Find companies:
Planet Fitness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
323 reviews

Planet Fitness Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 28, 2014
Management changed several times, as well as coworkers, typical day was routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intermediate job
OVERNIGHT FRONT DESK CLERK (Former Employee), Houston, Tx (fondren)September 27, 2014
Pros: interact with people, learn the gym
Cons: no breaks, no raise, no review, no consideration
My work day was relatively simple, the patrons of the establishment give out the same demeanor that you display to them. I learned to keep my documentation and never get complacent. Know your rights as a worker and understand policy. I enjoyed working with my co-workers, but is more geared for a young workers experience can be frustrating to newbies. – more... There was no hard part really, communication between staff and management were a little off at times. The most enjoyable part of the job was providing a service, helping people feel welcome and wanting to achieve their goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy Work Environment
CSR Team Member (Current Employee), Fort Mill, SCSeptember 26, 2014
Conducting all Customer Service activities for gym members

Managing & Using Point of Sale system

Performing daily operational business activities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Bad
Customer Service (Former Employee), Newark, DESeptember 23, 2014
Great work atmosphere very friendly co-workers regardless of there sense of humor. Management wasn't that bad here and then preferences. Nothing hard about the job but in general great and flexible work schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 22, 2014
very high turnover, rude managers, very disrespectful, very bad place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved every minute of working here
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VASeptember 17, 2014
greet members at the door
explain member contracts
sign up members
clean locker rooms and other gym equipment
organize garments and displays
answer phones
assist with billing concerns
operate point of sale systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic ownership bleeds managers dry
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: decent benefits and pay
Cons: no breaks (illegal), ownership is demeaning, disrespectful and uncooperative, hours are unacceptably long
I could write a novel...bottom line is Dave Leon who owns the Western NY franchises is a terrible person to work for. The ownership provides no guidance or support to their management team. The clubs are understaffed and what staff managers do have at their disposal are under paid and therefore nearly impossible to motivate. Managers are responsible – more... for multi million dollar fitness facilities yet have no maintenance crew, assistant manager, or as I mentioned support from the ownership. I worked with this company for 5 years and was shown the door because of a health issue requiring hospitalization which caused me to miss 2 days of work. Just overall bad people and bad business. AVOID!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Front Desk (Former Employee), Urbandale, IASeptember 15, 2014
Co workers were awesome. Members were even more exceptional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting block into the fitness venues
Manager (Former Employee), North Bergen, NJSeptember 10, 2014
Planet Fitness is a company that strives to make the commitment to fitness an easy transition for individuals that are new to using fitness centers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer Service (Current Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 8, 2014
great place to work if in high school. co workers are great and the management staff is great with helping the employees and customers as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greta place to work and meet great people
overnight cleaner (Former Employee), belmont nhSeptember 2, 2014
Loved working here. did not like how the management worked. new manager every month, no way to contact manager on 3rd shift. managers are all young. loved the people and nights were drama free
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Fitness Gym General Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 30, 2014
A fast pace working environment, high volume of people entering and exiting the facility. Developed great computer skills, and great multi-tasking abilities. Worked great with others and led by example. Enjoyed dealing with customers on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with great members and employees
General Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: met great people, fun environment, pizza night and bagel mornings
Cons: no healthcare, long hours, no overtime, no vacation, high turn over rate
I loved my position as far as dealing with memberships and member issues, as well as my employees. We became a little family, and we respected one another. I learned a lot about myself having the position of a GM. I learned how to multitask, and handle any type of situation in the utmost professional manner. I cared for and respected my employees, as – more... they were very hardworking and respectful toward me and their job at hand. The most difficult part of the job was dealing with the owners and upper management. That company lacks integrity, for they treat their employees with little to no respect. We all worked very hard, and were not recognized or appreciated for our work. Yet, the most enjoyable part of the job were my employees and members. We treated our members like family, therefore, we had a good reputation with many new members. My employees and I became like a family, we looked out for one another and treated each other with respect and loyalty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment condusive to networking for other career opportunities
Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCAugust 23, 2014
Responsible for the general upkeep of the facility and equipment. Interacted with members regarding payments, complaints, and instructions of in the use of equipment. Operated register, made bank deposits, and updated payment and personal information
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Manager - Full Time (Former Employee), Chicopee, MAAugust 22, 2014
Wonderful
People are eager to help
great coworkers
Team Environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean place to work in.
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee), Dearborn, MIAugust 21, 2014
Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it. Clean place, love it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Planet Fitness
Night Manager (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 21, 2014
Pros: allow me to perfect different sales approaches and customer service areas in which i need to work.
Cons: work the night shift

Actively promotes the philosophy, mission statement and vision of Planet Fitness.

Oversees the entire operation of the gym according to defined policies.

Trains new employees.

Prepares all administrative forms and reports.

Proven track record of hitting all sales quotas.

Effective time management, planning and organizing daily selling activity, – more... such as telephoning sales prospects (previous/existing customers or general inquiries) to secure new business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Front Desk Staff (Current Employee), Pittston, PAAugust 13, 2014
I have been employed by Planet Fitness for over 4 and a half years now and I absolutely love my job. Interacting with our members and my co-workers is one of my favorite things about working here. The work and gym environment is so relaxed which is very important to me and our members. It's a job that entails a lot of hard work and customer service – more... knowledge which I've learned immensely from working for this company. There are also so many opportunities to move up in the company and the management on every level is great! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fun workplace! Love developing friendships with coworkers and members!
Front Desk (Current Employee), Springfield, MOAugust 11, 2014
Pros: coworkers, bosses, customers, gym, and environment.
Cons: short breaks, only 30 hours a week, and not many benefits as part-time.
A typical day at work consists of checking hundreds of members into the gym, signing up many new members, giving multiple tours of the gym, and an hourly walk around of the gym to make sure everything is clean and in order. Both of my bosses are amazing and treat everyone very well! My coworkers are some of my closest friends now and I love them! The – more... hardest part about the job at first was memorizing a page long script we must say to all potential members, describing the company and the gym. After about a couple of weeks, it felt super easy and normal to say. Most enjoyable part of the job is meeting awesome new people, continually seeing the same members come in every day, awesome bosses, and wonderful coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Planet Fitness
Full-time front desk associate (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 10, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: literally everything else. poor management, poor pay, rude customers, and immature co-workers.
Planet Fitness was the most terrible place I’ve ever been employed. Work consisted of signing up new members, touring new members, and checking in members at the front desk. I also had to do a lot of cleaning. The management skills here were awful. I can’t even fathom how a business can run on such poor management. The customers were incredibly rude, – more... and would become irate for seemingly no reason. Co-workers were catty and would spread rumors for fun. The only thing I enjoyed about working here was the free membership, and even that wasn’t worth it. Members would flirt with me constantly, and I couldn’t stand how often I would get hit on or stared at by some of the creepy old men at the gym. – less

1 2 3 4 5