Plug Power Inc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand new technology
Hydrogen Technician (Current Employee) –  Gordonsville, VAAugust 22, 2017
I did like working at Plug Power. However working there was very stressful. As far as the company itself,I really couldn't ask for a better company to work for. Excellent benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay and very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay and easy work if you can learn and retain information
Lead Technician (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaJuly 20, 2017
Great company to work for as far as starting pay but very little help from management and constant vendor issue inhibiting techs from doing their job.
Cons
constant parts issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work but the company is not stable
Test, Reliability, Quality Assurance Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 29, 2017
Good Place to work but the company is not stable. From 350+ employees, it gets down to maybe 30 today. Job security is the issue.
Culture is great but the job security is the issue.
Pros
Good Place to work
Cons
Company is not stable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace but work is inconsistent
Test Technician (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYApril 26, 2017
Plug is a good company when it comes to the interactions between colleagues and communication between employees and their superiors is excellent. Monthly all-employee meetings keep the entirety of the work force knowledgable and up to date with the company and monthly company lunches are a plus. The work provides plenty of exposure with fuel cell technology. However, there are several shortcomings: inconsistent work and unreasonable deadlines cause periods of low work where idling is prevalent and longer periods of high work requiring employees to work constant overtime, skewing the work/life balance and preventing the use of vacation time, lower pay relative to other technician jobs in similar fields, and a high turnover rate due to the insistence of only hiring temps, most of which have little to no experience with technology.
Pros
Company lunches, friendly environment
Cons
Inconsistent work, high turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mass Supervisory top heavy distraction
Main-line Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYApril 26, 2017
This is the most massive supervisory top heavy managerial, supervisory work environment that I ever worked at. Besides the name calling and cynical remarks by employees, this work environment was advancing in a positive way with technological advancement. There was completely no talent review of outstandingly dextrous and skilled employees until the management finds out that production is slowed because of a resignation. This is a Company that will keep hiring and leave the long tenured, skilled employee behind without fair compensation.
Pros
Great work environment in a technical field
Cons
Immature Management and no consideration for talent
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Box truck/ Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Latham, ILApril 12, 2017
Learn a lot working there took advantage of the unlimited over time I worked an average of 45 hours a week give a take but needs to update their inventory records storage and devices.
Pros
Fast past always working time fly
Cons
Putting up with young minded shift leads who take advantage of his position
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience with Plug Power
Hydrogen Fuel Cell Specialist (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYMarch 30, 2017
Plug Power has been one of the most beneficial career choices I have ever made because it is a company that allows you to grow with the company. It was the beginning of the maintenance field for me and I will never be able to say anything bad about the company. My time with Plug Power has not only taught me so many things, but it has also matured me as a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job with stressful moments.
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXMarch 24, 2017
Schedule fluctuations that are totally dictated by the customer. The job is cool in as you are learning about a product that can work well if properly manufactured. Parts will fail whether through normal wear and tear, or bad from refurbishment and poor design. Either way, you as the tech are the scapegoat and the face of the product for when things go wrong. Customer management will force you to perform "quick fixes" of units which in turn makes breakdown diagnoses worse and adds more work on the tech. Anything you say and do will be used against you if you show that you are not willing to put up with a culture that stifles logic. You will get easily burned out because there are more units than techs in the region as a whole. Plethora of overtime that sometimes you have to work because of so many breakdowns. This company is built on emails instead of face to face which can create tension between employee and management. For the most part they have your back, but are very limited to the politics that goes on between company and customer. I see this job as having high turn-over because they want people to suck it up and take whatever the customer dishes.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
30 minute lunches. Toxic customer environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO formal training all OTJ
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNFebruary 27, 2017
great job even on night shift but there was no formal training .
great hours, pay and benefits . on call was worth the money , and you weren't micromanaged
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Hydrogen Fuel Cell Technician (Current Employee) –  Latham, NY 12110February 27, 2017
Good place to work for, a lot of opportunity to grow. there is traveling involve to help other sites if need be. Good pay rate and if you advance there's a chance to put on salary, you also start out with a ton of vacation, PTO and sick time.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Quality production
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Spokane Valley, WAJanuary 19, 2017
I like plug power cause i learned another stuff from them and now i have experiences soldering i prove my self to work assembly i can move forwards.thanks
Pros
Nope i provide lunch
Cons
15 minute break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok great place
Lead Hydrogen Fuel Cell Technician 57K (Current Employee) –  Sterling, ILJanuary 5, 2017
you never know what is going to happen. you could be the best employee that carries all the slackers that you work with but still get fired. see it all the time
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most feared company in the world..but why??
Technician (Current Employee) –  Albany NYJanuary 3, 2017
Love the company but outsider attitudes towards the company are strange and hostile.

