PLS Logistics Services

93 reviews

PLS Logistics Services Employee Reviews

Found 90 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast learning enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lawndale, CADecember 10, 2015
PLS is a great way to start and develop your customer service skills. they help you with the appropriate training that you need.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job to have While looking for other Jobs
account executive (Former Employee) –  Cranberry, PADecember 3, 2015
PLS is a good job for someone who has a knack for cold calling and is fresh out of school.After the first 3 months of mentoring this is all this job becomes. If you don't hit your numbers you will be let go. If you aren't as active as they would like you will be let go.

Typical Day is get to the office 7:45am prospect from7:45-9a
Cold Call from 9a-4p with an hour lunch (80 Calls approx)
Stay until 5:15 or 6pm
Expect to work 2 half day Saturday Shifts a Month (They don't mention this when they hire you)
Pros
Young Co Workers
Cons
Long Hours, Weekends, Cold Calling, Saturated Market
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
scum
Loan Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 20, 2015
I hate this company and everything that they stand for. They treat their customers poorly and they treat their employees even worse. This company is a leech of society.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace sometimes busy
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXNovember 14, 2015
A typical day at work , would be processing payments , stocking , electronic items , medicine , food , candy etc. Photo department , assisting customers with any desired questions about daily store add or questions on any products in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They find reasons to not pay commissions
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 26, 2015
Worked here for three years and look back at my time there with regret. Regret that I didn't move faster when I saw how poorly management treated employees who put in so much effort to learn their systems, build a book of business and make money for the company's owners.

Employee turnover, just like at any cold-calling sales organization, is high. We would hire dozens of fresh-out-of-college kids with the promise of high commissions and a work-life balance. When I was hired, I was determined to be successful and ultimately achieved both.

Once it became routine for my commission checks to be docked because clients would pay one day past their contractual deadline (the accounting department would withhold pay for things outside of an account executive's control) I started looking for another job. A few weeks ago, a co-worker landed the biggest contract in company history. When they found a way out of awarding her the contractually-obligated commission, I lost all hope in a fair and equitable working relationship with the company in the future.

This may sound like sour grapes coming from someone who has recently moved on, but do yourself a favor and ask around before you accept a job here.
Pros
Co-Workers, Happy Hours
Cons
Management Incompetence, Ownership Greed, Inverted Commission Structure, High Employee Turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 12, 2015
A typical day at the office is calling in on all of the current shipments that you are responsible for and making sure they are all on track to deliver on time. Then I check with my customers and potential customers on any shipments that they are currently working on or are going to be working on in the near future. While this is happening, we are expected to field calls by carriers (trucking companies) about specific shipments that they are inquiring about, as well as current customers to assist them with their shipments. Throughout my time at PLS, I learned a great amount about the transportation industry and how to manage multiple accounts for customers. I also learned how to handle multiple personalities in carriers and customers. Solving problems and different situations in a timely manner is a crucial part of the job in order for everything to work out smoothly. In the transportation industry, time equals money, especially when there is a shipment that needs to get covered. Negotiating with customers and carriers is also a huge part of the job, The goal of the company is to provide exceptional customer service and make money. Negotiating the prices from the customer and the carrier is crucial to the job. Management is key at PLS. The managers there are extremely helpful and they want you to succeed. They are always at their employee's disposal. The hardest part of the job is landing the customer, The initial cold call is the first impression and obviously important to the job. It's also tough to find a customer who needs or wants the services of PLS. If they  more... don't want the service, then it is hard to land them as a customer. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the people who work there. In this job, communication is key and relying on your coworkers is crucial. The people who work there are all hard working and easily approachable and helpful. It's never a problem to ask anyone for help or try to help them out on their own book of business.  less
Pros
Enjoyable work environment
Cons
Lack of job security
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 25, 2015
great company not really any growth with the company and its very slow paced but overall its an alright company to work for if you like marketing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Midwest Logistic Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 24, 2015
Hard work but ok if you put in 100%. The managers are nice and it is a young workplace. Lots of fun things to do, but cold call requirements are a little high. Longer hours than most other jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest Part of the Job
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 13, 2015
Amazing atmosphere to work in. Everyone is hungry and the potential to do well is all up to you. The hardest part is staying focused and organized. Without organization you will fail.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good learning experience, horrible management.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Freeport, NYSeptember 7, 2015
Managers would always be late, sometimes I felt like i would do more of there job then they actually would. The pay was not good and it involved much work. We would cash checks, forced to sell our services, and the customers wouldn't like it because they want to go in and out very fast. The process that our managers made us do, took very long and our computer systems are always very slow.
The good thing that came out of the experience is that I gained more experience on how to deal with customers problems, became more officiant with money, and was better at resolving problems or complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

Want to know more about PLS Logistics Services?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Listings Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TxSeptember 5, 2015
Great compensation and job security.
Management is smart and well-trained.
I learned oil & gas terminology along with sales, and marketing tactics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place, taking care of customers
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 31, 2015
A typical day at work is answering phones, underwriting, repo letters and making new payday loans and title loans.
I learned to be more friendly and treat each customer as you would want to be treated. I was the training manager and knew every policy there was.
The management was great I really enjoyed this job. My co-workers were friendly and always took care of business.
The hardest part of my job was leaving at the end of my shift. The most enjoyable part was my schedule and the lovely customers.
Pros
Very convient location
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable.
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 18, 2015
Learned a lot at the summer internship. Industry was slightly dull but overall I enjoyed learning about freight and working along side account managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, fun, but no security....use it as a stepping stone.
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  HoustonAugust 17, 2015
You have 5 to 6 months to chill, and by that time you better either be ready to perform, or have a new job. Because they will fire you. And the person outside of the manager who's been there the longest has only been there for 2 years, give or take. Take it for what it is and move on.
Pros
fun people, management is cool, laid back atmosphere, you get freebies often.
Cons
no job security, pay is at best $1200 every two weeks until you start sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections/ Customer service
Collections Rep (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJuly 28, 2015
I am a highly professional individual with experience ensuring customer satisfaction in call center and collection environments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the job.
Forklift Operator and Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJune 29, 2015
Had to wear layers of clothing because I worked in a freezer. I enjoyed the job because we had music playing and you stayed busy the whole night so time went by fast.
Pros
enjoyed working night shift
Cons
cold work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
csr (Current Employee) –  dallasJune 20, 2015
It is always productive day at work. I learned leadership and how to be independent. My store manager and co- workers are awesome people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the great work place
Check Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dallas TxJune 15, 2015
• Received inbound calls Assisted with questions and probed customers to obtain full understanding of what information is being requested?
• Documented all calls thoroughly to accurately reflect the inquiry of customers using a Call Tracking
• System.
• Monitored Call Tracking for responses from the administrative team so calls were returned promptly
• Ensured that requested orders were available on the mean plan
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a Career
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 11, 2015
Worst company I've ever worked for. Management very unprofessional, a lot of theft within the company, employee turnover is sky high.
Pros
NONE
Cons
Management sucked, HR sucked, pay is terrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  brooklyn, nyJune 2, 2015
This company is horrible. I was an assistant manager for them and they treated the CSRs terrible. They have a horrible turnover rate and the benefits suck.
Pros
there are none
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 93 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture