Plant-Partners Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Company
Plant Vendor (Former Employee) –  GAFebruary 15, 2018
Manger was always great, extremely laid back and just generally nice. I liked the company. I like the manger. It was a great job when I was just entering the work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for part time
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  cary, ncFebruary 2, 2018
good job for student
good job for retiree
good job for stay at home mom
good job for exercise
good job for tan
good job if you like plants
good job if you enjoy outdoors
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great extra income
Lead Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Huntersville, NC 28078February 1, 2018
You have to be ready to work in rain, or heat. Great work atmosphere. Who doesn't like working with plants and people that are buying them? Good pay, increases a quarter every year that you come back. Gets you in shape and you get a farmers tan.
Pros
plants and free farmers tan
Cons
hot, and wet
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving Plants make it fun to work their
Field Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 16, 2018
Loving Plants and the outdoors makes it fun to work their. You can go to various stores in you area or outside. People are fun to work with. Great team player around you and peace. Really peace in working their almost like being in a dream job.
Pros
flex time - come and complete tasks may leave
Cons
seasonal part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, outside, fresh air, great fellow workers.
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVDecember 31, 2017
Most days are busy, there is always something you can do.This job is for the self motivated worker as most of the time you will be able to work alone. When you have shown that you can work independently you will earn more freedom to use your own judgement and creativity. The customers and management really appreciate those that are helpful and knowledgeable. This is an outside job so expect to deal with the changing weather conditions. You may get wet, but you won't melt.
Pros
Acceptance by store employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun seasonal job.
Lead Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  O'Fallon, ILNovember 22, 2017
This is a fun seasonal job merchandising flowers at The Home Depot stores. Quick paced in the spring time, but slows down and hours drop into late summer. Good pay for what it is, but certainly not full time. Job usually runs from about March through late October.
Pros
Flexible hours, decent pay.
Cons
Seasonal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love plants
Plant Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Huntersville, NCSeptember 26, 2017
Loved working with plants being outside. Management was great. i learned so much about plants. The hardest part of job was being in the heat. Miss it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and fun
Merchandising representative (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNAugust 25, 2017
A work day starts out checking in new plants and taking them to their correct table location. The employees are nice and willing to help. Customers like to rely on your opinion for decorating their yard to suggesting plants for certain areas in their yard. You get to be creative in decorating scenes and tables to draw the customer in.
Pros
Flexible work schedule, Outside
Cons
Short lunch, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work here for a while i wouldnt change a min of it.
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Tupelo, MSAugust 21, 2017
I enjoyed taking product and building displays love being outside im a people person i enjoy dealing with the public i try to be a problem solver im a team player
Pros
Love it
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCAugust 15, 2017
Not enough working hours to live on. Extreme weather conditions Mostly severe heat.If you love the sun then this is a good fill in the gap job between jobs. No stress type of job.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Work but great job
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Belmont NCAugust 7, 2017
Work schedule was 7 am to 1 pm. Displaying plants, shrubs and flowers per the Nursery's guidelines as well as Lowe's. Interaction with customers on a regular basis. The hardest part of the job was lifting 50 lbs or more from the top of the carts. They were about 8' tall. The people and the flowers were the most enjoyable part of the job. I learned much more about the diversity of plants than I had known. The Lowe's staff were amazing and helpful people.
Pros
early morning hours, beauty of the work place, customers!
Cons
Lifting those heavy wet containers and that it is only seasonal 3-4 months
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed and well paying summer job!
Seasonal Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, VAAugust 1, 2017
I got to make my own schedule and it was pretty flexible if i needed a day or two off. The management was super friendly and relaxed! I loved working here over the summer.
Pros
paid breaks, relaxed management, time outside
Cons
not a lot to do at the end of the season, only seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible, seasonal job
Seasonal Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Peachtree City, GAJuly 30, 2017
Pending on your store location there are different issues in each store. Plant Partners employees are contractors, not an actual employee of that store. Easy going, work on your own.
Pros
seasonal, flexible schedule
Cons
seasonal, not paid enough, short breaks, contractors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Huntersville, NCJuly 24, 2017
I loved the people, the environment. The company is an excellent place to work.

The management done a great job making sure that I knew what I had to know to do my job properly. The time they spent with me was remarkable. I would recommend that all my friends try a season at Plant Partners.
Pros
good people great hours
Cons
season too short
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love plants, you'll love Plant Partners.
Plant Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, VAJuly 12, 2017
I had a great experience, but it is easy to get burnt out by the end of the season. I had some great managers and was offered another season. Must be able to handle extreme temps and conditions.
Pros
Generally set your own hours.
Cons
Would like a higher hourly wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A repetitive style of labor with perks of working outside.
Lead Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNJuly 10, 2017
A repetitive style of labor with the pleasantness of working in nature. I learned the importance of physical work ethic and how to merchandise company product in a presentable and orderly fashion.
Pros
Working in the elements, management attitude
Cons
Repetiveness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job and Great Manager!
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Mebane, NCJuly 8, 2017
Plant Partners is a great company to work for. The managers are flexible and the staff at Lowes Home improvement are fun to work alongside. There is a lot of freedom for creativity, and you get a great work out.
Pros
So much to learn about gardening in NC, and customer service.
Cons
Lack of healthcare benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love poor communication and micromanagement apply here
Plant monitor (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMay 24, 2017
Temp/seasonal service for Lowes, Home Depot, and Walmart plant sections because the employees don't have time to water and arrange plants. Simple and straight forward work.

Hardest part of the job was figuring out what the company wanted done at each location each day. Management exists to get a paycheck, not manage.

Most enjoyable part of the job is that you are outside and working with greenery.

Learned alot about plants and how they are shuffled around to make money.

Typical day included coming into work and attempting to find a supervisor who knew what needed to be done. If any initiative to get started watering or moving plants for incoming stock occurs before management arrives, trouble will ensue.
Pros
Work with plants, interaction with customers, Sunshine galore
Cons
Poor communication, micro management, no training, mediocrity, skin cancer
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Replenishment of Product that had been sold out
Merchandiser (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Huntersville, NCApril 19, 2017
The company is fun to work for. Just part part time hours. Get to work around all types of customers. Assisting them in how to design a flower bed.Never had a bad day.
Pros
Work Outside
Cons
Sun can get very hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-Time, Seasonal work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Murrells Inlet, SCApril 13, 2017
A typical day at work: straighten, replenish and ensure products are priced. On shipment days, you will pull product in store on carts and place it according to where management tells you to put it. I learned alot about plants. The on-site manager is very helpful. The hardest part of the job is putting out the product while working in crowded conditions. The most enjoyable part of the job is the workout you will get from doing the work...


(+) Sufficient training, fast-paced, teamwork, fair pay, and you will learn alot about plants.

(-) Hours are minimal and not guaranteed if you are entry-level; Last-second scheduling, the carts can be heavy, no mileage compensation, you will be giving alot of customer service not related to your product that Home Depot employees should be providing but cannot due to being understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Plant-Partners. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 82 reviews
538
429
311
22
12

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture