Find companies:
Planet Fitness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
317 reviews

Planet Fitness Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at, terrible pay
Fitness Trainer (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 24, 2014
Pros: meet alot of people, work was easy at times, learned alot
Cons: short breaks, short hours, pay was bad
Cool entry level job for trainers. Developed more knowledge here than I did anywhere else. The only bad part is the whole (fitness training position) you cannot technically train people 1 on 1.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience but not the best managed business
MEMBER SERVICE (Current Employee), Holland, MIJune 24, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: poor management, no breaks, loose controls
I gained valuable costumer service, point of sale transaction, and cash/credit control experience. From the 6 months I have been there I had 3 different managers because of poor ownership. The worst part of my job is being undervalued with the experience I have. The best part is being able to interact with the members and getting valuable work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PF
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJune 24, 2014
Pros: gym membership
Cons: no athletics
This is not really a fitness promoting facility. In order to see progression you either have to choose another facility or be extremely motivated. Days were easy and I learned about data entry. Management and employees was not the friendliest. The hardest part was staying awake at night and the most enjoyable was building relationship with existing – more... members and new members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work day at PF
Front desk/sales (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMJune 22, 2014
Pros: pf helps you better your sales skills and costumers satisfaction.
Cons: we need reasonable full times hours and health care.
Monday afternoon, clock in, walk through, bathroom check, check in members don't for get to greet members at arrival and always say your good byes, Always look out for red screens.

Monday afternoon starts off a little slow then around 4pm it starts to pick up. You'll starts to see your regular costumers and see new people coming in for tours. It also – more... depends at what location you work at and how busy it gets. While working her at PF I have learned how to makes sales and have great costumer service. I thank the management here for all the help they have given me and all the advise i have been given. I work well with others so I have had nothing but good experiences with all my co-workers her at PF. One thing I have to say that is a little hard at times is when we have the annual fees. Other than that everything is pretty much at ease. My most enjoyable part about working at PF is the members and all the new faces i get to meet.

Best regards

4th street, front desk/sales employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decently run
Membership Sales Staff (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJune 16, 2014
Good summer job for college students. Very good entry level sales job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Front Desk (Current Employee), Peckville, PAJune 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Great place to work if you like being in the gym and that type of atmosphere!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 8, 2014
Pros: good environment
Cons: short breaks
Planet fitness was a productive and a fun place to work because I'm into fitness. I use to be a member of that gym before I started working there. I've learned how to operate the equipment which allowed to help members how to operate the machines as well. My co-workers were helpful whenever I needed help at the front desk. They were times when members – more... asked for help and I was able to do so which I enjoyed and made me feel good due the fact I love to help people. The hardest part of the job was when employees will call out from work and we were short staff which was a problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place to work
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Dearborn, MIJune 7, 2014
Pros: great for networking, free membership, always something to do
Cons: you'll be tired by the end of your shift
Great for people looking for advancement. I meet alot of people working here and I also got my current job from a previous member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Management Team and Staff
Front Desk Assistant (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 5, 2014
Pros: no specific break time, advancement opportunities, great management
During a typical day at work I clock on, count the drawer and perform a walk around to check paper towels and spray bottles throughout the gym. When finished I grab all the paperwork that needs to be input and start inputting account and routing numbers for members. This isn't a mandatory task for the day but it keeps the work low for the General Manager – more... and Assistant Manager. We operate as one large family. Best crew I have ever worked with. The hardest part of the job is when members try and blame you for their billing issues. You just have to smile and try to fix the problem as best as possible. Most of the time a small smile will fix everything. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing our members better themselves and get healthy in a non-intimidating atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE FUN ENVIRONMENT WITH THE OPPORTUNITY TO MEET NEW PEOPLE.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), dallas, txJune 4, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: work 12 hr shifts all weekend
PLANET FITNESS IS AN AWESOME COMPANY TO WORK FOR THEY OFFER COMPETITIVE PAY AND BENEFITS.

A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK INVOLVES ASSISTING MEMBERS WITH ACCOUNT ISSUES, SETTING THEM UP ON THE AWESOME AMENITIES PF OFFERS AND HELPING POTENTIAL MEMBERS DECIDE WHICH MEMBERSHIP SUITS THEM BEST.

THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB IS MEETING NEW PEOPLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere got to know lots of people. communicating positive things on a regular basis.
Certified by/Licensed (Former Employee), Mechanicsburg PaJune 3, 2014
Pros: helping others, attaining great communicating skills, learning more about computers and health.
Cons: no breaks. always have to be alert.
A typical day at work was making sure the facility was ran properly. cleaning the equipment and greeting customers. I would sign people up on a regular basis and also give tours. I learned how to communicate well. How to stay more positive in a work atmosphere. Also how to use computers and different networks that were involved in the job. My management – more... was a great I became very close to my manager and my other coworkers. The hardest part of the job was in the beginning having to remember all the things they were teaching me and put into action with a positive attitude on a regular basis. My most enjoyable part of the job was helping others reach there goals with fitness. Also being able to see a big person come in dedicated and losing the weight. Being able to see that person before and after is priceless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A worm in the apple
Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJune 2, 2014
Pros: able to use the gym
Cons: too many
Angry customers, complaining about renovations,
tought me to be patient.
management never spoke to me and co-worker wasn't loyal.
Hardest part of the day was knowing to, mentally knowing it wasnt going to last long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College Job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALMay 30, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: not a lot of room to advance
When I first get to work I start paperwork for the previous day. I use Microsoft Excel to calculate the daily balance and do reconciliations. I count the money and make the daily deposit at the bank. I learned how to provide excellent customer service and how to motivate employees. Management has been very supportive while I earned my degree in accounting. – more... The hardest part of my job was dealing with the fact that there is not much room for me to advance in the company. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to help customers get in shape while providing excellent customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Vallejo, CAMay 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no human resorces
Terrible business they are unorganized. Management was not trained at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work
Front Desk Associate (Current Employee), Woodland Park, NJMay 27, 2014
Great place to work for. very professional people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a student, thats about it
Member Services (Current Employee), York, PAMay 22, 2014
Pros: some cool members, consistent hours
Cons: pay, how serious this place takes itself
Planet Fitness takes itself all too seriously and has such strict rules, yet will barely pay you above minimum wage. There are some cool members but there are even more of the rude ones that pay no attention to the terms of their memberships and want to get very upset over what they should have known. For someone who is in college around a planet fitness, – more... its a decent job to have simply because the hours are consistent and the actual work itself is simple, they just expect you to do a LOT of it for next to nothing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating work environment with multiple opportunities for skill development
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee), Branford, CTMay 20, 2014
Pros: free gym membership/use of the facility, amicable co-workers
Cons: no healthcare benefits, finite opportunities for advancement
I typically spend most of my time just greeting current members as they arrive at the gym. After being here for several months, I have come to identify many clients by their first name and get to personally interact with many of them rather than just check them in as a nameless guest at the facility. I work in an environment where customer service is – more... a priority along with providing the basic tools to improve each member's physical fitness. I have come to know and enjoy working with all of my co-workers, as I am a 'team player' and thrive in group-oriented activities or environments. I have learned many ways to handle issues pertaining to billing, customer complaints regarding the equipment for example, and any obstacles that may interfere with proper operation of the facility. The hardest part of my job lies with accepting criticism from members that derives from problems that I cannot necessarily solve immediately, or having to inform members of having a billing issue that they disagree with. While almost all professions rely heavily on customer service, working at a gym requires having to stand one's ground when it comes to proper bookkeeping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Overnight/Front Desk (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 14, 2014
Pros: free gym membership, friendly environment.
Cons: fair share of rude customers/members and lack of pay and the set schedules.
For the time I was employed with Planet Fitness, I can say I had a great time, Made a lot of friends and also made a lot of connections with members and co-workers alike. A typical day at work consisted with cleaning and putting in the days paperwork. I have to say the hardest part of the job was being unable to find a solution to certain issues, like – more... for Example. Being able to play back our security systems to help identify someone, I felt that access to that should have been accessible to all staff just in case it was needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work to get on back on your feet
FITNESS TRAINER (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 11, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: could use better management
I cannot speak about Planet Fitness as a corporate organization but the particular franchise that I am employed by is not as I would like. I have found that the management cares more about meeting member quota than the actual fitness of its members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
RECEPTIONIST PLANET FITNESS (Former Employee), Hayward, CAMay 8, 2014
Pros: the great atmosphere, health benefits for full time, friendly staff, good managment, and great training
A typical day at work was greeting members and guest, sign people up, answering the phone, giving tours, doing walk a rounds, etc. I learned a lot on customer service. Management was pretty good. My co-workers we're really great and really helpful. I enjoyed everything about this job.