Find companies:
PMA USA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

PMA USA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Extensive Driving
Account Representative (Current Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: quality products
Cons: long hours
Work Hard Have Fun
Lots of help from co-workers
Management is helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How do these clowns who run the state operations stay in business?
Licensed Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: there are none, really!
Cons: after you get over how much misrepresenting and outright lying that is done to get you to thre job, it is a weekly list of ongoing "cons"
I was hired by a new group of managers who were brought in to bring some new life to the California market. Those managers may be living, but they certainly didn't know how to manager business and grow opportunity in a state like California. First off, they were young. Too young to know which end is up, and still don't know how to pronounce key California – more... cities even after being here for a year! I was told by the state director "If you don't cold call a single day in this job, you'll still make a fine living..." If I didn't cold call in this job, I would be homeless and starving on the street! Everyone who has been hired this year is looking for another job, because we all realize we were sold a hill of beans! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent Sales Agent
Independent Sales Agent (Former Employee), Dubuque, IAMay 14, 2014
Cons: no flexibility, coldcalling
Was not at all what I was told the position would be. I was told it would be flexible, I would set my own schedule, I was my own boss. I accepted the job and my first 2 weeks I was working 9 a.m.-9-10 p.m. driving country roads all day looking for farmers to be home. This is most definitely cold calling to me. Working a 12-14 hour day is also not what – more... I consider flexible hours or setting your own schedule. I left a good paying job for this company and now I'm unemployed because my husband didn't feel it was safe for me to just be showing up knocking on some strangers door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and business like environment
Account Manager / Print Buyer (Current Employee), Cerritos, CAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: you get exposure to many different aspects of print and direct mail services.
Cons: the promotion opportunities within the company a very limited.
I manage accounts from inception to completion. My typical day is to follow up on all aspects of each project and provide daily status updates to my management team as well as our clients.

Management is fine. They leave you alone for the most part. The hardest part of the job would be not being able to walk out to the production departments to oversee – more... my production. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Environment and great place to work
Corporate Recruiter (Current Employee), Dallas, TXFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: professional growth
• Support State, Regional and District Managers with their recruiting and staffing needs.
• Generate new candidates through e-mails, cold calls, job ads and other sourcing techniques.
• Source, recruit, interview, and evaluate candidates based upon set qualifications.
• Procurement of new sourcing options.
• Prepare candidates for contracting/licensing – more... process.
• Assisting Training department in development of agents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work day could be very busy or very slow
Office Clerk (Current Employee), Norco, CADecember 29, 2013
The day starts by opening the office, answering phones, taking in the technicians parts requisitions and ordering them in a timely manner. accepting customers request for parts over the phone and then summiting orders for to maintain stock. Running repots for the owner of the company. Any request the owner would ask, it is my responsibility to see the – more... request through. Going above and beyond is a must in this company. There is never a dull moment. There is no way anyone can predict the work load for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome world mission, but is rather weak regarding adherance to technical engineering processes.
(FCOE) Systems Engineer/Engineering Liaison (Current Employee), Lexington Park, MDJuly 31, 2013
Great interactive experience with personnel of diverse and varied backgrounds. Flexibility and acceptance of multiple methodoligies to accomplish tasks and goals are essential elements of a successful challenge recipe. Patience with proactivity usually yields quality results. Having totally enjoyed my Air Force career, I consider attained skills as – more... fundamental building blocks to be applied in today's challenging aviation community. This work allows me to remain engaged technically, as well as hone personnel interaction skills. I am so greatful for the opportunities the Air Force afforded me. Although no longer in uniform, I know that my work efforts are part of a team contribution helping to keep America safe and secure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Controller - System Administrator (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTApril 1, 2013
Cons: great health insurance
I learned more about cost accounting
The hardest part of the job was monitoring cash
Management lacked managing skills
My co-workers were great
The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to do Accounting & IT Systems Administrator
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Senior Program Analyst (Current Employee), Lexington Park, MDMarch 21, 2013
Pros: the people i work with
Cons: working with navair
I work closely with PMA-265, Boeing and Raytheon on the development, integration and Flight testing of the GPP3 Radar upgrade for the F-18 Growler. Everyday is different and challenging. The hardest part of the job these days is funding. The most enjoyable part of my job is being part of a great product that will provide a tactical advantage to the – more... warfighter in particular the Naval Aviator. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities were limited.
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Lakeland, FloridaMarch 19, 2013
Pros: fairly flexible schedule
Cons: not as many opportunities to write new business as suggested.
Would go to locations were policies were currently inforce and try to upgrade current policy holders to better policies or offer benefits to new members. Job would have been better if there were more opportunities, but the locations and members already had almost 100% participation, so not a lot of members to help out with policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome pay and work gives good exercise
Casual (Current Employee), San Pedro, CAMarch 16, 2013
Pros: 1 shift each 6 months to work, gives time to look for another job when things get slow.
Cons: no benefits, as casual, but the best when are in!!
Dangerous yet we are as brothers and always looking out for one another. When times are rough longshoreman cut the doubleback in order to allow their up in coming brothers and sisters, Casuals to be able to work! Their motto is "An injury to one is an injury to all!!" Yup like a musketeer!! Great job!! Career!!
Hardest part of the job is to get used – more... to it, once do and you understand the job, then is like being at your second home!! Management is awesome, they provide General Safety Training and pay you the day!! And the class is very informative!! The most enjoyable part of the job would be to realize you are handaling the worlds goods and making this world go round, doing your part!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Longshoreman (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAMarch 13, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no health care
Enjoy working outside & on the waterfront with an ocean view as we work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Little Longshorewoman That Could
Casual Longshoreman (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: opportunity for advancement, flexibility, compensation/benefits
Cons: sometimes freezing weather conditions
You never know what a day at the ports of LA/LB will bring.Being a Casual Longshoreman it becomes second nature to wear many hats. A typical work day may consist of performing clerical duties in the Water Tower with dock's Terminal Superintendent or lashing aboard a cargo ship with 10,000 containers.Team work is the biggest lesson learned as a PMA employee. – more... We all have to work together in order to return to our families safely. The chain of command rules implemented by the company is fair and most definitely promotes employee moral. I look at my co-workers as family. We are all apart of the same team with the same common goal. The hardest part about the job is working outside in the rain. The most enjoyable aspect of the job is the schedule flexibility and the spirit in which the ILWU union was founded. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and my first job out of school
Full Time CMA (Former Employee), Wichita, KSFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: fun doctors to work with and other cmas
Cons: freeze on any raises for a year
I enjoyed working here. I liked the fact I had the responsiblity of making sure all 18 rooms were stocked up with everything they needed. I dont know why stopped working there. stupidity I guess.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing work locations
longshoremen (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: sometimes long breaks or short days
Cons: vary dangerous and physicly demanding
longshoremen have great jobs if they have been working the waterfront for a long time i enjoyed many of the jobs but you never know where you are going or what you will be doing until you sign in sometimes 10 minutes before you have to be at your job for the day there was almost always someone to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving and operating Equipment Matchenary , Labour foreman
Foreman / Heavy Truck Driver / Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Anaconda (Balad)October 12, 2012
Pros: company provided food, and accomodation
Cons: company take care health
supplayed water Militry , and Driving trash Truck , pick up Trash
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy environment
Casual Clerk (Current Employee), San Pedro, CAAugust 6, 2012
Pros: great hours
Cons: call in
Working as a casual clerk in the docks of San Pedro is a very interesting job. A typical work day at work is very busy, every person has their own specific job. This job consist hard working people ready to work and to stay on their feet. Unloading and loading containers onto a ship can be very dangerous, therefore safety is our number one priority. – more... The work environment although can be very busy my co-workers are very friendly and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy environment
Casual Clerk (Current Employee), San Pedro, CAAugust 6, 2012
Pros: great hours
Cons: call in
Working as a casual clerk in the docks of San Pedro is a very interesting job. A typical work day at work is very busy, every person has their own specific job. This job consist hard working people ready to work and to stay on their feet. Unloading and loading containers onto a ship can be very dangerous, therefore safety is our number one priority. – more... The work environment although can be very busy my co-workers are very friendly and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Customer Service
Agent Service Representative (Former Employee), CNO Financial GroupApril 29, 2012
Pros: great location, exciting company events, good compensation.
Cons: healthcare - deductable.
Maintained critical records to get agents certificated: filing, coping, faxing, and sending fed ex's. I learned how to manage logisitics for event planning: air travel, ground travel, hotels and dinning. Co-workers were pleasant - family oriented atmosphere. The hardest part of the job was last minute shipments that had to be delivered to the after – more... hour drop box. The must enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the agents and participating with the awards events. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great charity to do voluntary work for
Mentor (Current Employee), WakefieldNovember 14, 2014
I have enjoyed every bit of my work for PMA. The hardest part of the job is the trips to London where I have over fifteen service users to keep track of while using the Underground at rush hour.

About PMA USA

Who we are PMA USA, headquartered in Dallas, Texas is a national company that provides insurance benefits solutions and markets – Read more