Plug Power and it's incredible fuel cell technology is the most feared thing among battery energy based tech companies and their investors like Tesla and EnerSys and thus gets tons of hate mail even on public boards like this to downplay the technology and prevent the hydrogen revolution that's going now at the speed of a bullet train.

The reason simply being every time Plug sells one of it's hydrogen energy devices and the customer changes to hydrogen energy EnerSys loses sales of 10 or 50 industrial batteries forever. Plug now has close to 16000 units in the field.

Similarly Tesla and other battery cars will find itself insignificant to this technology and battery vehicle charging will be a thing of history. They know this already.
Cons
Busy as helll. Production tripled in one year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hydrogen Fuel Cells haven't proven to be reliable
Maitenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJanuary 2, 2017
Plug Power couldn't make a reliable battery, constantly failing to keep units running. The powered lifts would fail under load, stopping in the middle of an operation. Batteries failed under load after working a few hours of operation due to voltage falling below voltage required to operate. Batteries would then have to be replaced but the Engineering dept. in NY couldn't deliver a battery that would operate under load required in transporting product to be shipped.
They would continuously request Engineering data pretending the problem didn't exist, while fully realizing the issues they had.
They actually regressed in the Engineering dept., having a unit that at one time was effective, but due to cost, rolled out new units that were cheaper to build and therefore failed.
If Hydrogen Fuel Cells was what they built them up to be, the vehicles manufactured in the US would be in the process of using Hydrogen Fuel Cells instead of Batteries, which they are not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Technology and poorly organized
Hydrogen Fuel Cell Technician (Former Employee) –  Plainview, TXDecember 30, 2016
The compensation is very good but it will come at a price of your family, and personal life. No days off at all and working up too 13 to 15 hrs in one day with very little down time. The regional MGR is a great guy but spread very thin so its very difficult too get things done in a timely manner. Management is very poor, yelling and screaming at employees and antagonizing internal issues that do not exist, ego of management, personal issues and favoritism. Poorly prepped for issues, and no real schematics or designs for the units, and there only safety policies on the Hydrogen pad is a Hard hat, safety glasses and lab coat, and then you can turn a wrench on anything on the pad. Would not recommend this company too any of my friends or family, just for the simple fact I would want them too come home from work everyday and not worrying if management has told them too do something they have no reason in doing.
Pros
Free Lunchs, Travel paid for, wages
Cons
No schecdule, Management, Safety policies, No care for personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding job.
Hydrogen fuel cell technician (Current Employee) –  Harrisonville, MODecember 11, 2016
I like the challenges of troubleshooting, there is something different every day. There is a lot of freedom in the company as well from putting in your time to managing your day. You can be as busy as you want to be.
The job is very hard on family life. It is very demanding, on call 24 hrs a day. When your day ends you are still required to answer emails and phone calls. Hard to separate family from work, you can get easily burnt out.

The company is growing too fast and spread way too thin. There are way too many part shortages so keeping good customer service is very difficult.
Pros
Freedom to run your site as you see fit.
Cons
Part shortages and hard on family life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufactured Hydrogen Power units for forktrucks
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Lathem, NYNovember 2, 2016
Assembled Power units (batteries ) for fork trucks to replace lead acid battery packs currently used to power the fork trucks. Also assembled power units to power ground support equipment at FedEx terminal in Memphis Tennessee.
Pros
Very high learning Curve
Cons
Difficult to work with design team
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Hydrogen Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYJune 13, 2016
Good work environment. Learned valuable skills. Working nights was my least favorite thing about this job. Working on "Green Technology" is my favorite thing about this job
Pros
Woking on "green tech"
Cons
Working nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, rewarding workplace
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYOctober 29, 2015
Personal development and company growth are valued here. Every tool is at your personal disposal to advance within the company. No matter your level of skill in the beginning you are treated with understanding and hands on learning that will help you take a personal interest in the success of the business. This company believes that their employees happiness is important therefore they reward for quality. Management is knowledgeable and involved in every day processes. Learning new trades and skills was highly enjoyable. I never experienced a dull moment as there was always something new I could learn from an experienced colleague or new work center. I loved being personally in charge of bringing a machine to life. From the casting to the wiring I would watch as I transformed nuts and bolts into something amazing. I loved testing the machines and watching them do their job knowing we've built something someone will be using for years to come. Knowing that this company from the president to the technicians like me really care about the quality of their machines made this an amazing company to work for.
Pros
Compensation, colleagues, management, hours, interesting work
Cons
Advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work enviroment
harness assembler (Former Employee) –  colonie nyApril 13, 2015
Great people to work with however there was a certain bias due to supervisor and other employees. If you enjoy building things and seeing a final product you would enjoy this job.
Pros
lunches and meetings to keep up to date on company
Cons
healthcare and temp to hire period
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Plug Power Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.3