Find companies:
PLASTIPAK PACKAGING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

PLASTIPAK PACKAGING Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no great leaders to show peoplehow to do things.
Production Technician (Current Employee), Jackson Center, OHJune 5, 2014
Pros: beniftis
Cons: management
low management new people coming in and out everyday. to much over time because people quits everyday. if you don't learn it yourself your not going to learn it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work environment
Operator (Former Employee), Mccalla,Al.February 27, 2014
Pros: breaks, days off
Cons: no formal training. you either sink or learn to swim
I worked for this company a total of one week. There is limited training, I was placed with someone who was a temporary employee to train me. The guy was not a good trainer;the very next day I was on my own. Encountered so many maintenance issues that I was forced to resolve on my own. Examples of some issues I had to resolve: Robot suction cups needed – more... replacing had to physically go up and hold cardboard on robot mind you I am a female. Had to push pallets in place or push down conveyors. This isn't a bad place if everyone would do their job and make necessary repairs. Also training should be conducted longer with a qualified, certified trainer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
MACHINE OPERATOR/POLY DEPARTMENT (Former Employee), Westland, MIFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: 401k, health insurance, pay
Cons: repetitive
The people in the plant are pretty easy to get along with most of the time. There are some people that are not so easy to deal with. Most of the management are friendly. The pay is pretty good for the work you are doing. You have to do the same thing over and over again everyday so it gets kind of boring. Nice 401K plan and health insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place I ever worked in
tow motor operator (Former Employee), Jackson CenterJanuary 11, 2014
Cons: micro managed everything
I meet some nice people, but the management was awful in shipping and receiving. All they did was point out negatives and came down on you. They never said one encouraging word. They don't listen, communicate, or teach. They should fire the management, then perhaps it would be a better place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Process Technician (Current Employee), Medina, OHJanuary 6, 2014
Good company to work for.. Most of management easy to get along with.. Co workers for the most part are all pretty down to earth people...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Mold Shop Technician (Current Employee), Champaign, ILNovember 24, 2013
Pros: nice hours
Cons: pay not great and raises
I have worked here for 16 years and it has been a good job. I have learned alot while being employed here. I have learned about blow molding plastics, welding, machine maintenance, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place mostly friendly people to workwith
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), plymouth, Mi.August 19, 2013
Pros: able to work on your own without someone looking over your shoulder.
Cons: not helpful when problems pop up.
Busy work place with something to always kept you busy, working with good people. Learned computer skills I did not have (SAP).. Management not very involved with employees. Not a big help. They did not back you up. Co-workers very helpful and wonderful to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the other employees and the busy – more... atmosphere. I also enjoyed meeting the guest and customers. The hardest part was how the company did not care about the employees very much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Senior ABAP (Former Employee), Plymouth, MIMay 15, 2013
Vase IT exposure. Cutting edge in technology. Need to work well under pressure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great place too work, but "MANAGEMENT SUCKS"
Process Technician (Former Employee), Plant City, FLMarch 26, 2013
Pros: benefits are good
Cons: 100% micro-management
I am not a management smasher,but this is the honest truth. You learn a lot about plastic bottles and machinery, because the place is hands on. The co- workers were great very family oriented. The hardest part of the job is the micro management and your hard work not appreciated at all . I've seen so many great people terminated for truly foolishness. – more... Anyone working there will tell you this. There is "NO" JOB SECURITY THERE!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but cliquish
Production Technician (Former Employee), Champaign, ILMarch 26, 2013
Pros: cafeteria with made-to-order short order
Cons: very hot due to being a plastic manufacturing facility
I was employed for just over a year as a Production Tech. and it was a challenging, fast paced environment, but I was lead to believe when I started that they shared my belief in regular preventive maintenance of machinery as a long term advantage. When I arrived on the production floor, I discovered that what they really believe in is the usual corporate – more... idea of 'fix it when it breaks and keep making product'. My line was supposed to have a weekly maintenance shutdown but I was told to keep running typically at least every other week. The supervisors and managers would then become angry when the equipment broke down.
The only other thing that annoyed me was the 'good ol boy' attitude of many of the older employees. I often felt treated as an outcast.
Otherwise, I enjoyed working at Plastipak. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Blowmolding Technician/Injection Technician (Former Employee), Garland TXMarch 25, 2013
Pros: easy to get hired on
Cons: too far from home
I learned my blowmolding and injection knowledge here. humongous plant to work at
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive. Not a bad place to work.
Line operator (Former Employee), Jackson center ohioJanuary 24, 2013
Cons: no shut downs for vac and holidays
Plenty of over time. room to expand..Lots of different jobs to chose from
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job but no overall concern for employee's
Production Technician (Former Employee), OHJanuary 7, 2013
it was just productive work, learned operate equitment and run them to standards, saftey, qaulity. some people easy to work with and others not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Technician (Former Employee), Jackson Center,OhioDecember 14, 2012
Pros: training
I would start off by getting paperwork, checking to see if it was the right product. Finishing up orders, making any adjustments needed, fill out production papers, doing testing on products for quality assurance, routine maintenence on machines, get materials needed for any up coming work orders. I learned to run numerous machines, trouble shooting – more... and how to fix them. The most enjoyable would be our company outting to golf. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door Company .
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee), Garland Tx .December 1, 2012
Cons: no time and a half pay . bad benefits .
This company does not care for their employees they make false promises and don't deliver . They treat employees like sheep instead of human beings . There is a very high turnover rate here so please use caution while applying .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAST PACED ,FUN ENVIRONMENT
Material Handler (Former Employee), Champaign, ILOctober 30, 2012
Pros: safety bonuses
Cons: if a co-worker called off you could not leave
12HR. DAYS, I LEARNED HOW TO DEAL WITH DIFFERENT PERSONALITIES,TYPICAL DAY AT WORK STARTS WITH ME LOGGING IN ON COMPANY INTRANET,CHECKING AVAILABLE INVENTORY,VERIFIYING THAT ACTUAL MATERIAL IS AVAILABLE IN WAREHOUSE,DOUBLE CHECKING CO-WORKER THAT PREVIOUSLY LEFT TRANSACTIONS,VISUALLY CHECK THE PRODUCTION AREA TO SEE WHAT MATERIAL WILL BE NEEDED,PROCEED – more... TO GATHER MATERIAL FOR MY SHIFT,SAFELY & EFFICIENTLY DO MY JOB – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun work place
Forklift Driver (Former Employee), Westland, MIOctober 24, 2012
loading and unloading trailer's scanning and placing product in it's proper place doing inventory of product cleaning of warehouse following safety rules turning in proper paper work as needed moving product in raw material's area. I've learned how to properly scan product the knowledge of warehouse. I've love workingwith my co workers we al worked – more... together as a team the most enjoyable part of the job was working with the co workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not want to work there again
Labeler operator (Current Employee), Jackson Center, OHOctober 8, 2012
Cons: too many to list
In my opinion its a horrible place to work. Maintenance is a joke as well as most of the management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun
Process Technician (Former Employee), Garland, TXAugust 7, 2012
Pros: good pay, good hours
Cons: some times there was too much down time.
Plastipak was a very fun place to work. very fast paced and very exciting to see how a machine can turn smallplastic resin into large plastic bottles or cantainers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job yet a stepping stone
Machine Technician (Current Employee), Alsip, ILJuly 25, 2012
Pros: gift cards
Cons: extreme heat in the summer
I make antifreeze bottles everyday. I learned some mechanical skills along the way via reparing the machinery. Management is hard, they love to micro-manage. My co-workers are very helpful and endure the same woes. The hardest part of the job is in the summer when its extremely hot, and the most enjoyable is when its time to go home.