Find companies:
PlumChoice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

PlumChoice Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work, with growth opportunities
Customer Retention Associate (Former Employee), Lowell, MADecember 9, 2014
Pros: too many to count
Objective really is to learn and create opportunities for others to come along and take over, and perform even better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work remotely, tech support, SALES, SALES, SALES!
Technological Sales Representitive (Current Employee), Home/ Lowell, MANovember 14, 2014
Pros: working remotely, breaks, incredible manager, benefits
Cons: calls from existing customers, long waits between calls at times, deserve more money
Work remotely from home between 8-12 hours a day. Very helpful manager who drives me and maximizes my sales potential. Learned an immense amount of information about all aspects in the PC industry. My favorite part of the job is training new/ experienced co-workers on the fundamentals of viruses, call procedures, and sales with my boss. The hardest – more... part of the job is that if call volume is low, I have to wait between 5 - 45 minutes for a call [costing me $$$]. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active environment working with customers on the phone
Remote IT Technician (Former Employee), Lowell, MAOctober 16, 2014
Great experience, acquired various troubleshooting skills. A typical day at work would include an office filled with co-workers and usually with two or three supervisors. Assistance is always available whenever necessary. Hardest part of the job is essentially performing best effort service. Customers usually aren't satisfied with the result. Best part – more... of the job is resolving an issue with a customer, giving one hundred percent satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plumchoice was a good experience
Help Desk Support /Floor Support/Team Leader (Former Employee), MichiganOctober 9, 2014
Pros: worked from home
Cons: no sick days accrued
It was easy as far as working from home...no sick days as a temp for more than a year. Worked hard tight schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
HP Technician (Current Employee), Lowell, MASeptember 30, 2014
Great enivronment and a ton of help if you ever get stuck! They set you up for success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Telemarketing Environment
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee), Scarborough, MESeptember 23, 2014
Pros: work was done indoors with options to work from home.
Cons: the majority of calls received were from irate customers.
A typicla day of work involved answering tech support calls for AT&T internet sevices. Some things I learned were different terminology relating to hardwar/software, as well as different maintenance options for PC's. Mangement was generally easy going , however, there was very little communication when policies were changed which was often. I got along – more... well with all my co-workers. The hardest part of the job, was being yelled at by irate customers for the majority of my day. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I got to help a customer, and they were genuinely greatful for the help and support I had provided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Remote Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Atlanta GaApril 24, 2014
Basic Customer Service great company to work for
Receive inbound calls
Help customers with there every needs
Provide excellent customer service
Sell products of the bank
Perform other duties as necessary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great "Work From Home" Company
Remote Support Technician (Independent Contractor) (Former Employee), HomeDecember 11, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: very short lunch, all interaction with supervisors is done via web chat, you have to leave a message for anything that requires a phone call, they email you instead of calling you back
I enjoyed my contract fulfillment. Being a remote technical support agent allowed me to take advantage of the great custom PC I've built for myself. There's a lot of multitasking involved but the co-workers are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such potential destroyed for no good reason.
Sales (Former Employee), Lowell, MADecember 6, 2013
Pros: they did have some great people there - almost all of them have left or been fired.
Cons: low pay, management disconnected, backstabbing common
It is a shame that PlumChoice ended up the way it did. Ted had a great idea but it has been destroyed. The culture at the company is dying and almost everyone (whether they admit it or not) is fearful for their job. Axing people without any notice is a common theme from the top all the way down to the very bottom workers - almost like it is now a core – more... theme of the company.

Another bad practice at PlumChoice is the hiring of "Sales Professionals" which really end up being call center agents. You are explained a job in one way and find out it is quite different. Deception starting that early is never a good sign. And when it goes downhill from there you know you are in real trouble. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PlumChoice
Senior Customer Support Manager (Former Employee), Lowell, MANovember 1, 2013
Pros: great work life balence
Cons: not very exciting
They are a nice company but no significant challenge. They have some technology but do not appear to be investing in the development of the product.

They must believe that riding on the coat tails of others is a solid business model because that is what they do...add value to large ISP product offering and sell these offering to your grandmother.

