get paid consistently, and the assignments can be long-term if your so desire.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New managment
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAMay 6, 2015
Overall a basic temp agency with good job availability with decent hours and pay. Under new management which is for the better.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAApril 12, 2015
Operate buses on specific routes.
I learned how to operate certain equipment and how to drive buses.
Management took some getting use to they changed people about every three months.
Hardest part of the job was learning how to deal with the different personality's of the riders
There were some interesting people that did ride public transportation
Pros
Great for training you how to operate equipment and how to deal with people
Cons
Their point system
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
laborer (Former Employee) –  NohoJanuary 16, 2015
The clients that request our services range from Warehouse, to
Construction, Demolition, unloading and loading furniture as well
as cartons, cleaning Storage facilities, spraying Pesticides, but
involves mostly lifting and cleaning.
I have served clients in the San Fernando Valley as well as the
cities including Hollywood, Beverly Hills, to as far as 7th and Broadway. Patience is what I have learned, now days others take some of the
transporting responsibilities.
digging dirt and concrete under houses, bolt repair,
Managing to unite and get to the proper destination on time ia a
good challenge.
In time you get to know those who you work with, companionship
develops after a while.
Pros
opens early, good honest people to wait with in the hall until getting call up for work
Cons
i put my daughter as a dependant and they only raised my pay by 25 cents
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work at Pirate Staffing.
Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CANovember 18, 2014
My job include transporting other co-workers who need transportation
to the job site,
My Job assignments very in length.
The clients that request our services range from Warehouse, to
Construction, Demolition, unloading and loading furniture as well
as cartons, cleaning Storage facilities, spraying Pesticides, but
involves mostly lifting and cleaning.
I have served clients in the San Gabriel Valley as well as the coastal
cities including Hollywood, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Manhattan
Beach, to as far as Hermosa and Redondo Beach.
Patience is what I have learned, now days others take some of the
transporting responsibilities.
Managing to unite and get to the proper destination on time ia a
good challenge.
In time you get to know those who you work with, companionship
develops after a while.
Pros
most lunches are not free.
Cons
most of the time you get breaks, but not all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1

Want to know more about Pirate Staffing?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a temp agency
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CANovember 4, 2014
The place was very mismanaged, fortunately I only went to the office once a week to pick up a check, now the job assignment they sent me on was okay, was just a lot of hard work digging trenches and spraying pesticides.
Pros
it was a temporary fix and a pay check
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Earned a variety of skills and great experience.
Customer Service Rep/ Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CASeptember 5, 2014
The skills and the experience that you get working for a staffing agency are amazing. You learn about customer service, payroll, workers compensation policies and much more, plus there is opportunities to grow within the company.
Pros
payroll experience
Cons
very long hours of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staffing agency.
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAAugust 21, 2014
Daily routine varied due to different workplaces.
Learned basic warehousing, basic carpentering
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very good temp service who always kept me working
Temp Service (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJuly 24, 2014
this was one of the best temp services i have ever worked for and i advise people who need work to try it out
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extra Busy, No attention to Employees, Misleading
Demo (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield ,CaliforniaJune 10, 2014
Went in applied for work with this company, While I'm sitting there I hear other workers for "Pirate" explain to others that completed their application before me what they needed to do to be placed on the work list (in full detail)... I finish my application turns it in all I'm told."ok we start calling tomorrow for jobs" I'm like uhhhh ok.... kind of threw me off, I was ready for the whole "We text jobs, what kind of work are you seeking open availability speech" that didn't happen, so the following day I called to see if there was work available. Immediately I'm told they place people in jobs that they are familiar with so keep calling in until they get familiar with me. I was like huh..?????? So I received a text concerning a job. I called in to accept the job, the individual said "do you mind working in the heat" (No) "do you have a clean background "yes" steel toe boots "yes" she asked for my telephone number an said, I'm putting you down for the job, but let me call you back, I'm the only one here in the office an the phones are gonna go Crazy, I got cha down an I'll call you back to let you kno where to go. Ok good enough, So I'm amped up. I go buy newer steel toe boots and some work things I would need while I'm working in the sun, I get up this morning called to see where I needed to meet. An was told the positions was filled "Huh" so I explained to the Person over the phone what was discussed prior an all she could say is Okay, an ended the phone call.
Pretty rude unprofessional attitude.... After I was told I had the job... I was just calling to see where do I go
  more... for work.... (Shrugs)  less
Pros
daily pay
Cons
go in to the office, an tell me what you think....
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Work little pay
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Valencia, CAFebruary 5, 2014
Was a lot of work for one days pay
Was far to commute for minumum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a working enviorment thats quite and not around to much traffic
Construction Worker (Helper) (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 7, 2014
it was a temp agency so different days most likely different jobs
Pros
you can call and see if there was any work for that day
Cons
there wasnt work every day so not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to experience different occupations very quickly
Temporary Worker (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 26, 2013
I am currently an employee at two temporary agencies. Throughout my duration of being employed by them, I have to do everything from shipping and receiving at warehouses, doing general labor, to security work. For me to have successfully completed assignments in these fields, I have to be highly adaptable in the workforce, which I already am.
Pros
get to experience different work environments and people. i get to build skills in different fields.
Cons
work is never consistent. the pay is very low, since they are temporary employement aganecies. no growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all in all good place to work for
Labor (temp) (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 30, 2013
typical day at work the earlier u get there the better chance to get to go to work
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Temp service
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Vernon, CASeptember 8, 2013
Good temp service just go to work do your job and hope they don't do any layoffs
Pros
quick job source
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pirate Staffing. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.1