Hey – more... they claim 400000 subcribers. Hey 10 bucks a month for each makes a nice 50 mil business but no excitement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a permanent job dead end.
tech support (Current Employee), Lowell, MAAugust 13, 2013
Pros: friendly co workers, okay pay.
Cons: retention department instead of customer service, temp job only, shift bids you can't say no to.
I worked here for 5 months so far, and dealing with customers being angry because of things added to thier bill. It's an okay job at first being a temp, but thisjob is only just a temp. They do shift bids depending on how good you are at saving subs and sales. Not much on customer service. They rather have you force the product on them instead of assisting. – more... So, the hours you may have won't be the same nor the days off. Managment is okay, though if personal things come up they take it pretty hard. You can also work two days remote and the rest must be in the office, but you have to use a hard line no cellphones. The program of citrix they use isn't the best. It lags, shorts itself out and it's pretty annoying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Bilingual Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Burlington, MAJune 25, 2013
I met alot of great people here in the short time I worked in this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perhaps working in the IT department would've been best.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Billerica, MAApril 25, 2013
I was a customer service rep for this company when they held a contract for Circuit City. It's probably been one of the worst jobs I've ever done. I had to handle some pretty upset people. Working hours weren't always the best. Breaks we're very strict and short.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started out great, but they lost their values and customer satisfaction became secondary to numbers
SMB Tech Support (Former Employee), Billerica, MAApril 8, 2013
Pros: great knowledge base and system for chatroom with other techs
Cons: zero training and too many zero-tolerance rules
was set up and modeled properly and had a great operational structure. After 3 years, it became apparent that numbers (quantitative measures) were more important than our original mission of customer satisfaction. Company became more focused on internal policies than actual customer satisfaction. More and more attention was being paid to scripts and – more... quantitative analysis than how we could best assist the customer. Resigned after 3 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Remote Technical Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), RemoteMarch 20, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: management, advancement, raises, overworked
Management seems to be less qualified for their positions than the people below them. No room for advancement, supervisor to agent ratio is extremely unbalanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life there as a agent
Tech (Current Employee), Remote employeeFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: the ability to put your boss on mute and ignore him when he annoys you
It's not a Bad place to work but it has SERIOUS downsizes. It is nice to work from home really... there are weeks I do not wear pants.

But it IS a sweat shop.
They WILL usually feed you a line to stay as a temp then let you go at a heart beat.
If you actually stick around to get bennies as a full time employee, it will be a miracle. Let's be honest – more... there IS not any real path to promotion or growth.

And yes it IS a dead end job.

That said ... it IS great if you are using it to go to school or need something flexible as a side income. Not however as a primary income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24/7 365 company online help desk
PC Technician (Current Employee), Lowell, MAJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: good feelings when you help someone with a problem.
Cons: flex shifts and low pay
The hours and pay are not the greatest. The goals for number of calls per hour are hard to maintain due to the varied problems that are addressed. A temp to hire job that remains in contract status until you show you can met the goals. Supervision is good but they must maintain the goals for their group and monitor very closely. Their systems need to – more... be updated, they have some bugs but are okay for the most part. They are a very high rated company as far as customer service. The coworkers are in a message group and help from coworkers is always available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, but the company was always on shaky ground.
Overswaw staff of 10 IT technicians (Former Employee), Billerica, MAJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: some levels of management
A typical day included Change Management review, Active Directory administration, Blade-SAN architecture monitoring, design and review. Budget monitoring and defining, Service Desk monitoring, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tech support Position
Support Specialist (Former Employee), Billarica MANovember 7, 2012
Pros: working from home
Cons: some of the schedueling
Nice company, Working from was a nice experience, however wished there was more interaction between employees and management, toughest part of the job was having to deal with some if the internal technical issue
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facility and parking, bright with lots of windows, clean.
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Scarborough, MEJuly 22, 2012
Pros: occasional donuts or pizza and holdiday snacks, incentives
Cons: high turnover of employees
Working at an inbound call center I learned that listening, empathy and timely solutions are critical to overall customer satisfaction.
The supervisors and managers I've had in the past were always willing to help with difficult issues to assure satisfaction for the customer. I would say 95 per cent of my co workers were great. I've maintained friendships – more... made at work to date.
Occasionally, you just can't please a customer. That is the hardest part of the job, because the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing you made a difference and helped someone, retained a customer and knowing they are happy. – less